Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.689665
Write A Review
June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

Awesome organization. Folks really understand community based development and help others to understand and accomplish it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more funding so can be in more places.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

In Service for Peace (Dominican Republic), we worked on building a two room schoolhouse in Yamasa, DR. With the help of the whole community and the volunteer team we were able to complete the project within the allotted two weeks. SFP was planning to go back and build a second school house next summer. However, that didn't happen because the government itself, seeing the work that had been done, stepped in and funded the building of the second school house itself. It was a great thing to hear and I believe that this is what SFP aims for. For me, this is what is great about Service for Peace (Dominican Republic); it is an organization that KEEPS giving back and is able to spark a chain of changes. Many of the people who were in my group were from nearby or returning for a second or third time...and that says something. I will continued to be involved in SFP because I believe that organization really works through the communities, is effective, and is full of dedicated leaders (such as Janna Gullery and Joan Mateo who lead our group). I certainly will return. The experience led me towards my current studies---I hope to work for a company such as Service for Peace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

Service for Peace changed my life. I was a pretty depressing teenager with no actual goals in life. My first project with them was a week of service in the summer. Helping my community, learning to work in a team, seeing that I could have an affect on the world, it gave me hope. I came back the next year and to my surprise and delight they not only remembered me but also encouraged me to become a team leader. The people in this organization are absolutely amazing. They stood by me, encouraged me, challenged me and helped me find the confidence I needed to make a difference not only in my own community but also in other communities around the globe. I never imagined at 14 that I would ever have the courage or opportunity to renovate a school in the mountains of Nicaragua. I never even dreamed of being able to lead the group there but I did, just a few short years later. SFP got me there and seeing the faces of the kids we were helping in that little mountain village and the others like it in the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, and Honduras made the journey worth it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Had the most unforgettable, deep and fun international service experiences volunteering with Service For Peace! No other non-profit I know gives you a chance to serve alongside with members of the community. I had the pleasure of joining SFP Global PeaceMaker projects in Ivory Coast, Nicaragua and Honduras and it has been life changing to say the least. I am definitely joining many more projects!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I did not have a good experience in Services for Peace. However, Since I was there in 2009 til next month I have sent probably 25,000 dollars worth of goods. Two weeks as requested by Phil Seka, I sent hospital goods. He was quite precise and I have more goods to be shipped to him and a President of a major organization is going there and probably will bring even more books at my request. The program is piloted by extremely young people. I went there when I was 63 and treated very badly by these people. To the point my daughter wrote NY after I contacted her because these young people threatened my life. I went to town to buy shoes, pantees for the children and a 19 years older told me I did not have his permission and he was going to kick me in my a...... I was old enough to be his grandmother. Phil made him give me a public apology. If you want people to go there you must separate the kids from the seasoned adults. I did not go there to socialize. From the first day, I was treated badly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

My experience with this organization was life changing. From the staff to the community of peace, each individual played a significant role in shaping the person I am today--a globally focused young professional! Each day when we woke up during our service project in Honduras, I was ready for the new challenges, the arduous work and the impact I could have in the community at-large. My first time picking up a shovel and making cement blocks from scratch left an enduring impact in the way I see the world today--one brick at a time, we can build schools, increase security world wide, and help families unite! Service for Peace, and the values expressed by this service organization inspires me everyday to look for solutions and bring change to a world in need of hope!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

During my experiences in the Dominican Republic with Service For Peace, I witnessed complete strangers who do not share their language, culture, or beliefs, grow to appreciate each others' differences and work together to make positive change. How often do you hear of things like this happening in our world? It is a remarkable thing to be a part of. I would recommend this experience to any volunteer who wants to be a part of sustainable community driven development, genuinely experience a new culture, gain a family of volunteers, find oneself in a community thousands of miles from one's own, and grow as a global citizen and a human being.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Free, independent, connected, loved, accomplished

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

At a time in my life where I experienced significant growth I was fortunate for the opportunity to participate in Service for Peace's wonderful Dominican Republic trip. While I was there I learned the value of many lessons in life -- one of these was the sustainability of teamwork in accomplishing the goals of the trip. These relationships were strengthened by the group team-building activities we did every night. It was quite the experience. We were able to work with the community in the construction of two schools (I went twice) on a mutually reliant level. As i went twice, i noticed that the program efficiency and execution got better he second time around, indicating strong improvement. I have not participated in a few years, but based on the trends i observed, Service for Peace is heading in the right direction as one of the best organizations out there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

ok i will ready now to work and what to do in my self

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

Absolutely amazing life changing. I went to the Dominican Republic and built a school building with other volunteers that are still some of my closest friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers