Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SDA Kinship is part of me extended family. When I was literally kicked out of Gate Way Adventist Centre with others who believed in Equal Love and Equality for all. Kinship was there with full support and practical love. Kinship friends empowered me to care for the GLTBI people who were marginalized, stigmatized and disembraced by the SDA Church.
It is through SDA Kinship that Iam working part time at a suicide prevention centre which specializes in preventing self harm and suicide to young GLTBI People. Kinship provides the practical resources through its virtual community Face Book pages where we as a Kinship Family communicate and discuss issues.
Kinship also provides social networks were we meet face to face every Friday in Melbourne and embrace those who were persecuted by the Christian Churches because of their sexual orientation, we have movie nights, book reading club and a health and fitness.
Many young SDA people are participating and finding meaning and acceptance. Kinship members in Melbourne Australia are vitally involved in community service such as volunteering to do breakfast for 80 homeless people four days per week, conducting English Language classes for refugees. That is what I like about Kinship it’s inclusive and while our service is toward the GLBTI community we do help with the community at large.
Keith Paulusse
Kinship member Melbourne Australia

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I joined SDAKinship International in 1981, through an ad in Ms magazine. I am so grateful someone too the time and finance to place that spot. I respnded to the invitation to connect with this organization and a volunter was kind enough to take the time to come to my home in very rural Massachusetts. My first meeting with the local group was full of warmth, support and infomation that was part of a journey that changed my life for the better. The people I met there have been part of my heart and my life for more than thrity years. Since that time this group allowed me to use gifts and talents in ways that my church gradually closed off to me. Kinship enouraged me to grow from a membership to leadership role. IN my times of celebration and of deep grieg, this organization has wrapped around me. To say that this is a daily and growing part of my life is an understatement. This is a gift, a healing, a hope and a call to do more to change the prejudices of my world and to grow more whole as an individual.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

SDA Kinship is a blessing not just to glbti Adventists who are feeling rejected and lost, but also to their family members. Many years ago, soon after I learned my son is gay, I received unconditional love and support and HUGS from the members of Kinship that brought solace, healing, and understanding to my soul. Because of Kinship, I have gradually come to embrace a role of advocacy and support to other families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Amazing community that welcomes diversity and provides extremely friendly environment for its members. It gives an unique opportunity to share thoughts, learn more and find great new friends, It has given me a lot and I am thankful and proud to be Seventh-day Adventist Kinship member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- translate informative and encouraging articles into Spanish, French, German, Italian, or Swahili

-- let you tell your story in a video blog

-- add an article to the newsletter

-- help a region get ready for the city Pride parade

-- develop a local outreach event

-- organize a Sabbath potluck

-- prepare you to talk to the region on community experiences in your country

-- connect you with the annual Kampmeeting team

-- give you time to create new posters or help with the website...

What would you like to do? Let us know!