Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
12.66667345
Write A Review
September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

I have been looking for a place to send a guy down on his luck. He needs and wants a job. As of today he is homeless and not sure where to start to get help. I am going to take him to this facility as I read the review form the the lady in West University. I also live in West U and if i find this is indeed a place that really really helps the homeless I will also donate to them and I will urge my friends to do so. I will post my findings tomorrow 9/9/12

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2012

In early December 2011, an article in the West University Examiner newspaper highlighted the SEARCH organization. Immediately I was inspired, impressed and grateful for this group’s work to serve the homeless Houston citizens. I have a strong personal belief that individuals are all capable of anything in life. However, there are times and situations which create a gap in the resources or abilities of that individual to rise to their greatest good. SEARCH stood out right away because it was one centralized “help desk” for individuals of our community to find and fit a resource or skill into their own life to rise to his/her greatest good. This organization knows how to meet a client where they are at in life and bridge the gap. The range of support, comfort and learning is broad from this group; and served first with understanding and dignity. After reading about the organization and making a first in-kind donation to their program, I connected with two employees of the organization who were kind, friendly and welcoming. I was invited to tour the center and learn more about the program first hand. This tour was more amazing, helpful and touching than the newspaper article, it encompassed the program in a whole new light. The facility is efficient, clean, organized, client friendly, up-beat and simply a marvel with regard to the range of needs they can meet. A client can connect with services to meet a full range of needs from the most basic, too involved and very complex. This organization is worth the time, money and resources any donor and/or volunteer is considering giving. The giver will have an open heart moment of learning and compassion. The time, money, and donated resources will go directly to our Houston citizens in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was employee of this organization and am here to say that employees are treated much differently than clients. I was discriminated due to a mental illness disability and was offered no adjustment to the job when I revealed my bipolar diagnosis. This non-profit needs to have some adjustments in the way they treat employees.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the inappropriate manner in which I was treated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have sensitivity training mandatory and have attorneys advice staff on how to work with employees with a disability

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers