Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.689665
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

It’s truly a pleasure and honor for me to meet the road of Service For Peace. My love for community service started in 2004 when I established Service For Peace in Cote d’Ivoire. That is the beginning of my commitment to become an Agent of change, a Peacemaker to make a difference in people’s life in Africa. In 2007, we opened offices in Ghana, Sierra Leone, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya and Gambia. Travelling up and down in communities in Africa, I understood that the major problem of that beautiful part of the world is EDUCATION. Children (the future of a country) in rural communities have no access to good education lack of facilities, school supplies and resources. Our actions in communities where we worked, provided to children not only what they need to attend school in good conditions but gave them hope to dream big. For example in Cote d’Ivoire, we renovated 2 kindergartens and 6 primary schools and donated school supplies to the kids. Every year, those facilities open its doors for the happiness of 1,500 students. I experienced cultural exchange by welcoming people as volunteers to our projects from diverse culture of all over the world.
We acted as well in conflict resolution. In 2007, with Service For Peace, we opened a PeaceMaking training center in Bouake, Cote d’Ivoire (the HQ of the ex rebels), which trained up to now, more than 500 PeaceMakers and Changemakers. Those agents were trained in Culture of Peace, conflict resolutions and Community development.
Today, Im more than grateful to serve people in such a wonderful organization. The way is still long since a lot need to be done but I can say that I also worked the path of those who make a DIFFERENCE.

Philbert Seka
Regional Director West Africa
Service For Peace

Videos

The Changing Picture

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I worked with Service For Peace in Nairobi for a river cleanup in the Pumwani Area where the organization was conducting a River Clean up Project towards better Water Quality.
The Activity:
10-5 volunteers will performed a flash dance and shared public service announcements centered on
clean water and promoting the water clean-up event in Pumwani, Kenya. 5 volunteers distributed Service For Peace and Sustainatopia fliers and shared information on location; time and event details of the Pumwani area clean up.
We invited media to highlight event, as well as post pictures on Facebook, highlight on Twitter and share on Youtube. The main event was a Nairobi River Clean up and tree planting activity where 200 plus Kenyans, including SFP, GPC, GPFF and GPYC staff, volunteers and community members came together to:
•Clean up a portion of Nairobi River in Pumwani, Kenya.
•Orient Pumwani community inhabitants and project participants about the impact of a clean river.
•Post pictures on Facebook and tweet the river clean up drive using respective Social Media platforms.
•Distribute fliers about Sustainatopia and Service for Peace among community members and program participants.
•Plant 200 or more tree seedlings along Nairobi River in Pumwani, Kenya.

Elaine W. Hurt, Service for Peace & GP Connect!
email: ehurt@globalpeaceconnect.org

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I had often heard about volunteer programs. And in 2009, I served with Service For Peace and had the opportunity to learn about their volunteer programs starting with the Martin Luther King program that runs across the US and their international Global PeaceMaker program advanced in Africa, Latin America/Carribean, Europe and Asia. Through Service For Peace I was able to really understood the transformation that a volunteer program can have in driving development and impacting individuals, families and their community. The model that Service For Peace advances is broken down in a manner that is practical and applicable, and one that can be a force in building ownership and generating resource from within the communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I visited few project sites of SFPN in Sarlahi, Nepal as a new member of GP Connect Nepal Team. I found that SFP Nepal has done a lot of work in different areas such as orphanage home, mobile libraries, mini libraries, women literacy classes etc. Most of these projects are targeted for children and women of the village. These projects have really helped children and women in the village to be literate and continue their studying habit. I could see the hard work of SFPN staffs in implementing these projects and also ensuring that they are running in a proper way all the time. However there needs to be a regular monitoring to all the project sites so that we know the problem they are facing and act quickly to solve it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I had the great fortune to attend a Global Peacemaker program in Israel and Palestine in 2010 which was really awesome! We had participants from the US, Austria and Turkey along with Israel and Palestinian volunteers which made it very enlightening. I have also worked with Service For Peace in Louisville Kentucky for 9 years and we host many community service projects and work to reduce crime and violence through conflict resolution.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 31, 2011

A great organization to work directly with communities in need. I have experience working with Communities of Peace in Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Honduras, and Guatemala. Most of the projects focu... more

June 19, 2012

My experience with Service For Peace in August 2005, was in the Global PeaceMakers Program in Dominican Republic. It was one of the most amazing, life-impacting experiences I had. I was able to have better understanding of a culture new to me, but also was able to see the important role, I had as a volunteer, in impacting the lives of the community members, but also the domestic volunteers that came from the community and surrounding communities. The relationships that were cultivated have been kept, and continues to amaze and inspire me the great dedication that all stakeholders have to foster positive change, progressive development, and leadership cultivation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2011

A great organization to work directly with communities in need. I have experience working with Communities of Peace in Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Honduras, and Guatemala. Most of the projects focus in primary education, however there are other opportunities in health, and environment. The international service programs are called Global Peacemaker, which bring together volunteers from the developed world and developing nations to serve a community in need. I learn much about culture but also the problems that developing communities face. I had a great experience in working together with others and creating long-term friendships across borders.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Honduras, and Guatemala

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

service, peace and leadership opportunities. also you have the opportunity to incorporate service-learning.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 24, 2009

more

December 24, 2009

Good practises on peace building and peace education in Mindanao, Philippines in 2009. Winner among the top 100 on Chase non profit support for charity in 2009 and best bridging organization between north and South Korea, via volunteering and service, developments projects.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

field projects

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Transformational experiences and service learning

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

super

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change local reality for good

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers