Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.871795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I've watched Shady Shakes grow from their very first production in a small community center courtyard with a couple of backdrops to a full-fledged, ensemble company that runs a full year-round season including 2 show rep in the summer (not many others are doing that anymore!)

More
impressive, though, than the company growth in size and stature, is the growth I've seen in the artists through the years and how much they put their all into every production (on stage and off). It's no wonder there is a devout following that returns year after year to share the love of this great (no longer little) company.

So proud to have been around from the beginning to watch this awesome company take off!
Looking forward to all they have to come!
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I happened upon Shady Shakespeare by accident a few years ago, and could not have been more pleased with such a happy accident! To see a play that everyone thinks that they know and go beyond that, to make it not only understandable, but also relatable, is one of Shady Shakespeare's strengths. I am so pleased that I was lucky enough to have worked with them on their most recent season and to see, first hand, all of the hard work, dedication, and love that goes into the wonderful work that they do. I look forward to their continued growth, and cannot wait to see what the future holds for this fine group.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Attending Shady Shakes at Sanborn County Park has been a joy of mine for several years. As a theatre professional I've been inspired and delighted by the work of these dedicated artists. It was an honor to join the company this past season to work on Othello. The dedication to accessible Shakespeare and other Shakespeare adjacent titles shows in the exciting and creative approaches to the plays. Low cost, stunning setting, and plays the whole family can enjoy. Yes!
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Shady Shakespeare is an organization that knows how to deliver on a unique experience. They mix quality with accessibility and overall entertainment. Plus, Sanborne Park is nearly unmatched in its beauty. If you are a Shakespeare fan or if you just like to be entertained in a very comfortable setting, I would strongly recommend Shady Shakespeare.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Shady shows don't cost me anything, but they are so good that I find it easy to use every excuse to send them money. It is hard to believe that they can do what they do with what they have. They give opportunities to all kinds of artists to share their talent in a beautiful environment to rapt audiences from kids to seniors. Send me the Bill!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

In my capacity as a performing arts publicist, I see a fair amount of Shakespeare and Gilbert & Sullivan in the bay area. I was delighted by the Shady Shakespeare production I attended last summer. I found the actors hugely committed to engaging and interacting with the audience, and the volunteers supporting the production genuinely helpful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

My review is posted in Plays Category on my blog at www.darshanavnadkarni.wordpress.com .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2010

more

February 19, 2010

As and Actor and Director I have been directly involved in several of Shady Shakespeare's productions over the last 8 years. Also, as a Management professional I have always kept a keen eye on the workings of this companies organization and business practices. Shady Shakespeare's professionalism is evident in everything they do. Their commitment to the community and the idea of free access to the Arts is outstanding. As a patron and donor I am able to see first hand where my money and support has been going. This organization still has room to grow and continue to improve and they are always striving for this. They have done amazingly well in a tough economy. This speaks well for the people involved in their day-to-day operations. However, while their work with the general public is outstanding, they need to continue to analyze and improve their relationships with their volunteers, support base and their internal administration. They need to strengthen their strategic outlook on the business side of things. They are at that crossroads that many successful organizations reach when they grow. They need to transition from their "grassroots" beginnings into a more full fledged business model that can lead them onto further growth. This cannot happen overnight and they are making strides in that area. If they continue on this path there is no limit to how successful they can ultimately become.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in a number of productions I have personally been involved in and also as a patron and donor. The service they provide to the community is first class.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue with board development to coincide with organization transition to the next level. I would re-introduce the end of season surveys to gather feedback for improvement. I would be more open to constructive criticism.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

their commitment to giving all people access to the Arts and theater.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

for the most part very committed to the ideals of the program. However, more work needs to be made to expand outreach in this area.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Its could expand mission a thousand fold. adding not only productions of affordable theater but create outreach programs for both the public and aspiring artists. It could provide opportunities for growth of the artistic community.

Ways to make it better...

the company would focus more on how it treats its visiting artists and volunteer. The first few years they would provide a survey at the end of a season to get feed back but they have discontinued this.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

The economy and the evolution of its organization to meet the challenges of the future.

One thing I'd also say is that...

The staff and volunteers of this organization work extremely hard to provide a much needed service to the community. While they have challenges, if they apply this work ethic to them they cannot help but succeed.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Usher a show! Decorate a fundraising event. Help build and paint sets. Sew costumes. Make a desert for a benefit event. Write letters to local businesses to receive raffle item donations. And so much more! Volunteer