Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I retired in November of 2011, I already had a volunteer job in mind. I'd seen an article about Shadow Cats Rescue in the August 2010 issue of Cat Fancy Magazine, and was so impressed that I couldn't wait to sign up. In the ensuing fifteen months, I've not only had the privilege of loving and caring for well over 100 precious kitties, many with health issues and no prospects of adoption, but I've gained a wonderful extended family of fun, compassionate humans. In the process of doing my little bit to help out at SCR, my own life has changed vastly for the better. You know you have a great volunteer gig when you feel that you've definitely gotten the better part of the deal!

Phaedra Kline

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just love this Org and what it stand for . Keep up the good work ...:) You guys Rock and thank you for all that you do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Caring people who are transparent about their work. They also, stay connected to their supporters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've always been very cautious about where to donate money, which organizations actually use the most towards the goal of HELPING. Shadow Cats Rescue impressed me immediately first with their compassion and determination to help cats most would disgard or flat out euthanize. Then the ability to see and be connected to the cat I chose to donate to monthly? That is beyond amazing! At any time I can go online and see Juno and the other "shadow" cats. I can SEE their environment, their health, their happiness in being safe and cared for. This level of transparency leaves me no doubt at all where my money is going and how it is helping. I support Shadow Cats Rescue and I strive to be more like them in my own life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow cats is a awesome place for Feral and unadoptable furr babies. they care and provide for them in a loving enviroment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats Rescue is an amazing resource serving the feral and "unadoptable" felines of central Texas. They provide outreach assistance and education throughout the area for TNR of feral cats, and guidance for those who maintain feral communities, which is how I discovered SCR back in 2007. And their shelter is phenomenal, giving thoughtful, need-specific care to so many cats who would otherwise have been turned away, ignored or euthanized by other shelters. It doesn't matter if the cat has behavioral issues or a serious injury or illness, because the staff at SCR will give them every fighting chance at a safe, content life. I have happily donated as much as I am able for all these years, because I know that the staff and volunteers at SCR are giving so much of themselves to provide a good life for all the cats. As an owner of several "unadoptable" cats myself, I know that caring for them is difficult, and sometimes heartbreaking, but thoroughly worth it. I love SCR for all that they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I found Shadow Cats (July 2011)via Facebook and have sponsored a cat in their care since December of that year and have donated items for auction. As someone who does not live in the United States, I get no tax benefits. Living in Australia, I cannot visit the shelter so I rely on the information from the owners, board directors and volunteers all of who keep me informed about the welfare of the cat I sponsor. I can also see how the cats live at the shelter via their KittyCam. This is an extremely well run rescue shelter, taking in the cats that no one else wants and looks after them until they cross the rainbow bridge. Shadow Cats is on my wish list to visit someday.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first found Shadow Cats when I moved to Austin a little over 2 years ago. I was looking for an animal sanctuary to volunteer at, and Shadow Cats was the perfect fit. I still look forward to my weekly visits with the cats, as well as spending time with a great group of people who truly care about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering with ShadowCats in 2004. The organization has grown. However, the group has never lost its focus on saving cats in need and trap/neuter/release. I have seen no back-biting which I have seen in other volunteer organizations. We are family -- to quote our founder's words.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've only recently found Shadow Cats and adopted them as one of my favorite 501(c)3's after my brother and sister-in-law told me about them.

Shadow Cats takes in cats with Feline Leukemia, cats who test as Feline HIV positive, and cats who are healthy, but have behavioral problems.
Shadow Cats in also active in the local TNR program for Austin, and Austin's surrounding areas.

In addition to providing a loving home for, feeding, administering meds to about 100 cats for the duration of their cats' lives Shadow Cats also works closely with other Shelters in the area find appropriate, loving forever homes for their charges.

It's worthwhile to mention the "loving home" does not have cages, but several open spaces for the cats to live a communal life with the other felines who share their illness; they have separate spaces for those with Leukemia, HIV and behavioral problems. Each space also provides multiple secluded areas for their shy pets. They've also enclosed a patio so some of the cats can go outside and enjoy our beautiful Texas weather, while watching the birds at the bird feeders.

Here's a link to their kittycam site for those who are interested in getting a better idea of how Shadow Cats makes the arrangement work: http://www.shadowcats.net/kitty-cam.php

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.