Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first found Shadow Cats back in 2010 while looking for videos of cats to entertain a sick 15-month-old. I was impressed by the videos of their premises and some of their kitties, and particularly happy to note that they have special quarters to care for kitties with feline leukemia. My first two cats when I was a child both succumbed to feline leukemia, but I think that they were happy to have as much life as they were given, so I've always made it a point to search out organizations that let feluk kitties live their lives as happily as possible. A little more research made me feel confident that Shadow Cats was one such organization deserving of support. I would happily volunteer at Shadow Cats if I lived close enough; as I live quite a few states away, I feel confident about supporting them financially instead, and I plan to continue doing so in the future!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2010

Shadow Cats is a wonderful group of dedicated people who are working to improve the lives of community cats in Central Texas. They are very active in TNR - Trap, Neuter, Return - and also operate a s... more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats is one of those rare circumstances where several elements all came together to create something unique and wonderful. Their sanctuary provides lifetime care to cats with serious health and behavioral issues, and is one of a very few places caring for cats with feline leukemia. The sanctuary is a peaceful, home-like environment for the cats who live there. The volunteers are a diverse group of dedicated people united in their love of cats - many have been coming for years and know all 80+ cats as well as their own. The roots of Shadow Cats began in trapping and TNR, and there are trappers and feral colony feeders who have been caring for feral cats for many years. Shadow Cats has the feel of a big family - when I began volunteering five years ago I expected to get to know the cats, but also found a wonderful community of people who have become my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats is a wonderful group of dedicated people who are working to improve the lives of community cats in Central Texas. They are very active in TNR - Trap, Neuter, Return - and also operate a sanctuary for rescued cats with medical problems, behavioral issues, and other special needs. I volunteer at the sanctuary helping to provide daily care for the cats there. It's a unique place - since they focus on mostly unadoptable cats, it offers the chance to get to really know the cats and bond with them over a long period. I've never seen any other place that truly provides such a loving, home-like environment to so many special cats. And Shadow Cats is one of a very few places that rescues and provides a home to feline leukemia cats.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting a cat they rescued. You can read about her in "Blossom's World" on their website at www.shadowcats.net

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

knowing that everything I do really makes a difference in the lives of the cats. They are a small organization with dedicated and caring volunteers who do everything they can for every cat whose life they touch.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found this organization through a friend on Facebook in January 2012, and I have been an enthusiastic supporter ever since. I love that they only take cats that would otherwise not be in a home due to medical or behavioral issues, especially the feline leukemia babies. I have had experience with this disease in 2 of my cats over the years, and it is heartwarming that they do not consider it a death sentence but give the cat the best life they can for as long as they can. It amazes me the amount of love and care that goes to all 80+ cats in their care. They promote and educate on TNR, which I practice on my feral colony as well. All the volunteers and workers are the best, and I love their daily posts about the different cats. I like being able to go to their kitty cam and view the cats in their living quarters. If they cannot accept a cat then they will help find someone who can. This is what they do and do it well -- help cats who need it most. Period. There are times when they adopt out a cat and it doesn't work out; they accept the cat back no matter how long it has been away -- I just love that! I could go on and on about the wonders of Shadow Cats and how much I admire everyone who works there and the work they do. If every city had an organization as dedicated as this one we would see no homeless pets.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm impressed with the quality of their work and especially with their social media marketing on Facebook. It's obvious the staff and volunteers love the cats and work to the utmost to find them homes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following this cats rescue site for several months on facebook and have communicated with several of the staffers about their projects. I decided to sponsor a cat and have donated on a regular basis as well as participating in their fund-raising mini-auctions. These are loving caring people who put the cats' needs before their own. They allow the public to see the great work they are doing and never seem to hesitate to help other no-kill shelters. I learned about them from Cats Cradle Shelter in Fargo, ND, who has also given them high praise. I know that anyone who donates, bids in auctions, or sponsors a cat or two will be pleased to know that the money goes to the animals.. and is not wasted... I wish I lived closer so I could help more... However, I do my small part with TNRM in my neighborhood, not on the scale of Shadow Cats, but it is not cheap... Please put this wonderful group at the top of your donation list!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There are not enough words, nor ones specific enough, to describe Shadow Cats, its mission (which is consistently and overwhelmingly met each and every day), its people (owners and dedicated volunteers), and its focus--at least 80+ cats who receive care and love in the Sanctuary and hospice/long-term environment, as well as community cats who become part of the Trap, Neuter and Return (TNR) efforts that Shadow Cats provides in the surrounding community. Shadow Cats is transparent (e.g., Kitty Cams, supervised visits) and meticulously passes state and IRS inspections. Its reputation is impeccable. Its love and care are virtually unmatched. I particularly find impressive the number of FeLV+ cats that Shadow Cats has taken in to stay for their lifetimes. In the rescue world, this group of kitties/cats is usually euthanized, rather than adopted, and their disease often dictates extensive and lengthy veterinary care and expenses. Nothing is spared by Shadow Cats for these kitties--and, frankly, for any of the cats who remain with Shadow Cats until their natural passing. Although I support several rescue and animal advocacy groups, I will always make sure I have funds to support Shadow Cats and their feline family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a "rescue fanatic" in Tennessee, have a small TNR/ lost kitty rescue group with my friend and through my facebook links I found your site. From all the many many groups I follow, you have taken me off my feet by all your loving posts, the care you give them and the community work you do. You are absolutely tops! I am now your official fan, even if I am so far away. We all need to stick together to make our common goal - no more homeless pets!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I don't think I've ever had or ever could encounter a finer group of people than those who constitute the Shadow Cats Rescue personnel. The level of caring, compassion and commitment to the lives of the cats in their charge is truly remarkable and serves as a moving testimony to the existence of the oft-elusive human compassion. Another aspect of the organization, and one of noteworthy merit, is the way in which the people and organization work in tandem to bring out the best in those that come there to volunteer. The sense of "family" and camaraderie combine to bring out the best in those who come under its wing. Prior to volunteering there I was something of an introvert; withdrawn and caring for little other than myself and my own narrow self-interests. But following prolonged association with the wonderful people and their charges I begin to realize that there was more to this world and my life than just myself. It made me realize the value, goodness and, yes, the rewards inherent in one's association with this fine group and the joy in helping small creatures whose lives have been impacted by events and environments beyond their control. I feel truly blessed to have been awakened by this group's selfless caring and the attendant commitment to the wellbeing of those that cannot speak for themselves. Thank you SCR.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The manner in which I deal with people and animals as a whole. It brought about an enlightenment in myself that I would have thought vertually impossible prior to becoming involved with these people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It introduced me to a new family. It doesn't get any better than that.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Worthwhile...

April 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Shadow Cats is a wonderfully run organization. While some places are just a processing center for animals, Shadow Cats makes a real life-quality difference for cats who might never have had a chance otherwise. At the same time, they work to promote efforts that will help reduce future numbers of cats needing homes. You can sponsor specific cats and if your lucky, even catch them live on the Kitty Cam - regardless of where you are in the world. Great sanctuary, every city should have a place set up like this.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I opened my business doors 3 years ago I did not know about Shadow cats. A customer told me she saw kittens and a mom playing across our parking lot in the flood control. Yep Mom and two adorable kittens. What do I do? Well she told me about Shadow cats. They helped guide me on TNR. I got both kittens in one trap after several attempts. One was social the other not so much. One of the volunteers worked with him but he was not having anything to do with this people thing. The volunteer made a kitty exchange at Shadow cats. She adopted one and they took in Sterling. Sterling lives in the outback with the others. He is happy and flourishing. Thanks to all of the volunteers that take care of him and many others. Keep up the Awesome work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.