Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.871795
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Hands-down the best event our family attended this year. Both my husband and I were laughing and grinning while my 13 and 11-year old daughters were mesmerized. The oldest one knew a little about Austen, but after the "Pride and Prejudice" performance, she went online and reserved the copy from the local library - she was THAT interested! From start to finish, the small details to the big picture, what a wonderful delight! Thanks Shady Shakespeare for making such a strong impression upon my young daughters.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I've watched Shady Shakes grow from their very first production in a small community center courtyard with a couple of backdrops to a full-fledged, ensemble company that runs a full year-round season including 2 show rep in the summer (not many others are doing that anymore!)

More
impressive, though, than the company growth in size and stature, is the growth I've seen in the artists through the years and how much they put their all into every production (on stage and off). It's no wonder there is a devout following that returns year after year to share the love of this great (no longer little) company.

So proud to have been around from the beginning to watch this awesome company take off!
Looking forward to all they have to come!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

We have been attending Shady Shakespeare shows for many years and it never fails to exceed our expectations. The venue(s) (beautiful outdoors parks - both Sanborn Park and Branhall) add to the very distinctive and very approachable feeling of the shows. Attending a Shakespeare play can be a daunting task for many people who feel, "I won't understand what they are saying, I will miss the plot, I don't like all that old style stuff"...but Shady Shakespeare changes all of that and enables all of us to enjoy these wonderful stories...their productions transcend the "old stuffy image" and breath life into these classic works. They have a way of brining the play alive, so that the words become understandable, the plots clear, the characters interesting and engaging. We often take friends and other family members with us and in turn they have also become long time fans...oh yeah - and I haven't even mentioned yet that you don't have to get dressed up and it costs close to nothing! What a rare and enjoyable way to spend your evening. I have to say - spending the evening with family and friends, under the shade trees and beautiful stars - seems to be exactly what "Wiliam" had in mind!
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

An exciting theatre company to be involved with. Our potential is limitless as we strive to bring the best and most diverse theatre experiences to Silicon Valley. KP
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I happened upon Shady Shakespeare by accident a few years ago, and could not have been more pleased with such a happy accident! To see a play that everyone thinks that they know and go beyond that, to make it not only understandable, but also relatable, is one of Shady Shakespeare's strengths. I am so pleased that I was lucky enough to have worked with them on their most recent season and to see, first hand, all of the hard work, dedication, and love that goes into the wonderful work that they do. I look forward to their continued growth, and cannot wait to see what the future holds for this fine group.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I volunteered at Shady Shakespeare for the entire run of Pride and Prejudice and Othello through August and September of 2014 at Sanborn Park. The performances are top notch from a theater perspective: quality acting, production, music, and wardrobe and props, all in an amazing open air setting amongst the redwoods. I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of production considering the small budget. But what set the whole Shady Shakespeare experience apart was the people: all passionate, friendly, and willing to take a stranger volunteer into the "family" after just a few performances. I literally became a huge fan of this theater company, the way they do business, and the way they treat both volunteers and patrons of the arts - a first-rate group of people.

I've always been interested in Shakespeare, but never so much as I am now. I can honestly say that I look forward to returning for The Tempest next season, not only as a volunteer, but also to bring my family and friends to experience. Keep up the GREAT work!!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Attending Shady Shakes at Sanborn County Park has been a joy of mine for several years. As a theatre professional I've been inspired and delighted by the work of these dedicated artists. It was an honor to join the company this past season to work on Othello. The dedication to accessible Shakespeare and other Shakespeare adjacent titles shows in the exciting and creative approaches to the plays. Low cost, stunning setting, and plays the whole family can enjoy. Yes!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

My Family has grown up with Shady. I am so grateful that I found this group when did because of Shady my children have had the opportunity to enjoy Shakespeare all there lives. As a family we have volunteered and also have had the opportunity to build sets. the group is the most approachable and TALENTED bunch of people I know. We have not missed a performance in years and I know that my children have had a education that would not have otherwise come there way.
Thank you, Shady
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

The folks at Shady Shakespeare are nothing short of miracle workers. With extremely modest budgets, they create incredible theater productions year after year. I have never seen a production that hasn't wow'd me (and some of them have been the best interpretation of a play I've ever seen). They are a small, but dedicated group of hearty souls with passion for Shakespeare and other classic plays. The shows in Sanborn Park are in the most perfect setting imaginable, and are incredibly family friendly. I'm quite a fan of Shakespeare and have never seen better performances locally. I recommend them to everyone...and nobody is ever disappointed. Keep up the excellent work, Shady!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

When i first heard about Shady Shakespeare, I was at a summer camp and my counselor was in The Taming of the Shrew (set as an old western comedy). That was the first show I saw at Shady. Year after year, I kept coming back and seeing Shakespeare performed in a fun, unique way. When i got to high school, i started volunteering at Shady, working as an actor for one season and helping create sets for five seasons. I like to think that part of my love for Shakespeare now is because companies like Shady Shakespeare make learning and the arts fun. It is my hope that the work Shady does continues to inspire and entertain the Bay Area for many, many years.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Usher a show! Decorate a fundraising event. Help build and paint sets. Sew costumes. Make a desert for a benefit event. Write letters to local businesses to receive raffle item donations. And so much more! Volunteer