Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.983055
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Shanti is able to provide comprehensive support to almost 2,000 clients each year because staff put all of their heart into serving clients, and because the organization as a whole makes every effort to run on a lean, effective budget. Shanti has a model that has worked for over thirty years to improve quality of life for its clients, but their is still a strive to innovate and grow. Shanti works to expand and enhance its services, and build partnerships with organizations in the city that have complimentary models and resources.

Shanti stands out as the best volunteer organization I've ever worked with. First, the experience Shanti facilitates - providing compassionate support to their clients living with chronic illnesses - is an honor and a gift. Second, Shanti values volunteers as an integral part of the Shanti model, so Shanti staff treat volunteers as equitable partners in supporting clients. Finally, being a volunteer at Shanti for 5 years has been an opportunity to join a long-standing and important community in San Francisco. It is an inclusive community that is not based on similar backgrounds or lifestyles, just shared values - most importantly compassion!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 29, 2008

Shanti is one of those rare finds - an organization with a heart. Shanti's founder frequently says Shanti's mission can be summed up in two words: Love heals. Never before have I been associated with... more

September 11, 2013

I have been associated with Shanti in various roles since 1997. what keeps me coming back? Well, there's the exceptionally dedicated and talented staff, and the agency enjoys remarkable leadership by its Executive Director, and the Board of Directors are very much involved in guiding the agency's course. But the main reason I come back to help this organization is the way Shanti volunteers touch the hearts and change the lives of their clients. Incredible transformations often occur as a result. I am so proud to be a making a contribution to this effort!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2008

Shanti is one of those rare finds - an organization with a heart. Shanti's founder frequently says Shanti's mission can be summed up in two words: Love heals. Never before have I been associated with something so permeated with love. The art of giving has been refined and perfected by the folks at Shanti. Do you want to enhance your life like that? Do you want to belong to a group of like minded and hearted individuals? Do you have three hours a week to give? Then volunteer here!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the eyes and hearts of folks living with HIV/AIDS and breast cancer.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the people I've met - the other volunteers, staff and clients.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

exemplary in dedication and talent.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the world, or at least a bigger chunk of it.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2012

Shanti is my favorite nonprofit organization. I met Kaushik Roy, Shanti's Executive Director, at a Board Match event in San Francisco at the beginning of 2011, and I've been volunteering for Shanti e... more

September 9, 2013

Compassion is one of the words that come to mind when I think about Shanti. Right before joining Shanti's Board, Kaushik Roy, Shanti's ED, invited me to attend Shanti's peer support training, which turned out being a life changing event. It was an incredible weekend which is difficult to describe in a few words. All I can say for now is that I learned a bit about Shanti's model and the idea that no one should go through a life threatening illness alone. I'm proud to be part of this organization and I'm proud to give back to my community by volunteering for Shanti.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more resources and expand Shanti's services to other life threatening illnesses beyond HIV and cancer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2012

Shanti is my favorite nonprofit organization. I met Kaushik Roy, Shanti's Executive Director, at a Board Match event in San Francisco at the beginning of 2011, and I've been volunteering for Shanti ever since. After going through some rough times and getting much support from the San Francisco community, I've decided to give back to the community by supporting Shanti. I highly recommend taking the Peer Support Training, a three-day program, that will provide life changing tools to better interact and be compassionate with other people. It definitely changed my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Shanti is one of very few organizations that has accomplished and often surpassed it's mission for close to 4 decades -- the mission of ensuring that men and women with HIV/AIDS and with breast cancer do not face illness alone. By training and deploying volunteers into a 1:1 relationship with clients, Shanti provides a unique support service to those most in need. The organization has shown an unwavering commitment to the community and is an example to others in this arena.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Shanti Project is a San Francisco organization that started 39years ago to help those with teminal illness. They were called upon to help with the Aids epedemic in the City and more recently with breast cancer. Their model is unique because they match volunteers one on one with clients to support them when they need it most, whatever stage of the illness they may be in. The staff and volunteers are filled with compassion for the clients and organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2013

I am inspired by the work that Shanti does! They support and care for many who need it most, with grace. They are the pioneers in what they do and have gained the respect of not only the Bay Area community but also internationally. I had the pleasure of volunteering for their Shanti Speakeasy Cocktail Celebration and couldn't have been more pleased with the quality and fun of the event and it's attendees. I am happy to help this organization in whatever way I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

As one of the Human Development Facilitator based in Lubumbashi, DR Congo and assigned to the wide community of Kalebuka in the rural Southeast part of the city of Lubumbashi, I have the privilege of seeing first hand people’s lives transformed by the Participatory Human Development Process. You should see how proud they are to share their stories with visitors. Amongst them, maybe Phiri and Boni had the most tremendous change of their lives. Both are active members of local groups we organized in Kalebuka I and Kalebuka II. They are married and fathers of 7 and 5 children respectively. None completed his primary education.
Here is what Phiri said recently:
"Initially, when we started to get involved with Outreach International’s program, I thought that was as always, but things began to take shape for my life." Working on the project of clean water supply as a community, I had the opportunity to be trained in the repair of hand pumps with my friend Boni. I am now a craftsman repairer, with a certificate that proves that I can repair the hand pumps. At least Outreach International with its program gave me the opportunity to have qualifications. I was a mere hunter and casual farmer. Apart from the three hand pumps we receive from Outreach International that we maintain regularly, we receive more and more demands in addition, to repair many other hand pumps in our community and even in neighboring communities. I have started to feel that I am also being appreciated and valued as a worthy person, as compared to the time when I was without qualification. These people (Outreach International) came to help me develop; today I am also proud to help my community by repairing their hand pumps and by training others in the repair of pump. It is in this way that I participate also in the supply of clean drinking water to my community. Our training allowed us to have very good tools kits for the repair that many do not have.
Outreach International helped the two of us to have qualifications, with the possibility of getting employment in drilling companies.”
Lunda

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Shanti is a pioneer San Francisco organization who has stayed true to its mission for over 38 years. As one to the first organizations to respond to AIDS crisis in San Francisco, Shanti has trained thousands of volunteers in the Shanti model of peer support. Shanti volunteers provide compassionate care to our LGBTQ brothers and sisters living with life threating illnesses such as HIV/AIDS and Breast Cancer though out San Francisco. As Charlie Garfield, the founder of Shanti once said, “A shanti volunteer is often the difference between zero and one”. The difference between zero and one for a Shanti client often means the difference between having one compassionate person to care and love them and having no one. Shanti’s impact continues to be felt by thousands of men and women in the San Francisco LGBTQ community. I am proud and humbled to serve on the Board of Director of the Shanti Project.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

As a social worker in the bay area, I have the opportunity to work with many non-profit organizations; and since learning of Shanti a little over a year ago, I've been exceptioning impressed by CEO, Kaushik Roy; the services provided to their client population; the advocacy role they play in the bay area; and their philosophy, mission and values. Shanti is both helping to improve the quality of life and save the lives of their clients. I have was formally involved with their Breast Cancer Program fundraiser this year and have been donating to Shanti since learning of their organization. I hope to remain involved with this extraodinary organization for many years to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have known Shanti for over 30 years and have been a board member for the past 2 1/2 years. I can say that the commitment to our clients is unsurpassed by any staff I have ever seen. The work that Shanti does to give a fighting chance to those who would otherwise might not survive a life-threatening illness is amazing. We work hard to make sure or clients are well cared for, our volunteers' commitments to empathetic and consistent support, and our staff's care navigation services give them access to services that they might not know about or otherwise have access to. Shanti is great, Shanti is wonderful, Shanti is love.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers