Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.96255
Write A Review
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats Rescue in Round Rock, Texas; is the absolute definition of humanity, care, and dignity!

I have been volunteering with animal rescue groups and shelters for over 10 years; and have never experienced a nonprofit animal welfare group like Shadow Cats.

The time and
attention they give to each of the cats in their care is astounding and so heartfelt! We would be so blessed if all of God's creatures who experience the pain of abandonment, illness, injury; or just the tough-knocks of old age; were able to come to Shadow Cats Rescue.

My admiration continues in the way they run their "business". They are so well organized! Shadow Cats works with an amazing team of volunteers and small staff of workers that make sure everything runs like clockwork. I know that the time and money I give to Shadow Cats is going towards the greatest good!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As with every WONDERFUL rescue. I wish they had the financial ability to buy and build a larger sanctuary and hire a staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadowcats is one of the best pet sanctuaries that I have ever seen. They take in cats that most shelters can't begin to deal with due to illness or injuries and they go above and beyond in trying to make their lives pleasant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any changes that I would make. They could always use more money so that they can help more kitties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats provides so many things back to the area. Caring for those that have been discarded, helping ensure humane care for the sick, educating the public of the problem of overpopulation of cats, and providing assistance for those who are trying to care for cats in the community. They were very instrumental in helping me handle a small feral population. Educating me on tools for capture of feral cats, helping me find economical sources for sterilization services, and helping me keep up with a group of 9--from two cats to 9 in the space of a year. Those cats all survived for several years and 8 years later one survives and is no longer truly feral. Using TNR we have managed to keep the little critter population at a minimum, instead of being overrun with cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

search for a larger facility so they could help more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Shadow Cats through another organization I work with, Western Iowa Feral Cat Program. The work they do is amazing, taking in the cats in the world that no one wants and giving them that loving home that they deserve. Of course, loving these cats as they do also has a down-side, you see, cats with fe-luk don't live long and they face great health issues. I've cried with some of the touching obits they have posted for the cats who have passed. You know these little ones were loved until the end! Shadow Cats have inspired me to get out and make a difference for cats as well, I now serve on the board of our local Humane Society. Behind Shadow Cats is an amazing group of volunteers and I applaud them for all they've done and what they hope to do.

I've also participated virtually in their Strut Your Mutts walk, and raised donations through friends and family. Shadow Cats, Iowa sends love your way!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing about Shadow Cats, other then of course to get them more funds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats supports trap, neuter, return of stray cats and rescues cats who test positive for FeLV from their trapping locations and local shelters, as well as feral and semi-feral cats who cannot safely be returned to where they were trapped. They have a large group of well organized volunteers who take wonderful care of the cats, including the very best of veterinary care. The cats live indoors with protected outdoor access to a massive enclosure. Cats with FeLV are isolated from the larger group of semi-ferals. Most cats have multiple sponsors who donate every month to help support the something like $7,000/month budget. I sponsor two cats and get photos of them almost every month. I have been to their holiday party and toured the facility twice. They are a charity that other charities aspire to emulate, including our own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more land to build a bigger facility to rescue more cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 12, 2012

I have a special place in my heart for feral cats and cats that others don't want. It is these very cats that Shadow Cats takes in and gives a loving, forever home to - be they FeLV+, feral or have be... more

February 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love Shadow Cats. First they help a very underserved group of cats (FeLV+ and those behaviorally challenged) by providing sanctuary for these felines where before they faced a certain death sentence. But they go beyond a mere place to live and these cats live full, loved, pampered and play filled lives. They welcome donors to come and visit anytime and they provide streaming web cams that show the daily activities of the shelter and its residents. I cannot say enough positive things about this place. The volunteers, many who come every day, know each cat, their likes and dislikes, their health needs and even their favorite toy. If I come back in a second life I would be happy to be a SC cat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have a special place in my heart for feral cats and cats that others don't want. It is these very cats that Shadow Cats takes in and gives a loving, forever home to - be they FeLV+, feral or have behavioral problems that make adoption difficult, Shadow Cats welcomes them. The absolute transparency with which they operate should be a model to other sanctuaries and rescue groups. They operate a Kitty Cam that lets you tune in live to the kitty antics, every donation is acknowledged and appreciated and you are made aware of everything that goes on at the sanctuary. With the benefit of social media they post updates, photographs and sanctuary resident information online. The volunteers are dedicated, devoted and clearly love the animals they tend to. if I come back as a cat I want to live at Shadow Cats - there is simply no better place on earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I give to Shadow Cats because I have seen first hand the amazing facility they provide to special needs cats that may otherwise be euthanized or left to try to survive in feral colonies. The cats have safety, room to roam, mental stimulation, compassionate caretakers, and the vet care that we would provide for our beloved pets. All this is done by a primarily volunteer organization and I'm confident that my donations are going directly to care for the cats. And my life has been enriched by one of the cats they saved--a 6 week old kitten found near death on a country road. They provided the vet care he needed--including the unfortunate need to remove one of his eyes destroyed by infection--nursed him back to health and allowed me to adopt him so we can live happily ever after together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more space so they could help more cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

The work they do for animals that would otherwise have no chanch at life is beyond wonderful!! more

July 31, 2013

Shadow Cats provides a service to cats who without them would have no chance at life. They go above and beyond for EVERY animal in their care and reach out to help many more. Their dedication and care to any animal who comes their way is amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The work they do for animals that would otherwise have no chanch at life is beyond wonderful!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I have so much love for Shadow Cats! The wonderful sanctuary they provide for cats that would not be here if it wasn't for them. I love sponsoring one of the residents and they are so gracious to give me updates on her and send me pictures. I had very sick cat with a condition they were familiar with, and between the personal emails and all the information they gave me, it helped me so much to understand what was going on with my cat. They make you feel like family and to watch the kitty cam and actually see the cats......wonderful. The staff and volunteers are always sharing what is going on at Shadow Cats and when the time comes that one of the furry resident's time crosses Rainbow Bridge, they post such loving memorials. I look forward everyday to looking at Shadow Cats and all the pictures they continue to post on Facebook. This is truly a heaven on earth place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more exposure to the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The care for the cats here is beyond normal. They show true care for all of the cats and kittens. I learned all about Shadow Cats Rescue from there Facebook page and couldn't believe how much tender loving care is put into their jobs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.