Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is a beacon of light to the community that holds no sympathy, compassion, or understanding of those who are gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered. The services that this charity offers has given hope to someone like me and to thousands around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of SDA Kinship since 1993 when I joined during my coming out process. Kinship provided the support system I needed to live authentically as a gay person and yet remain of person of faith. The local regional group provided social, emotional, and spiritual support, especially in a super-conservative state like Texas where I lived at the time. Throughout the years, I have observed Kinship's support of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and intersex individuals, providing advocacy and affirmation in ways that they were not able to find anywhere else.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I sought out SDA Kinship I was questioning my sexuality. I needed information and social interaction with people who were LGBT and Seventh-day Adventist. Kinship provided this important role. I attended a regional meeting which was low key and fun. We discussed everything under the moon including being ostracized by the greater SDA community and specific outings that turned out to be terrible breaches of trust. I had offered by home for members who were from out of town. One member was scheduled to stay at my house but had a car break-down and couldn’t make it. We kept in touch via email and fell in love before we even met. We have been together for over 9 years and are legally married now.
SDA Kinship provides me an outlet to discuss issues and stay connected with others with my religious background. I am most active on Facebook where the community is diverse and discussions are as well. I like being able to speak about personal, political, theological and a variety of other issues. The community includes pastors, educators, musicians, academics, therapists, scientists, retail workers, managers, retired people, parents, and so much more.
Kinship is a lifesaver to many of us and provides a much needed service to Seventh-day Adventists who believe that committed relationships that fit our sexuality are not only a blessing but consistent with Biblical values.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SDA Kinship is a great organization that helps anyone who as ever been associated with the SDA church that is LGBTI and their allies. They have been a great resource and many have become good friends. I recommend them to anyone who is interested in making like minded friends or need support in their own struggles with their orientation as an LGBTI SDA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

What a life! I am Seventh-day Adventist and in a mixed-orientation marriage - two things that are puzzling to most people until they learn more. How much more complicated is life for my gay SDA husband! Kinship has provided us with much information, resources, and comfort, and we are very grateful for this organization. Of course we recommend it to others!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- translate informative and encouraging articles into Spanish, French, German, Italian, or Swahili

-- let you tell your story in a video blog

-- add an article to the newsletter

-- help a region get ready for the city Pride parade

-- develop a local outreach event

-- organize a Sabbath potluck

-- prepare you to talk to the region on community experiences in your country

-- connect you with the annual Kampmeeting team

-- give you time to create new posters or help with the website...

What would you like to do? Let us know!