Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.689665
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

At a time in my life where I experienced significant growth I was fortunate for the opportunity to participate in Service for Peace's wonderful Dominican Republic trip. While I was there I learned the value of many lessons in life -- one of these was the sustainability of teamwork in accomplishing the goals of the trip. These relationships were strengthened by the group team-building activities we did every night. It was quite the experience. We were able to work with the community in the construction of two schools (I went twice) on a mutually reliant level. As i went twice, i noticed that the program efficiency and execution got better he second time around, indicating strong improvement. I have not participated in a few years, but based on the trends i observed, Service for Peace is heading in the right direction as one of the best organizations out there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

ok i will ready now to work and what to do in my self

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

Absolutely amazing life changing. I went to the Dominican Republic and built a school building with other volunteers that are still some of my closest friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

I have volunteered with this organization for three years and have always had a meaningful experience. This organization is great because not only do you do physical work for the community but there are also activities to help you reflect and team build. You really build a bond with the people you meet and hear all kinds of incredible stories of where people have been and what they have done. On top of that you get to really experience the culture and the country you are in. You get to know the community, partake in their cultural activities as well as sight see. With Service for Peace you really get the whole package and come away as a more thoughtful and globally conscious person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I'm proud to have been part of the first wave working to establish the FSP model of service and community building in South Florida during the "Summer of Service" in 2003. Culturally diverse college and high school students worked together completing service projects in multicultural, multireligious communities. It was inspiring to see how barriers immediately came down, and relationships were forged. Through these service projects, Service For Peace reminds us what is at the core of human progress and understanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

Volunteering with Service For Peace, was a life changing experience for me. It was not just about building a school or giving to someone in need. It was about working together with the community and building bonds across the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I served with Service For Peace (SFP) in different locations. Being an IT guy, most of the work I did was online. However, in Jan 2012 I had a chance of physically participating in one a Global PeaceMaker program which is led and facilitated by SFP. This took place in a small community in the Dominican Republic and the goal was to build levees to protect the community from the flooding that had destroyed their homes the previous year. During this time, I saw the true meaning of Community Driven Development. I saw the true and honest dedication that the SFP team puts in development work. This was by far, one my best experiences in life and I urge anyone to take part in this program as it was very mind opening & life changing for me.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I had often heard about volunteer programs. And in 2009, I served with Service For Peace and had the opportunity to learn about their volunteer programs starting with the Martin Luther King program that runs across the US and their international Global PeaceMaker program advanced in Africa, Latin America/Carribean, Europe and Asia. Through Service For Peace I was able to really understood the transformation that a volunteer program can have in driving development and impacting individuals, families and their community. The model that Service For Peace advances is broken down in a manner that is practical and applicable, and one that can be a force in building ownership and generating resource from within the communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I visited few project sites of SFPN in Sarlahi, Nepal as a new member of GP Connect Nepal Team. I found that SFP Nepal has done a lot of work in different areas such as orphanage home, mobile libraries, mini libraries, women literacy classes etc. Most of these projects are targeted for children and women of the village. These projects have really helped children and women in the village to be literate and continue their studying habit. I could see the hard work of SFPN staffs in implementing these projects and also ensuring that they are running in a proper way all the time. However there needs to be a regular monitoring to all the project sites so that we know the problem they are facing and act quickly to solve it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

My first experience volunteering with Service For Peace was in Washington, DC in 2002. I did a month of service there and was greatly impacted by the passion behind the movement driving service and engagement--not just service for the sake of doing/feeling good. It was about creating a movement of change. I brought this home to NY and continued to grow as a leader for SFP and local service for years, until 2005, when I participated in my first Global PeaceMakers project in Frasquito Gomez, Dominican Republic. This experienced 100% transformed me and is so clearly responsible for who I am today so many ways. The idea of bringing together foreign volunteers and local volunteers to participate equally in a program was so simple but so unique; we formed a family despite language, cultural, religious differences and more. We were empowered through service and the communities where we served were empowered by our humility, our friendship, and our passion. Since then I have participated in many GPM programs around the world and am continuously impressed by the ingenuity and passion of the Communities of Peace where we work and the immense power created by breaking down barriers through shared voluntary service. I will always be an active advocate for SFP, the communities who are empowered through it, the volunteers who are changed because of it, and the mission of global peace through volunteerism and sustainable development.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers