Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

Thank you Shadow Cats for all you do for our little Angel kitties. The love and respect you all give them is awesome. Keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Shadow Cats through my brother and sister-in-law years ago. They had adopted 2 of their cats. I listened to them tell me about the experiences that they had with this organization and how dedicated they were to their cause. As a long time animal lover, especially cats, I felt like I would check them out even though I don't live very close. I added them to my Facebook page and saw the many posts. I could tell pretty quick that their heart was totally dedicated to helping sick and ill cats that most of us would not want much less could afford in medical bills. The expense in taking care of a cat that has medical issues like the ones they take in is quite a bit. Anytime there is a call concerning a cat in need whether it be a feral cat(s) that need to be neutered, a cat that was going to be euthanized or a hoarding situation where all are in life and death situations, these wonderful people are right on it. I cannot say enough about the people or the organization. I had the pleasure of going to Shadow Cats for their annual donor Christmas get together last year. I got to meet many of the people and of course some of the cats. The Smith's, who started this organization, have redone most of their home inside and out. I was at awe on how much they have done. Lots of love in this organization. I was truly speechless at the accommodations they have made for the many cats that they take care of. A lot of loving and caring people. I currently sponsor a few cats, and donate regularly and do as much as I can financially. Hoping you can visit them and see what a deserving group this is.

Marilyn B

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

move to a larger facility. They have plans on this too. Just take $$.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats is a forever sanctuary for cats otherwise unadoptable whether they be FIV+, elderly or with behavioural issues. Everyone there is so very kind and compassionate and truly cares for each kitty and their well-being. Shadow Cats also educates and advocates for TNR to help put an end to pet overpopulation. Sheila Smith helped me and my mother learn how to humanely trap our little feral cat community and then have them neutured and returned (well, I adopted several of the kittens!). I wholeheartedly endorse Shadow Cats!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats provides so many things back to the area. Caring for those that have been discarded, helping ensure humane care for the sick, educating the public of the problem of overpopulation of cats, and providing assistance for those who are trying to care for cats in the community. They were very instrumental in helping me handle a small feral population. Educating me on tools for capture of feral cats, helping me find economical sources for sterilization services, and helping me keep up with a group of 9--from two cats to 9 in the space of a year. Those cats all survived for several years and 8 years later one survives and is no longer truly feral. Using TNR we have managed to keep the little critter population at a minimum, instead of being overrun with cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

search for a larger facility so they could help more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Shadow Cats through another organization I work with, Western Iowa Feral Cat Program. The work they do is amazing, taking in the cats in the world that no one wants and giving them that loving home that they deserve. Of course, loving these cats as they do also has a down-side, you see, cats with fe-luk don't live long and they face great health issues. I've cried with some of the touching obits they have posted for the cats who have passed. You know these little ones were loved until the end! Shadow Cats have inspired me to get out and make a difference for cats as well, I now serve on the board of our local Humane Society. Behind Shadow Cats is an amazing group of volunteers and I applaud them for all they've done and what they hope to do.

I've also participated virtually in their Strut Your Mutts walk, and raised donations through friends and family. Shadow Cats, Iowa sends love your way!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing about Shadow Cats, other then of course to get them more funds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats supports trap, neuter, return of stray cats and rescues cats who test positive for FeLV from their trapping locations and local shelters, as well as feral and semi-feral cats who cannot safely be returned to where they were trapped. They have a large group of well organized volunteers who take wonderful care of the cats, including the very best of veterinary care. The cats live indoors with protected outdoor access to a massive enclosure. Cats with FeLV are isolated from the larger group of semi-ferals. Most cats have multiple sponsors who donate every month to help support the something like $7,000/month budget. I sponsor two cats and get photos of them almost every month. I have been to their holiday party and toured the facility twice. They are a charity that other charities aspire to emulate, including our own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more land to build a bigger facility to rescue more cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 12, 2012

I have a special place in my heart for feral cats and cats that others don't want. It is these very cats that Shadow Cats takes in and gives a loving, forever home to - be they FeLV+, feral or have be... more

February 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love Shadow Cats. First they help a very underserved group of cats (FeLV+ and those behaviorally challenged) by providing sanctuary for these felines where before they faced a certain death sentence. But they go beyond a mere place to live and these cats live full, loved, pampered and play filled lives. They welcome donors to come and visit anytime and they provide streaming web cams that show the daily activities of the shelter and its residents. I cannot say enough positive things about this place. The volunteers, many who come every day, know each cat, their likes and dislikes, their health needs and even their favorite toy. If I come back in a second life I would be happy to be a SC cat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have a special place in my heart for feral cats and cats that others don't want. It is these very cats that Shadow Cats takes in and gives a loving, forever home to - be they FeLV+, feral or have behavioral problems that make adoption difficult, Shadow Cats welcomes them. The absolute transparency with which they operate should be a model to other sanctuaries and rescue groups. They operate a Kitty Cam that lets you tune in live to the kitty antics, every donation is acknowledged and appreciated and you are made aware of everything that goes on at the sanctuary. With the benefit of social media they post updates, photographs and sanctuary resident information online. The volunteers are dedicated, devoted and clearly love the animals they tend to. if I come back as a cat I want to live at Shadow Cats - there is simply no better place on earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I give to Shadow Cats because I have seen first hand the amazing facility they provide to special needs cats that may otherwise be euthanized or left to try to survive in feral colonies. The cats have safety, room to roam, mental stimulation, compassionate caretakers, and the vet care that we would provide for our beloved pets. All this is done by a primarily volunteer organization and I'm confident that my donations are going directly to care for the cats. And my life has been enriched by one of the cats they saved--a 6 week old kitten found near death on a country road. They provided the vet care he needed--including the unfortunate need to remove one of his eyes destroyed by infection--nursed him back to health and allowed me to adopt him so we can live happily ever after together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more space so they could help more cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I have so much love for Shadow Cats! The wonderful sanctuary they provide for cats that would not be here if it wasn't for them. I love sponsoring one of the residents and they are so gracious to give me updates on her and send me pictures. I had very sick cat with a condition they were familiar with, and between the personal emails and all the information they gave me, it helped me so much to understand what was going on with my cat. They make you feel like family and to watch the kitty cam and actually see the cats......wonderful. The staff and volunteers are always sharing what is going on at Shadow Cats and when the time comes that one of the furry resident's time crosses Rainbow Bridge, they post such loving memorials. I look forward everyday to looking at Shadow Cats and all the pictures they continue to post on Facebook. This is truly a heaven on earth place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more exposure to the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

I discovered Shadow Cats quite a few years ago while doing some research on Feline Leukemia long term care. Shadow Cats provides lifetime care to 80+ cats that would face a death sentence in a traditional shelter environment. These range from FeLV+ kitties to ferals with health concerns. FeLV+ kitties hold a dear place in my heart. As a veterinary technician, I have seen the prejudice against these cats first hand. I have given a permanent home to a few over the years as well. I followed SCR through the Great Kitty Rescue from Best Friends, and when Facebook came along and SCR started their page, I started following them avidly. I signed up to sponsor the minute I saw them announce the program and have added to our sponsorship over the years. My husband and I share a passion for the unwanted cats as well, sharing our home with upwards of 20 cats, and I dreamed of visiting SCR for years. That opportunity came in 2012 when we chose to spend our anniversary visiting the sanctuary. We were welcomed with hugs from Sheila and David both like we were long lost friends, and the joy just escalated from there. The premises are gorgeous, clean and odor free (a difficult task with even 2 cats in a household if the litter commercials are to be believed!) The cats are wonderfully well cared for, and all of the non-feral cats are well socialized, showing that they receive a ton of love and attention from family and volunteers. Even the ferals are obviously accustomed to attention and treats and come around, staying just out of reach, waiting for you to toss treats. The peacefulness of the Outback with the creek gurgling merrily along and the cats lounging about in the rays of the setting sun is an image I will hold dear to my heart forever. We stayed and visited for awhile, took tons of photos, and left feeling privileged to be a part of such an amazing place. I feel a real kinship with Sheila, Dr. Smith and David; the kinship of those gathered in a united front to fight for souls most would deem unworthy. We can't wait to visit again.

Shadow Cats fights the good fight and does it well. They know their limitations, and because they do not allow themselves to stretch beyond those limitations, they are able to provide outstanding care in a loving and nurturing home environment.

SCR is also active in TNR all around their area. They fundraise and provide support for teams of TNR volunteers. This is in addition to caring directly for the cats at the sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing to change other than helping them continue to raise more funds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.