Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The people in Kinship just seem to care so much about anyone who is hurting. They were there for me when I most needed them. Their love and dedication is simply amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is a beacon of light to the community that holds no sympathy, compassion, or understanding of those who are gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered. The services that this charity offers has given hope to someone like me and to thousands around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SDA Kinship is part of me extended family. When I was literally kicked out of Gate Way Adventist Centre with others who believed in Equal Love and Equality for all. Kinship was there with full support and practical love. Kinship friends empowered me to care for the GLTBI people who were marginalized, stigmatized and disembraced by the SDA Church.
It is through SDA Kinship that Iam working part time at a suicide prevention centre which specializes in preventing self harm and suicide to young GLTBI People. Kinship provides the practical resources through its virtual community Face Book pages where we as a Kinship Family communicate and discuss issues.
Kinship also provides social networks were we meet face to face every Friday in Melbourne and embrace those who were persecuted by the Christian Churches because of their sexual orientation, we have movie nights, book reading club and a health and fitness.
Many young SDA people are participating and finding meaning and acceptance. Kinship members in Melbourne Australia are vitally involved in community service such as volunteering to do breakfast for 80 homeless people four days per week, conducting English Language classes for refugees. That is what I like about Kinship it’s inclusive and while our service is toward the GLBTI community we do help with the community at large.
Keith Paulusse
Kinship member Melbourne Australia

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I found/joined SDA Kinship a few years ago when I was hurting from the treatment I recieved from the church when someone 'outed' me. I was getting more and more depressed and was looking for love and support as well as someway to connect who I was with my spirituality. I found that with SDA Kinship. After attending our first Kampmeeting, my wife told another member it was nice to have her wife back. And I am still 'back'. Thank you to Kinship members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I heard about Kinship when I was in college but didn't connect to it until 1995. I've been involved with Kinship since then because from the first moment I attended my first Kampmeeting I knew I was "home". Kinship gave me the place where I could be myself and reconcile my sexuality and my spirituality...something very difficult to do coming from a fundamentalist religious background. I continue to offer my time and financial assistance to this organization because I believe in the mission of Kinship. Because it had such a profound impact on me, I want to make sure the love and support I found in Kinship continues to be available to others. Seventh-day Adventist Kinship is a wonderful organization for everyone...former or current SDA members...all are welcome. I feel blessed to be a part of this organization and to have formed awesome friendships that I'm sure I'll have for the rest of my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Growing up I thought I was the only Seventh-day Adventist who was "different" than my other Adventist friends. Later I learned that this "difference" was called homosexuality and I was gay. I thought that getting married would change all that, but after 6 years of trying to be heterosexual, it wasn't working. During the time of the divorce I looked for others who may be going through a similar experience and I found SDA Kinship listed in a local gay publication. I wasn't alone! There were others like me. SDA Kinship became a lifeline for me, helping me to realize that I am OK just like I am. I became involved as a volunteer and Board Member. SDA Kinship works to promote an affirming community around the world, letting them know they are not alone. A great trait of SDA Kinship is that it is not just for one particular group, but is open to diversity of all kinds, including allies who support this inclusivity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I first joined in 2001, I was at an Adventist campus and feeling like the only gay man there. Once, I joined, I had a network of others like me. I attended my first Kampmeeting soon after and forged many long time friendships. I am continually grateful for the work Kinship does and decided to give back by serving on its Board of Directors. I cannot thank Kinship enough for being a major part of my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I joined SDAKinship International in 1981, through an ad in Ms magazine. I am so grateful someone too the time and finance to place that spot. I respnded to the invitation to connect with this organization and a volunter was kind enough to take the time to come to my home in very rural Massachusetts. My first meeting with the local group was full of warmth, support and infomation that was part of a journey that changed my life for the better. The people I met there have been part of my heart and my life for more than thrity years. Since that time this group allowed me to use gifts and talents in ways that my church gradually closed off to me. Kinship enouraged me to grow from a membership to leadership role. IN my times of celebration and of deep grieg, this organization has wrapped around me. To say that this is a daily and growing part of my life is an understatement. This is a gift, a healing, a hope and a call to do more to change the prejudices of my world and to grow more whole as an individual.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of SDA Kinship since 1993 when I joined during my coming out process. Kinship provided the support system I needed to live authentically as a gay person and yet remain of person of faith. The local regional group provided social, emotional, and spiritual support, especially in a super-conservative state like Texas where I lived at the time. Throughout the years, I have observed Kinship's support of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and intersex individuals, providing advocacy and affirmation in ways that they were not able to find anywhere else.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I sought out SDA Kinship I was questioning my sexuality. I needed information and social interaction with people who were LGBT and Seventh-day Adventist. Kinship provided this important role. I attended a regional meeting which was low key and fun. We discussed everything under the moon including being ostracized by the greater SDA community and specific outings that turned out to be terrible breaches of trust. I had offered by home for members who were from out of town. One member was scheduled to stay at my house but had a car break-down and couldn’t make it. We kept in touch via email and fell in love before we even met. We have been together for over 9 years and are legally married now.
SDA Kinship provides me an outlet to discuss issues and stay connected with others with my religious background. I am most active on Facebook where the community is diverse and discussions are as well. I like being able to speak about personal, political, theological and a variety of other issues. The community includes pastors, educators, musicians, academics, therapists, scientists, retail workers, managers, retired people, parents, and so much more.
Kinship is a lifesaver to many of us and provides a much needed service to Seventh-day Adventists who believe that committed relationships that fit our sexuality are not only a blessing but consistent with Biblical values.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- translate informative and encouraging articles into Spanish, French, German, Italian, or Swahili

-- let you tell your story in a video blog

-- add an article to the newsletter

-- help a region get ready for the city Pride parade

-- develop a local outreach event

-- organize a Sabbath potluck

-- prepare you to talk to the region on community experiences in your country

-- connect you with the annual Kampmeeting team

-- give you time to create new posters or help with the website...

What would you like to do? Let us know!