Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1.333332345
Write A Review
January 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I would have given them zero stars if I could. Got a call from this group claiming I gave them $20 last year. I didn't remember the name, and I run all charities I donate to through the BBB website as well as the Nonprofit report. When I said as much to the operator, she practically hung up on me. Sure enough, when I checked there were no financials, no listing of who specifically benefits and no accountability. Needless to say, no donation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them audited by the IRS and expose them for the fraud they are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

THIS IS A SCAM CHARITY. I got a call tonight about a supporting this charity with a $20 donation. I asked the representative to tell me which charities specifically receive the funds from their work. The representative couldn't answer the question and she referred me to the website www.bcrsf.org. I went to that site and it directed me to the parent company Community Charity Advancement. Here is the website: http://www.communitycharityadvancement.org/about-us.aspx

This "charity" has a high amount of expenses which are nearly EQUAL to the amount that it raises. Some of those expenses may actually be paid to charities but they don't list which charities they actually support. Secondly, hidden in those expenses could possibly be the high salaries for the "board" and for the "CEO". None of the people listed on the website check out.

Don't give them a single cent - you're supporting the director's and CEO's salaries, not funding breast cancer research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Received a phone call soliciting a donation that purportedly would be used to help women get mammograms. Having lost my mother to the disease 8 years ago plus a dear friend and my sister being diagnosed 3 years ago (thank God she is doing fine now) I have always been advocate for Breast Cancer Research & funding to help people get treatment. So I agreed to $25, when the paperwork arrived it seemed odd to me when they mentioned the professional company hired to do their fundraising, what does that cost them? So as I always do with any charity I checked Charity Navigator to see the financials, any group that has a low rating due to high admin costs dont' get my money, but this group did not exist at all. What I did find online including their own website is very brief and did not answer any of my concerns. I returned the letter indicating I would not be contributing and remove my name from thier list,, this seems very much a scam!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

AFTER RECEIVING MY PLEDGE LETTER IN THE MAIL A NAME WAS FINALLY PROVIED THAT A PERSON COULD RESEARCH. HAVING BATTLED A 7 YEAR FIGHT WITH BREAST CANCER AM USUALLY AWARE OF RESEARCH FOUNDATIONS. AM NOT HAPPY AT ALL WITH MY RESEARCH SO AT THIS TIME WILL WITHDRAW MY PLEDGE AND PROVIDE TO KNOWN FOUNDATIONS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

They called our house asking for a donation. They spoke to my teenage daughter and solicited the donation from her. She thought she was agreeing to doing a survey and instead a pledge letter came in the mail. I was angry to say the least. Why are they asking minors for donations? I tried to call the phone number on the letter and the phone number listed as the office of the non-profit. The first never answers and goes to an answering machine with a mechanical, general "leave a message at the tone" and the second has been disconnected or is not in service. There is no record of any financial filing with the IRS and there is no record that any donations have been made to anyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They keep asking for money which I refuse to give.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

render them illegal and make them stop calling.

June 5, 2011
41 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2011
41 people found this review helpful

SCAM! Merely search the web for < Seven Sisters of Healing > or for the related < Breast Cancer Research and Support Fund > and discover how completely they've filed their annual financial reports. Zip! Then drop by and discover the mission of SSOH on its website, which may be surprising. It's also interesting to explore the history of the CEO and board of the two, SSOH and BCRSF. I would advise that you give your money to a bona fide charitable organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Wasting at least 30 minutes investigating the dubious appeal of this solicitation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Insist on full compliance for annual financial reporting in the various states in which they're presently registered as charities.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers