Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

Tamara has dedicated her life to helping others. She spends every waking moment doing incredible grassroots work in so many vital areas for the communities and the environment. Her mission at Sexto Sol to create sustainable and holistic change, empowering others to move forward into healthier, happier futures is inspirational. I would encourage anyone to support this cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I volunteered for Sexto Sol in the summer of 2003, before I started graduate school in hydrology. I was simply looking for a safe opportunity to contribute in a developing country and learn some Spanish. Instead, I had a life-enhancing experience that continues to provide me with positive inspiration, and I gained insight that improves my empathy in my daily life. I also gained two new best friends (the co-directors). Instead of pursuing an academic career in hydrology, I have chosen to teach high school math at a Title 1 (AKA poverty-stricken) school in Texas. It has been 9 years, but the psychological/sociological insight that I gained during my two months in Motozintla is being used to positively impact my students today. Sexto Sol is beyond efficient in its use of funds, and accomplishes WAY MORE than any other non-profit could accomplish with the same budget. There are very few non-profits that I choose to financially support; I could count them on my hand (my church, my college, and Sexto Sol). However, my loyalty lies with Sexto Sol, and any spare dollar I have will go to them for many years to come. After 9 years, after getting married and having a child and gaining many other responsibilities, I have decided to return this summer to assist them again, in their work to support the communities around them. Is Sexto Sol ethical and responsible? YES! Is Sexto Sol making a positive impact? YES! Should you support Sexto Sol? Resounding, emphatic, YES!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The outstanding qualities of love for the poor, frugality, good financial management and the results they have attained with very limited funds helping people rise above poverty are reasons we have financially supported the Sexto Sol Center for Community Action for 10 years. They lead relief efforts when mud slides destroyed a village. They teach coffee growers how to improve quality and production and help them get fair prices for their coffee. They teach methods to increase vegetable yields in home gardens. They developed an improved lighting system for a school. They teach care and protection of the environment. Through innovation and dedication they are able to meet needs and improve the lives of the poor near the Mexican / Guatemala border. I recommend Sexto Sol Center to all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Tamara is the paragon of dedication, passion, and vision. She is there on the ground, doing incredible grassroots work in so many vital areas for the communities and the environment. Sexto Sol's work is also grassroots, helping create sustainable and holistic change so that those they serve may move forward into healthier, happier, more empowered futures. Truly, I am inspired by the work this organization does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

In the time I spent volunteering with Sexto Sol in May 2012, I was amazed to see the sheer breadth of projects and successes this dedicated team accomplishes in Chiapas and Guatemala. We learned how to install bottle lights into dark classrooms, helped start a single mothers cooperative, made recycled aluminum cans into efficient kitchen stoves, and spent many rewarding hours working in the vegetable garden. I was sought out Sexto Sol because not only do they employ sustainable agriculture and permaculture techniques in their garden, but their goal is to share these techniques with the surrounding community to increase food security in Motozintla, a town where fresh local produce is a rare and expensive commodity. They are a great team, worthy of support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Tamara Brennan and Francisco Barrios are two of the most dedicated and energetic people I have ever met. Their tireless work has empowered vast numbers of rural Mexican and Guatemalan citizens to overcome poverty and injustice. The breadth of their work is amazing, ranging from reforestation and teaching permaculture to organizing coffee-grower and other cooperatives to their latest work addressing disaster-induced psychological trauma.
To say I was impressed on a brief visit in 2002 would be a vast understatement. Since then I have done all I can to assist them both financially and as a volunteer and encouraged others to do the same.
If any organization deserves a seal of excellence it is The Sexto Sol Center for Community Action.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have known the leaders of Sexto Sol for over 15 years. They are truly dedicated to improving the lives of people in Mexico and Guatemala and doing so in an environmentally sound and sustainable manner. They bring cutting edge ideas to the local level and generate innovative solutions. They empower local residents while educating the broader public, including North Americans, about economic and political issues in Mexico and Central America. They do terrific work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

My wife and I have known and supported Sexto Sol for many years. We keep being amazed at the wide range of projects and the excellent work they have done, all accomplished on a tiny budget. Director Tamara Brennan and her husband put their heart and soul into this work, and it pays off in the many successes of this organization. Would that other NGO's could be so effective!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have followed and supported Sexto Sol Center for Community Action for many years. They stand in the breach for the poor farmers of the area, responding to needs as they present themselves; Providing food and medical supplies to isolated victims after the mudslides following deforestation; bringing in medical and psychological experts to help deal with trauma after the devastation of the area; helping coffee farmers get certified as organic farmers,' providing colorful new furniture for local schools: creating a new inexpensive lighting system for dark school classrooms, teaching elementary students when local schools proved inadeuate. The staff is creative, innovativve, dedicated and desperately needed in the area they serve. They're a top notch organization and very deserving of your stap of approval

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

What Sexto Sol does for the people with whom they live and work is not only extraordinary, it it also essential. While respecting and supporting the culture of the indigenous people, there is also ongoing work for present and future betterment. Sexto Sol is involved in areas ranging from education to agriculture; the goal is always to bring a sense of accomplishment and worth to the people who help themselves build a better future for them and their children. I have been a proud supporter and volunteer for many years. Actor/Activist Edward James Olmos also supports Sexto Sol whole-heartedly, and he has worked with me and them to make sure that gifts from his fans turn into donations to this most worthy cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers