Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

What's not to like?! Shady Shakespeare delivers quality entertainment... and plays a vital role in the community, particularly by providing the ability for families to be exposed (for free!) to the Classics. Always a wonderful experience in an unmatched setting. If you haven't already, it's time you jumped on the Shady Shakespeare bandwagon!.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Shady Shakespeare is an organization that knows how to deliver on a unique experience. They mix quality with accessibility and overall entertainment. Plus, Sanborne Park is nearly unmatched in its beauty. If you are a Shakespeare fan or if you just like to be entertained in a very comfortable setting, I would strongly recommend Shady Shakespeare.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Shady shows don't cost me anything, but they are so good that I find it easy to use every excuse to send them money. It is hard to believe that they can do what they do with what they have. They give opportunities to all kinds of artists to share their talent in a beautiful environment to rapt audiences from kids to seniors. Send me the Bill!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My family loves Shady Shakespeare! We have attended many shows, the latest was Romeo & Juliet at Sanborn Park! Great event and a wonderful venue. This year we also attended Twelfth Night at Bramhall Park in Willow Glen. Awesome space and hopefully they will be back again. Nice to have them close to home.
The staff is ALWAYS nice and courteous, and everyone seems to enjoy being there.
Great organization! Great People, and great shows!!! Keep it up guys!!
Thanks!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Shady has been a part of my life since its inception. Even when I am at my busiest, I always seem to find time to give to this organization. It's mission to make Shakespeare accessible to everyone has always been part of my own mission as a Dramaturg and professed Shakespeare addict. I adore seeing the reactions of audiences, especially with small children as they comprehend the language and leave with smiles on their faces. Watching new generations get the same joy from Shakespeare as I do is why I continue to be a part of this spectacular organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Though I would judge most of the performances I see at Shady in the 4 to 4.5 rating, I give the organization a 5-star rating because of the active promotion of the staff to better the arts and better the experience throughout community they serve. Shady is a remarkably contributory organization and one of the greatest local resources for both audiences and developing artists. And while the rating of Life-changing seems a bit full of hyperbole to me, I have no doubt for some participants and audiences it is/has been. They definitely serve more than "A Lot."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've followed Shady Shakespeare Co. for many years and invited friends and neighbors along, many who are amazingly have never seen a Shakespeare play performed. Love the performances and have seen tremendous value added to the neighborhoods and communities when they have local performances. A well run company, educational, fun and enjoyment for all!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have attended Shady Shakespeare shows for the last 3 years. My boys have loved every show. They make Shakespeare approachable and entertaining. The characters are brought to life by the excellent actors and the staging is always exciting. We especially appreciate that they reached out to the a new area of San Jose and staged a free production in Willow Glen for several weeks this year. My boys are looking forward to reading Shakespeare in High School.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I leaned about Shady Shakespeare when I was cruising the web one lazy Sunday. We went to one free evening show in the hills and were hooked. Since then we've become donors/members and have taken several others to paid and free events.

The "Shady Shakes" organization puts on
amazing, thought-provoking shows with twists on Shakespeare's original works that can reach out to almost anyone.

Fund raising in many ways, engaging volunteers, working with local elected officials to put on a free show, oh, the creativity is not just in the shows!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to secure endowments to fund capital expenses. I think that fund raising for other costs engages the public and should remain a part of the organization's activities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

In my capacity as a performing arts publicist, I see a fair amount of Shakespeare and Gilbert & Sullivan in the bay area. I was delighted by the Shady Shakespeare production I attended last summer. I found the actors hugely committed to engaging and interacting with the audience, and the volunteers supporting the production genuinely helpful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Usher a show! Decorate a fundraising event. Help build and paint sets. Sew costumes. Make a desert for a benefit event. Write letters to local businesses to receive raffle item donations. And so much more! Volunteer