Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.96255
Write A Review
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Shadow Cats is an amazing organization! They save and care for cats that would otherwise not have a chance, like cats with FeLV and other special needs cats. They support their local cat community by trapping, neutering, and returning feral cats. Their staff and supporters are wonderful and dedicated. I personally sponsor three cats at Shadow Cats (which means I donate monthly to help with the cost of their food, shelter, and medical expenses), and Shadow Cats often sends me new pictures and updates about the kitties I sponsor to let me know how they are doing (thanks, David!). I only wish that I were local so I could visit all the awesome staff and cats in person! Keep up the great work, Shadow Cats!
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I have been sponsor tuxie, a cat at their rescue for about 6 months and am very pleased with their kindness and genuine cars for,those they are a guardian for! I get photo updates of tuxie nd follow,their website all the time! Shadow cats is a genuine rescue with only the best intentions for their cats!
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Shadowcats is a wonderful organization constantly caring for cats with special needs and rescuing them from high kill shelters and the streets. They share information on tnr and the cats they care for, find furreverr homes for those that they can adopt out and more, they share information on other rescue organizations to help them get what they need to care for those rescue cats as well. Very very helpful hand and caring souls and individuals each one of them at shadow cats
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I was first referred to this amazing rescue sanctuary when a stray cat who came to our back yard turned out to be feline leukemia positive. I knew I could not bring him into our household of five cats (including one who is FIV positive). For most of a year, he led a lonely, isolated existence in our upstairs bathroom, where he rested and gained strength. When I contacted the sanctuary, they had just suffered two sad losses, and fortuitously, had an opening for this kitty, whose opportunities for a normal life were slim and none. He has been there since June 6, 2014, and is thriving! Upon touring the facility and getting to know the workers and volunteers, I have spread the word far and wide: Shadow Cats Rescue does the work of the angels for cats who are feral (Trap-Neuter-Release), disabled, have severe behavior issues, and those on death row in kill shelters all across the country. Each one is named, given personal and loving care, medical care and watched over by an army of caring volunteers and professionals. I am very proud to be a regular contributor, because I know every dollar is multiplied in benefits to these who would be throw-aways if left to fend for themselves. I cannot recommend them more highly - they deserve 10 stars! Please join me in contributing to Shadow Cats Rescue in Round Rock, Texas!
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Shadow Cats cares for the unwanted, the often ignored and gives sanctuary and care to the least amongst us: the feral FLV positive cats. I was first introduced to them when reaching out for information about helping the feral and semi-feral cats who often turn up on my porch in the country. They were a fountain of information and help. Most critically, they taught me how to best trap a feral cat and where to take them so that I could at least get them fixed so there were not more cats to care for.

Since then we have adopted them as our number one charity for donations and promotion. They are a shining example to us all.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

The mission of this amazing organization is twofold. It educates the public about population controll. It's not about bringing an unwanted cat or kitten to a shelter and hope it's adopted before it's killed. It's about TNR spaying and neutering feral cats and returning them to their environment. It's about doing the same for your own cat. Finally they give a home to cats the public would deem not adoptable. FIV+, FLiv cats, cats missing a leg or eye, etc.
They work with other sanctuaries and adoption agencies to provide a unified network to improve the lives of many felines.
Truly an amazing and unique non-profit.
February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

Thank you Shadow Cats for all you do for our little Angel kitties. The love and respect you all give them is awesome. Keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a fan of this organization for about a little over 2 yrs when somehow I stumbled onto their Facebook page. I fell in love with the way the care for their kitties and the constant updates and posts that kept making me feel I am also a part of their community. Because of that, I have sponsored 2 cats and have sent a few donated items to them happily.

They truly care for their furry ones and it shows in the way the share info and keep us all in close contact with their activities, updates on kitties, and even heart breaking news when they crossed over and passed...keep up the wonderful work and thank you to everyone there!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe communicate better when donations arrive at the sanctuary so that we know things arrive ok.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Shadow Cats through my brother and sister-in-law years ago. They had adopted 2 of their cats. I listened to them tell me about the experiences that they had with this organization and how dedicated they were to their cause. As a long time animal lover, especially cats, I felt like I would check them out even though I don't live very close. I added them to my Facebook page and saw the many posts. I could tell pretty quick that their heart was totally dedicated to helping sick and ill cats that most of us would not want much less could afford in medical bills. The expense in taking care of a cat that has medical issues like the ones they take in is quite a bit. Anytime there is a call concerning a cat in need whether it be a feral cat(s) that need to be neutered, a cat that was going to be euthanized or a hoarding situation where all are in life and death situations, these wonderful people are right on it. I cannot say enough about the people or the organization. I had the pleasure of going to Shadow Cats for their annual donor Christmas get together last year. I got to meet many of the people and of course some of the cats. The Smith's, who started this organization, have redone most of their home inside and out. I was at awe on how much they have done. Lots of love in this organization. I was truly speechless at the accommodations they have made for the many cats that they take care of. A lot of loving and caring people. I currently sponsor a few cats, and donate regularly and do as much as I can financially. Hoping you can visit them and see what a deserving group this is.

Marilyn B

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

move to a larger facility. They have plans on this too. Just take $$.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats is a forever sanctuary for cats otherwise unadoptable whether they be FIV+, elderly or with behavioural issues. Everyone there is so very kind and compassionate and truly cares for each kitty and their well-being. Shadow Cats also educates and advocates for TNR to help put an end to pet overpopulation. Sheila Smith helped me and my mother learn how to humanely trap our little feral cat community and then have them neutured and returned (well, I adopted several of the kittens!). I wholeheartedly endorse Shadow Cats!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.