Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I give to Shadow Cats because I have seen first hand the amazing facility they provide to special needs cats that may otherwise be euthanized or left to try to survive in feral colonies. The cats have safety, room to roam, mental stimulation, compassionate caretakers, and the vet care that we would provide for our beloved pets. All this is done by a primarily volunteer organization and I'm confident that my donations are going directly to care for the cats. And my life has been enriched by one of the cats they saved--a 6 week old kitten found near death on a country road. They provided the vet care he needed--including the unfortunate need to remove one of his eyes destroyed by infection--nursed him back to health and allowed me to adopt him so we can live happily ever after together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more space so they could help more cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

The work they do for animals that would otherwise have no chanch at life is beyond wonderful!! more

July 31, 2013

Shadow Cats provides a service to cats who without them would have no chance at life. They go above and beyond for EVERY animal in their care and reach out to help many more. Their dedication and care to any animal who comes their way is amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The work they do for animals that would otherwise have no chanch at life is beyond wonderful!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I have so much love for Shadow Cats! The wonderful sanctuary they provide for cats that would not be here if it wasn't for them. I love sponsoring one of the residents and they are so gracious to give me updates on her and send me pictures. I had very sick cat with a condition they were familiar with, and between the personal emails and all the information they gave me, it helped me so much to understand what was going on with my cat. They make you feel like family and to watch the kitty cam and actually see the cats......wonderful. The staff and volunteers are always sharing what is going on at Shadow Cats and when the time comes that one of the furry resident's time crosses Rainbow Bridge, they post such loving memorials. I look forward everyday to looking at Shadow Cats and all the pictures they continue to post on Facebook. This is truly a heaven on earth place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more exposure to the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The care for the cats here is beyond normal. They show true care for all of the cats and kittens. I learned all about Shadow Cats Rescue from there Facebook page and couldn't believe how much tender loving care is put into their jobs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

I discovered Shadow Cats quite a few years ago while doing some research on Feline Leukemia long term care. Shadow Cats provides lifetime care to 80+ cats that would face a death sentence in a traditional shelter environment. These range from FeLV+ kitties to ferals with health concerns. FeLV+ kitties hold a dear place in my heart. As a veterinary technician, I have seen the prejudice against these cats first hand. I have given a permanent home to a few over the years as well. I followed SCR through the Great Kitty Rescue from Best Friends, and when Facebook came along and SCR started their page, I started following them avidly. I signed up to sponsor the minute I saw them announce the program and have added to our sponsorship over the years. My husband and I share a passion for the unwanted cats as well, sharing our home with upwards of 20 cats, and I dreamed of visiting SCR for years. That opportunity came in 2012 when we chose to spend our anniversary visiting the sanctuary. We were welcomed with hugs from Sheila and David both like we were long lost friends, and the joy just escalated from there. The premises are gorgeous, clean and odor free (a difficult task with even 2 cats in a household if the litter commercials are to be believed!) The cats are wonderfully well cared for, and all of the non-feral cats are well socialized, showing that they receive a ton of love and attention from family and volunteers. Even the ferals are obviously accustomed to attention and treats and come around, staying just out of reach, waiting for you to toss treats. The peacefulness of the Outback with the creek gurgling merrily along and the cats lounging about in the rays of the setting sun is an image I will hold dear to my heart forever. We stayed and visited for awhile, took tons of photos, and left feeling privileged to be a part of such an amazing place. I feel a real kinship with Sheila, Dr. Smith and David; the kinship of those gathered in a united front to fight for souls most would deem unworthy. We can't wait to visit again.

Shadow Cats fights the good fight and does it well. They know their limitations, and because they do not allow themselves to stretch beyond those limitations, they are able to provide outstanding care in a loving and nurturing home environment.

SCR is also active in TNR all around their area. They fundraise and provide support for teams of TNR volunteers. This is in addition to caring directly for the cats at the sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing to change other than helping them continue to raise more funds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

I actually learned of Shadow Cats via social media. Over time I realized how truly wonderful Shadow Cats is; their devotion to cats that would otherwise languish in shelters, or worse is truly amazing. I started sponsoring a cat there, Cecil, who had no sponsor at the time. He was eventually adopted out, but before he moved out became ill and passed. I felt so strongly about Shadow Cats that I transferred my sponsorship to another cat, Riley.

Shadow Cats provides the very best of care and love to these cats. They are also very active in the TNR (trap, neuter, release) programs in the area. They take their role as caretaker to cats who have no place else to go.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the powerball lottery and give Shadow Cats a lot of money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 26, 2012

It's one thing to provide services, it's another thing to be a mentor to anyone/everyone who needs help. That's what sets Shadow Cats apart. You simply need to look at the explosive success of the W... more

June 2, 2013

As I recall, I wrote a review about Shadow Cats a few years ago. I'm back to tell everyone that Shadow Cats remains just an outstanding organization. It's hard enough to run a good sanctuary for special needs pets, it's another thing to be a mentor and supporter to groups/individuals all across the country. It's another thing to lead the charge for changes in government policies. It's another thing to go to court every day during an animal abuse trial to make certain that there is Justice for Moody. The leaders/volunteers of Shadow Cats do all these things, and they continue to do them at an amazing level of excellence over the years. They are a model for what every public and private organization should be!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money ...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It's one thing to provide services, it's another thing to be a mentor to anyone/everyone who needs help. That's what sets Shadow Cats apart. You simply need to look at the explosive success of the Western Iowa Feral Cats Program to see the impact that Shadow Cats has. I, for one, learned about/became a great supporter of WIFCap because Shadow Cats let the word know about their launch. The generosity that everyone with Shadow Cats shares, their creativity in programming, their commitment to serve the real outcasts of society (e.g., FIV cats), and the skill they bring to the effort ... well, I am in awe!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2010

I've been involved in rescue for several years now, and I know of the incredible work that Shadow Cats does in the community. What's most important is that the leaders of the group are always, always, always willing to share their expertise with others. Rescue is an art form. We have to learn by doing and through the experiences and guidance of others, we all grow and become more effective. So it isn't just what Shadow Cats does within the walls of the sanctuary or with the cats in its program, it's the priceless mentoring that makes it such an invaluable organization in the community. The ripple effect of that work, often unheralded, is what helps make all the rest of us better. So I bless Shadow Cats for the leadership, the support, and the patience they offer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Recipient of much advice and support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more financial resources! And space!

June 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter and I were first introduced to Sheila Smith and Shadow Cats Rescue about 6 years ago when we had a very sick kitten, Calcifer, that was dying from FIP. We were at the vets office daily for several weeks with our kitten. Dr. Smith of Central Texas Cat Hospital who also happens to be Sheila's husband was also caring for a litter of kittens that all had upper respiratory infections so bad that many of them had scarring of their eye's and other lifelong eye issues. They were called the "eye" kittens and every one of them was given a name that started with the letter "I". Needless to say, we played with our kitten there and also played and spent time with the "I" kittens. The last two weeks of our Calcifer's life were spent being closely monitored by Dr. Smith and his wonderful staff to ensure he was never in pain right up to the end when there was no hope for a recovery or cure. We were devastated! But it was during these last couple of weeks that we met Sheila as she would come in to check on her "I" kittens also. That is when we learned about Shadow Cats Rescue and all the wonderful things their organization does for cats. We fell in love with her and Dr. Smith!

We went home and thoroughly cleaned and bleached all the surfaces we could to make sure our other two kittens wouldn't come down with FIP. During the two weeks it took us to disinfect our house, my daughter and I kept thinking about those poor "I" kittens and their plight. We didn't think they had much hope of ever being adopted with their lifelong eye issues that they would have due to their illness not being treated properly by the original owners. We decided we would adopt "Iggy". Sheila came to our house to inspect it and our other kittens and to see if we would be good parents to her baby. Then came the day when she approved our adoption and we went to Central Texas Cat Hospital to pick Iggy up and bring him home. We played with all the kitten when we were waiting for Dr. Smith to finish his exam and release Iggy. I happened to be playing and holding Isabeau when she suddenly calmed down, looked up at me, put her paws on either side of my face and pulled me down gently to touch noses. I was a goner! I, who have never owned a cat (all the kittens were my daughters), decided then that Isabeau would be totally "my" cat.

That was our beginning with Shadow Cats Rescue and Sheila. Since then we have adopted several more and fostered several hard down-on-their luck cases for them. Some of the stories about the lives these cats lived before being literally rescued, makes a person wonder about the humanity of mankind. Shadow Cats is a blessing and I hope you will visit their website to learn more about them and their mission. Help support one or two, or more of the cats that live at the Sanctuary by sponsoring or donating food and medical supplies. If you live in the Austin area, consider adopting one or two, or more and be a god-send in their lives. http://shadowcats.net/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring more funding their way to help their mission and support the cats at the Sanctuary and at CTCH.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013




When I first moved to Austin, I saw an older kitten and a cat outside of a
Pizza Hut in Cedar Park. They were feral and ran from me. I did not who to call, so I contacted Kelly at the Whiskers N Tails Pet Store. She said
Shadow Cats Rescue (SCR) and gave me Sheila Smith's
phone number and I immediately called. Sheila had me call one of the trappers, Cindy Beyeler, and
eventually through her and Shannon Bayless' persistence, dedication and training me to help, the elusive Pizza Hut cat was Trapped, Neutered and Returned (TNR) through Shadow Cats. (During that time, we provided a small shelter and cat food to the
Pizza Hut and they were happy to leave food for the cat(s) daily. We never saw the older cat again.) After the return of the kitten to the Pizza Hut, we still provided food and learned that eventually either a customer or employee adopted the little guy. Hopefully, he is having a wonderful life.
Since then (2009), I have volunteered with Shadow Cats at the Sanctuary weekly. It is a wonderful, clean and happy home for all the cats who reside there with volunteers who feel privileged to spend time helping with and loving on the cats. The cats receive the best medical care at Central Texas Cat Hospital led by Dr. Roy Smith, veterinarian extraordinaire! I see first hand how well the cats are cared for at Shadow Cats and that donations to SCR are spent on the cats well being. At Shadow Cats, it is always about the cats!! I am honored to be a part of this organization.
C. Ann Hargett

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2012

This is a wonderful Rescue. They are truly amazing caring for so many cats that would normally be homeless or put down just because they are sick. They love each and everyone of their many residence... more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found Shadow Cats on Facebook through a coworker that also sponsors a cat. The compassion that they show for each and everyone of their lifelong residence is amazing. I couldn't help but want to sponsor one of their cats myself. They do so much for these animals that more than likely would have been put down because they were unfortunate to be born with a horrible disease that many wouldn't want to deal with or that many couldn't afford. They truly give these animals a chance to know what real love and care is no matter if it's for just a short time (for the babies that aren't strong enough to fight off the illness), or a lifetime (for those that are lucky enough). They keep all their sponsors informed on the activities and health of the cats they sponsor and even though they do suffer the loss of these wonderful cats they fight so hard to save, they do it with dignity and recover to try to help save the next one. I would recommend and encourage everyone to visit their web page and Facebook page and help sponsor one of the cats at the sanctuary. They use the money they earn to save as many cats lives as they possibly can and so much more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful Rescue. They are truly amazing caring for so many cats that would normally be homeless or put down just because they are sick. They love each and everyone of their many residence (cats) that they have taken in and tend to all their needs. They give these cats their forever home no matter how short or long that may be. They are extremely thankful to all that help wether it be volunteers, donations, or sponsors. Many people would not be able to handle the constant medical issues or losses due to illness that they see but they mourn those lost and continue saving lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more sponsors to help with the expense of caring for so many wonderful cats

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

Wonderful rescue, and to sponsor or donate if they are able because the money will go to help save these wonderful cats

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.