Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
December 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The people in Kinship just seem to care so much about anyone who is hurting. They were there for me when I most needed them. Their love and dedication is simply amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I heard about Kinship when I was in college but didn't connect to it until 1995. I've been involved with Kinship since then because from the first moment I attended my first Kampmeeting I knew I was "home". Kinship gave me the place where I could be myself and reconcile my sexuality and my spirituality...something very difficult to do coming from a fundamentalist religious background. I continue to offer my time and financial assistance to this organization because I believe in the mission of Kinship. Because it had such a profound impact on me, I want to make sure the love and support I found in Kinship continues to be available to others. Seventh-day Adventist Kinship is a wonderful organization for everyone...former or current SDA members...all are welcome. I feel blessed to be a part of this organization and to have formed awesome friendships that I'm sure I'll have for the rest of my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Growing up I thought I was the only Seventh-day Adventist who was "different" than my other Adventist friends. Later I learned that this "difference" was called homosexuality and I was gay. I thought that getting married would change all that, but after 6 years of trying to be heterosexual, it wasn't working. During the time of the divorce I looked for others who may be going through a similar experience and I found SDA Kinship listed in a local gay publication. I wasn't alone! There were others like me. SDA Kinship became a lifeline for me, helping me to realize that I am OK just like I am. I became involved as a volunteer and Board Member. SDA Kinship works to promote an affirming community around the world, letting them know they are not alone. A great trait of SDA Kinship is that it is not just for one particular group, but is open to diversity of all kinds, including allies who support this inclusivity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I first joined in 2001, I was at an Adventist campus and feeling like the only gay man there. Once, I joined, I had a network of others like me. I attended my first Kampmeeting soon after and forged many long time friendships. I am continually grateful for the work Kinship does and decided to give back by serving on its Board of Directors. I cannot thank Kinship enough for being a major part of my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- translate informative and encouraging articles into Spanish, French, German, Italian, or Swahili

-- let you tell your story in a video blog

-- add an article to the newsletter

-- help a region get ready for the city Pride parade

-- develop a local outreach event

-- organize a Sabbath potluck

-- prepare you to talk to the region on community experiences in your country

-- connect you with the annual Kampmeeting team

-- give you time to create new posters or help with the website...

What would you like to do? Let us know!