Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.983055
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 2, 2014

more

April 2, 2014

I have been volunteering with Shanti in various capacities for nearly two years. I have found this organization to have a high performing staff, who are always engaged and eager to work with you. Shanti's unique mission has a tremendous impact for both their community and their clients, and I have been proud to be a part of this special group through volunteering both my time and money.

Some highlights of this organization and my experience are as follows:

-experiencing the unique volunteer training course, which ensures that each volunteer understands and espouses the Shanti mission
-building a relationship with my Shanti client
-helping plan the annual Breast Cancer Program event

March 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Shanti is an amazing organization both for its volunteers and for the breast cancer and HIV communities it supports. I joined Shanti 3 years ago as a volunteer in the HIV peer support program and am impressed regularly with Shanti's commitment, professionalism, and caring/knowledgable staff.

The first thing they do for new volunteers is to put them through an intensive weekend training program, which was an absolutely amazing experience. I was worried it would be poorly organized and kind of a waste of a precious weekend, but I could not have been more wrong. The training was well thought out and contained many safe and supported opportunities to practice the skills I would need as a peer support volunteer. The presenters were prepared and knowledgable, and the material was based on many combined years of Shanti experiences and best practices. I left the training with new friends and new skills in both personal life and peer support.

Following this I was matched with my very amazing and wonderful client, Josh, who is a blessing in my life. I am able to be a friend and support to him, listen to him, help him get to appointments, and share in his joys and his challenges. Our relationship is incredibly special to me, and I look forward to our time together very much. I feel grateful that we can share each other's lives through the Shanti model. I am also constantly supported by Shanti's amazing staff. As a volunteer I am part of a small support group that meets monthly, allowing us to work through issues that are hard for us with our client, share the joys and challenges and refresh ourselves by supporting one another. At the same time if I have anything come up with Josh that I'm not sure how to handle I can call or email my Shanti contact, who knows Josh personally and also stays connected to him. This means that Josh and I always have experts to go to for the challenges we are not sure how to handle on our own. I am so grateful to this amazing organization and love to be a part of it!
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I went through the volunteer training about 20 years ago! That training informed my work with nonprofits. I joined the staff to help raise funds for the organization in 2012 and I couldn't be happier. Our work with breast cancer clients and people living with HIV helps the most at risk and underserved, and the clients really appreciate our hard work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could raise more awareness about Shanti. People deserve to know what a great resource we have in San Francisco.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Shanti for eight years and am honored to have recently joined the Board of Directors. I found Shanti shortly after moving to San Francisco and volunteered to facilitate jewelry-making workshops every few months for women in their breast cancer program. During that first year, Shanti's staff treated both me and their clients with a level of professionalism, kindness and respect that blew me away.

My experience with the program inspired me to increase my involvement and I decided to go through the weekend-long training to become a Peer Support Volunteer. This was followed by several years of deeply rewarding, multi-faceted volunteering with Shanti which I hold as one of the most meaningful experiences in my life. I was matched with a client in the breast cancer program, Magna, for many years and still help train new volunteers as well as run a monthly support group for currently matched volunteers.

I support Shanti because I have witnessed the critical need that their services fill for vulnerable people facing life-threatening illnesses in San Francisco. I support Shanti because their team is experienced and effective at training volunteers to meet this need, while always demonstrating compassion toward clients and appreciation toward volunteers and supporters. I look forward to a bright future for the organization as it continues to grow and serve our community.

March 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 13, 2013

Shanti has been a place to where I am routinly in awe...from the staff, volunteers and clients. As a BOD member, I hear often how Shanti has had a positive impact on the lives of those we provide ser... more

March 20, 2014

I have been a part of Shanti for over 5 years and each year gets better and better. I was honored to serve as a Board of Directors member and when I needed to step down; I was thankful to be able to continue to be a part of the the planning committee for Shanti's Swim-for-LIFE event.

Shanti contineus at 40 years strong - serving the Breast Cancer and HIV Communities of the SF Bay area and I am proud to be a part of this strong history.
September 13, 2013

Shanti has been a place to where I am routinly in awe...from the staff, volunteers and clients. As a BOD member, I hear often how Shanti has had a positive impact on the lives of those we provide services to but also for the larger SF community. It has been an honor to be a part of Shanti and glad I can make a contribution to the work we all do together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a building we could own vs. rent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

In this age of technology and rushing, Shanti is a place where those who need support can find the human touch. Over the years it has impressed me the number of people I have met that speak of Shanti as the place they or someone dear to them received a support unlike anywhere else. No matter the age, race, income, background, sexual orientation -- if someone comes to Shanti they will be treated and cared for with compassion and care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I moved to SF a few years back and sought out great non-profits that I could volunteer at, primarily to give back, and to meet new people. After having done research, I landed on Shanti--they had some wonderful reviews out there. I went through the volunteering orientation sessions and was *thrilled* to see that such care went into their programs. It truly is staffed by people that genuinely care about the causes. This was refreshing! Ultimately, I was unable to make a long-term commitment to their caregiving volunteer program; however, I volunteer each year for their Swim-for-Life program--it's my small way of still being connected to a fantastic organization and a fantastic cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enable them with more equipment and budgets! They're doing fantastic, necessary work, have been around for decades, and deserve to operate on more than they actually do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I have known of Shanti for years but only recently become intimately involved with day to day operations. The mission of Shanti was evident in the staff and volunteers present. Staff are helpful, open and aware of who is around and who they serve. Their service outcomes, outputs, and financial information is available on their website and is understandable. The Executive Director and Board are accessible to most anyone seeking information.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them improve the condition of their offices. Many service oriented nonprofits don't have the luxury of fancy offices but an occasional update and refresh makes everyone feel happier - clients, volunteers and staff alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved with Shanti and aware of their impact for about ten years now. It is truly inspiring how many ways they change lives for the better. The breadth of their activities and their determination and perseverance is breathtaking. To not only survive, but thrive as a non-profit for over thirty years is an amazing feat.

I've seen first-hand the effects Shanti has not only on their clients, but on their community as a whole and I am honored to know many staff and volunteers there and to be a part of it myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use the San Francisco operation as a model for starting new Shanti projects in other cities in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Shanti is truly an exceptional and life-changing nonprofit. I have been volunteering with Shanti for almost 10 years. There are few nonprofits in which I have witnessed such compassion, heart, and support from everyone involved - the staff, the volunteers, the Board of Directors, and the clients. I have volunteered and worked at numerous nonprofits, and I can truly say that it is rare to find 1) the incredible level of support that the Shanti staff provide for the volunteers and the clients, and 2) the deep level of compassion and dedication that the volunteers embody.
The staff and volunteers who provide Shanti's vital services and support to the HIV/AIDS and breast cancer communities are passionate about helping people with these life-threatening illnesses. There is a good reason why so many volunteers give hours of their time each week to serve Shanti's clients, and often volunteer with Shanti for many, many years!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could make any changes to Shanti, I would give more resources so that they can more effectively serve their clients. I would also love it if funding could be provided for Shanti to start working with people living with Hepatitis C.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I joined the Shanti community in May 2013 and have been warmly welcomed by the staff, and members of the community within this great non-profit. I not only have been blessed with peer-support opportunities, but have been assisting within other departments such as Research and Fundraising. Not only are the staff and volunteers friendly and helpful, but the organization provides support for their volunteers as well. I believe this is key to the long-running strength of Shanti as a key player in the non-profit sector and LGBT community within San Francisco and abroad. The Shanti Model is one other non-profits, HIV/AIDS and Breast cancer organizations strive to mirror.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers