Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

Thank you Shadow Cats for all you do for our little Angel kitties. The love and respect you all give them is awesome. Keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a fan of this organization for about a little over 2 yrs when somehow I stumbled onto their Facebook page. I fell in love with the way the care for their kitties and the constant updates and posts that kept making me feel I am also a part of their community. Because of that, I have sponsored 2 cats and have sent a few donated items to them happily.

They truly care for their furry ones and it shows in the way the share info and keep us all in close contact with their activities, updates on kitties, and even heart breaking news when they crossed over and passed...keep up the wonderful work and thank you to everyone there!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe communicate better when donations arrive at the sanctuary so that we know things arrive ok.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Shadow Cats through my brother and sister-in-law years ago. They had adopted 2 of their cats. I listened to them tell me about the experiences that they had with this organization and how dedicated they were to their cause. As a long time animal lover, especially cats, I felt like I would check them out even though I don't live very close. I added them to my Facebook page and saw the many posts. I could tell pretty quick that their heart was totally dedicated to helping sick and ill cats that most of us would not want much less could afford in medical bills. The expense in taking care of a cat that has medical issues like the ones they take in is quite a bit. Anytime there is a call concerning a cat in need whether it be a feral cat(s) that need to be neutered, a cat that was going to be euthanized or a hoarding situation where all are in life and death situations, these wonderful people are right on it. I cannot say enough about the people or the organization. I had the pleasure of going to Shadow Cats for their annual donor Christmas get together last year. I got to meet many of the people and of course some of the cats. The Smith's, who started this organization, have redone most of their home inside and out. I was at awe on how much they have done. Lots of love in this organization. I was truly speechless at the accommodations they have made for the many cats that they take care of. A lot of loving and caring people. I currently sponsor a few cats, and donate regularly and do as much as I can financially. Hoping you can visit them and see what a deserving group this is.

Marilyn B

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

move to a larger facility. They have plans on this too. Just take $$.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats is a forever sanctuary for cats otherwise unadoptable whether they be FIV+, elderly or with behavioural issues. Everyone there is so very kind and compassionate and truly cares for each kitty and their well-being. Shadow Cats also educates and advocates for TNR to help put an end to pet overpopulation. Sheila Smith helped me and my mother learn how to humanely trap our little feral cat community and then have them neutured and returned (well, I adopted several of the kittens!). I wholeheartedly endorse Shadow Cats!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats Rescue in Round Rock, Texas; is the absolute definition of humanity, care, and dignity!

I have been volunteering with animal rescue groups and shelters for over 10 years; and have never experienced a nonprofit animal welfare group like Shadow Cats.

The time and
attention they give to each of the cats in their care is astounding and so heartfelt! We would be so blessed if all of God's creatures who experience the pain of abandonment, illness, injury; or just the tough-knocks of old age; were able to come to Shadow Cats Rescue.

My admiration continues in the way they run their "business". They are so well organized! Shadow Cats works with an amazing team of volunteers and small staff of workers that make sure everything runs like clockwork. I know that the time and money I give to Shadow Cats is going towards the greatest good!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As with every WONDERFUL rescue. I wish they had the financial ability to buy and build a larger sanctuary and hire a staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadowcats is one of the best pet sanctuaries that I have ever seen. They take in cats that most shelters can't begin to deal with due to illness or injuries and they go above and beyond in trying to make their lives pleasant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any changes that I would make. They could always use more money so that they can help more kitties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats provides so many things back to the area. Caring for those that have been discarded, helping ensure humane care for the sick, educating the public of the problem of overpopulation of cats, and providing assistance for those who are trying to care for cats in the community. They were very instrumental in helping me handle a small feral population. Educating me on tools for capture of feral cats, helping me find economical sources for sterilization services, and helping me keep up with a group of 9--from two cats to 9 in the space of a year. Those cats all survived for several years and 8 years later one survives and is no longer truly feral. Using TNR we have managed to keep the little critter population at a minimum, instead of being overrun with cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

search for a larger facility so they could help more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Shadow Cats through another organization I work with, Western Iowa Feral Cat Program. The work they do is amazing, taking in the cats in the world that no one wants and giving them that loving home that they deserve. Of course, loving these cats as they do also has a down-side, you see, cats with fe-luk don't live long and they face great health issues. I've cried with some of the touching obits they have posted for the cats who have passed. You know these little ones were loved until the end! Shadow Cats have inspired me to get out and make a difference for cats as well, I now serve on the board of our local Humane Society. Behind Shadow Cats is an amazing group of volunteers and I applaud them for all they've done and what they hope to do.

I've also participated virtually in their Strut Your Mutts walk, and raised donations through friends and family. Shadow Cats, Iowa sends love your way!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing about Shadow Cats, other then of course to get them more funds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shadow Cats supports trap, neuter, return of stray cats and rescues cats who test positive for FeLV from their trapping locations and local shelters, as well as feral and semi-feral cats who cannot safely be returned to where they were trapped. They have a large group of well organized volunteers who take wonderful care of the cats, including the very best of veterinary care. The cats live indoors with protected outdoor access to a massive enclosure. Cats with FeLV are isolated from the larger group of semi-ferals. Most cats have multiple sponsors who donate every month to help support the something like $7,000/month budget. I sponsor two cats and get photos of them almost every month. I have been to their holiday party and toured the facility twice. They are a charity that other charities aspire to emulate, including our own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more land to build a bigger facility to rescue more cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 12, 2012

I have a special place in my heart for feral cats and cats that others don't want. It is these very cats that Shadow Cats takes in and gives a loving, forever home to - be they FeLV+, feral or have be... more

February 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love Shadow Cats. First they help a very underserved group of cats (FeLV+ and those behaviorally challenged) by providing sanctuary for these felines where before they faced a certain death sentence. But they go beyond a mere place to live and these cats live full, loved, pampered and play filled lives. They welcome donors to come and visit anytime and they provide streaming web cams that show the daily activities of the shelter and its residents. I cannot say enough positive things about this place. The volunteers, many who come every day, know each cat, their likes and dislikes, their health needs and even their favorite toy. If I come back in a second life I would be happy to be a SC cat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have a special place in my heart for feral cats and cats that others don't want. It is these very cats that Shadow Cats takes in and gives a loving, forever home to - be they FeLV+, feral or have behavioral problems that make adoption difficult, Shadow Cats welcomes them. The absolute transparency with which they operate should be a model to other sanctuaries and rescue groups. They operate a Kitty Cam that lets you tune in live to the kitty antics, every donation is acknowledged and appreciated and you are made aware of everything that goes on at the sanctuary. With the benefit of social media they post updates, photographs and sanctuary resident information online. The volunteers are dedicated, devoted and clearly love the animals they tend to. if I come back as a cat I want to live at Shadow Cats - there is simply no better place on earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Build cat houses, feeders or make cat beds.  Three hours could be turned into a fundraising project.  Three hours could mean an evening of trapping or transporting. Three hours could mean organizing and office work.