Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.983055
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 2, 2014

more

April 2, 2014

I have been volunteering with Shanti in various capacities for nearly two years. I have found this organization to have a high performing staff, who are always engaged and eager to work with you. Shanti's unique mission has a tremendous impact for both their community and their clients, and I have been proud to be a part of this special group through volunteering both my time and money.

Some highlights of this organization and my experience are as follows:

-experiencing the unique volunteer training course, which ensures that each volunteer understands and espouses the Shanti mission
-building a relationship with my Shanti client
-helping plan the annual Breast Cancer Program event

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shanti is an amazing organization both for its volunteers and for the breast cancer and HIV communities it supports. I joined Shanti 3 years ago as a volunteer in the HIV peer support program and am impressed regularly with Shanti's commitment, professionalism, and caring/knowledgable staff.

The first thing they do for new volunteers is to put them through an intensive weekend training program, which was an absolutely amazing experience. I was worried it would be poorly organized and kind of a waste of a precious weekend, but I could not have been more wrong. The training was well thought out and contained many safe and supported opportunities to practice the skills I would need as a peer support volunteer. The presenters were prepared and knowledgable, and the material was based on many combined years of Shanti experiences and best practices. I left the training with new friends and new skills in both personal life and peer support.

Following this I was matched with my very amazing and wonderful client, Josh, who is a blessing in my life. I am able to be a friend and support to him, listen to him, help him get to appointments, and share in his joys and his challenges. Our relationship is incredibly special to me, and I look forward to our time together very much. I feel grateful that we can share each other's lives through the Shanti model. I am also constantly supported by Shanti's amazing staff. As a volunteer I am part of a small support group that meets monthly, allowing us to work through issues that are hard for us with our client, share the joys and challenges and refresh ourselves by supporting one another. At the same time if I have anything come up with Josh that I'm not sure how to handle I can call or email my Shanti contact, who knows Josh personally and also stays connected to him. This means that Josh and I always have experts to go to for the challenges we are not sure how to handle on our own. I am so grateful to this amazing organization and love to be a part of it!
March 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 13, 2013

Shanti has been a place to where I am routinly in awe...from the staff, volunteers and clients. As a BOD member, I hear often how Shanti has had a positive impact on the lives of those we provide ser... more

March 20, 2014

I have been a part of Shanti for over 5 years and each year gets better and better. I was honored to serve as a Board of Directors member and when I needed to step down; I was thankful to be able to continue to be a part of the the planning committee for Shanti's Swim-for-LIFE event.

Shanti contineus at 40 years strong - serving the Breast Cancer and HIV Communities of the SF Bay area and I am proud to be a part of this strong history.
September 13, 2013

Shanti has been a place to where I am routinly in awe...from the staff, volunteers and clients. As a BOD member, I hear often how Shanti has had a positive impact on the lives of those we provide services to but also for the larger SF community. It has been an honor to be a part of Shanti and glad I can make a contribution to the work we all do together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a building we could own vs. rent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

In this age of technology and rushing, Shanti is a place where those who need support can find the human touch. Over the years it has impressed me the number of people I have met that speak of Shanti as the place they or someone dear to them received a support unlike anywhere else. No matter the age, race, income, background, sexual orientation -- if someone comes to Shanti they will be treated and cared for with compassion and care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I moved to SF a few years back and sought out great non-profits that I could volunteer at, primarily to give back, and to meet new people. After having done research, I landed on Shanti--they had some wonderful reviews out there. I went through the volunteering orientation sessions and was *thrilled* to see that such care went into their programs. It truly is staffed by people that genuinely care about the causes. This was refreshing! Ultimately, I was unable to make a long-term commitment to their caregiving volunteer program; however, I volunteer each year for their Swim-for-Life program--it's my small way of still being connected to a fantastic organization and a fantastic cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enable them with more equipment and budgets! They're doing fantastic, necessary work, have been around for decades, and deserve to operate on more than they actually do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved with Shanti and aware of their impact for about ten years now. It is truly inspiring how many ways they change lives for the better. The breadth of their activities and their determination and perseverance is breathtaking. To not only survive, but thrive as a non-profit for over thirty years is an amazing feat.

I've seen first-hand the effects Shanti has not only on their clients, but on their community as a whole and I am honored to know many staff and volunteers there and to be a part of it myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use the San Francisco operation as a model for starting new Shanti projects in other cities in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Shanti is truly an exceptional and life-changing nonprofit. I have been volunteering with Shanti for almost 10 years. There are few nonprofits in which I have witnessed such compassion, heart, and support from everyone involved - the staff, the volunteers, the Board of Directors, and the clients. I have volunteered and worked at numerous nonprofits, and I can truly say that it is rare to find 1) the incredible level of support that the Shanti staff provide for the volunteers and the clients, and 2) the deep level of compassion and dedication that the volunteers embody.
The staff and volunteers who provide Shanti's vital services and support to the HIV/AIDS and breast cancer communities are passionate about helping people with these life-threatening illnesses. There is a good reason why so many volunteers give hours of their time each week to serve Shanti's clients, and often volunteer with Shanti for many, many years!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could make any changes to Shanti, I would give more resources so that they can more effectively serve their clients. I would also love it if funding could be provided for Shanti to start working with people living with Hepatitis C.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I joined the Shanti community in May 2013 and have been warmly welcomed by the staff, and members of the community within this great non-profit. I not only have been blessed with peer-support opportunities, but have been assisting within other departments such as Research and Fundraising. Not only are the staff and volunteers friendly and helpful, but the organization provides support for their volunteers as well. I believe this is key to the long-running strength of Shanti as a key player in the non-profit sector and LGBT community within San Francisco and abroad. The Shanti Model is one other non-profits, HIV/AIDS and Breast cancer organizations strive to mirror.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Shanti is able to provide comprehensive support to almost 2,000 clients each year because staff put all of their heart into serving clients, and because the organization as a whole makes every effort to run on a lean, effective budget. Shanti has a model that has worked for over thirty years to improve quality of life for its clients, but their is still a strive to innovate and grow. Shanti works to expand and enhance its services, and build partnerships with organizations in the city that have complimentary models and resources.

Shanti stands out as the best volunteer organization I've ever worked with. First, the experience Shanti facilitates - providing compassionate support to their clients living with chronic illnesses - is an honor and a gift. Second, Shanti values volunteers as an integral part of the Shanti model, so Shanti staff treat volunteers as equitable partners in supporting clients. Finally, being a volunteer at Shanti for 5 years has been an opportunity to join a long-standing and important community in San Francisco. It is an inclusive community that is not based on similar backgrounds or lifestyles, just shared values - most importantly compassion!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2013

I am inspired by the work that Shanti does! They support and care for many who need it most, with grace. They are the pioneers in what they do and have gained the respect of not only the Bay Area community but also internationally. I had the pleasure of volunteering for their Shanti Speakeasy Cocktail Celebration and couldn't have been more pleased with the quality and fun of the event and it's attendees. I am happy to help this organization in whatever way I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

My name is Debra Garner I became a volunteer at Shanti's in 2011. I volunteered as a Care Navigator and Wellness Coordinator. I felt very honored to volunteer at Shanti , the clients were wonderful and very appreciative. I had the opportunity to work with a client who was at end of life and she had no blood family but considered Shanti her family. Shanti volunteer Staff were wonderful and always available to offer support. I don't think without the support of Shanti management that my experience would not had been a lifechanging experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers