Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Seventh-day Adventist Kinship International became an important part of my life starting in the mid-1990's. The annual Kampmeeting that year featured a theologian who helped me to accept my orientation after nearly thirty years of trying to change who I am. Since that time, I have been actively involved at the Regional, National and International levels of the organization in helping to bring a face for LGBTIQ Seventh-day Adventists to the Church. This has provided me with opportunities I would not have enjoyed apart from Kinship. I have new friends in my own area, I have new friends and colleagues across American and around the world who have also become involved in providing support. These friends are both LGBTIQ and straight allies who are giving tirelessly to support the work of Kinship. Kinship has also supported efforts to develop a book, "Christianity and Homosexuality: Some Seventh-day Adventist Perspectives" and a documentary, "Seventh-Gay Adventists" These are valuable resources for changing hearts and minds. I am currently serving on an interim basis on the Board until someone can be found for the position.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SDA Kinship is a great organization that helps anyone who as ever been associated with the SDA church that is LGBTI and their allies. They have been a great resource and many have become good friends. I recommend them to anyone who is interested in making like minded friends or need support in their own struggles with their orientation as an LGBTI SDA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

SDA Kinship is a blessing not just to glbti Adventists who are feeling rejected and lost, but also to their family members. Many years ago, soon after I learned my son is gay, I received unconditional love and support and HUGS from the members of Kinship that brought solace, healing, and understanding to my soul. Because of Kinship, I have gradually come to embrace a role of advocacy and support to other families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

What a life! I am Seventh-day Adventist and in a mixed-orientation marriage - two things that are puzzling to most people until they learn more. How much more complicated is life for my gay SDA husband! Kinship has provided us with much information, resources, and comfort, and we are very grateful for this organization. Of course we recommend it to others!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am very thankful for this community and website that freely allows and accepts those struggling with their sexual orientation within the SDA church. It is a "safe haven" for LGBT members (some out and other nots) of the SDA church. If it wasn't for this wonderful organization, i would still be questioning my self-worth. Feel welcome without judgment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Amazing community that welcomes diversity and provides extremely friendly environment for its members. It gives an unique opportunity to share thoughts, learn more and find great new friends, It has given me a lot and I am thankful and proud to be Seventh-day Adventist Kinship member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- translate informative and encouraging articles into Spanish, French, German, Italian, or Swahili

-- let you tell your story in a video blog

-- add an article to the newsletter

-- help a region get ready for the city Pride parade

-- develop a local outreach event

-- organize a Sabbath potluck

-- prepare you to talk to the region on community experiences in your country

-- connect you with the annual Kampmeeting team

-- give you time to create new posters or help with the website...

What would you like to do? Let us know!