Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1.615382345
Write A Review
May 4, 2014

more

May 4, 2014

The wife of "vidaliamillar" is just as guilty as Shula. Not taking care of the animals, using the donated funds for personal use. Seeing what was going on and helping her get by with it. Falsifying documents and receipts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They have been forced to close, but she needs to be locked away and not fed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2014

more

March 22, 2014

Shula of Serenity Horse Rescue certainly was a con artist. She accept money for the care of the horses, but not use it for the horses. She would use it for her personal use. She didn't have employment because why would she, when she had all the donations to live off of. She would comment "have to keep the horses looking skinny so people will feel sorry for them and donate more money". She would only feed them a handful of hay, so she could say she fed them. Shula chose certain horses, claimed them as their personal horses, but used the rescue donation money to take care of them. That was the only horses that got any care at all, and those still never got what they needed. But Shula sure purchased things for herself. Her and her 3 children lived off the rescue donations. Her forth daughter saw through Shula many years back and stopped having anything to do with her. She saw her for what she really was.

Any person who states anything positive for this rescue is just as bad as Shula and should have charges taken against them too.

If this rescue was so good and Shula did as she was suppose to and so honest, Why did the courts take the animals AND Shula had to close the rescue. Shula LOST the case and the public has WON justice against her.

Jury Trial she ask for, ha ha ha. Everyone knows her and has seen what she has done to those poor horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Starve her to death and then burn her under an old mattress, then half bury her so the wild animals would dig her up and eat her.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 22, 2014

more

March 22, 2014

Well those that thought she was legit, are proven WRONG. She was a thief, lier and a true con-artist, she was cruel to horses. She actually refused free vet service from a vet who offered free vaccinations for the horses. She scammed farriers and vets and owed big bills. I personally witnessed her falsify paperwork, receipts etc. When confronted her, she tries to play stupid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take Shula, lock her up and not feed or water her and make her lay in her own filth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2014

https://ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Briefing-Room/News-Releases/Charitable-Law/2014-02-20-Serenity-Horse-Rescue-AOD


The Ohio Attorney General required Serenity Horse Rescue and Shula Woodworth to sign an Assurance of Discontinuance on 2/12/2014 because the OAG has reason to believe
that the Ohio Charitable Organizations Act was violated by this rescue and its president Shula Woodworth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This rescue will be shut down as of February 28, 2014 and provide proof of its discontinuance to the Ohio Attorney General if it complies with the AOD that Shula Woodworth ,the president of Serenity Horse Rescue, signed on February 12, 2014.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 24, 2014

more

January 24, 2014

My wife volunteered at serenity horse rescue and the horses were fed and well cared for by shula woodworth and doc miller the vet and the volunteers some of these people with bad reviews on here are disgruntle employees and this matter is being handled by the court system at this time when these people started slandering serenity horse rescues owner shula woodworth they used the facebook name serenity horse rescue duped me and when shula got a attorney they closed the page funny huh and then started a new one called hopeless horses thinking they could get by secretly without us finding it but we did and believe me justice will be served by the court system we hope stay tuned for future updates by going to our page serenity horse rescue on facebook and while your there please like our page thank you !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing it is perfect

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Serenity mite love the animals but they are unable to take care of them in a proper way. Serenity in Tipp City Ohio was just raided and most of the animals were removed. The 17 horses were removed out of the 17, 5 were in pretty bad shape. The rest of the animals were not in as bad shape. The condition of the property was poor and thats being nice. Please anyone that is in need of help with their animals please do your research

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Shula Woodworth owner of Serenity Horse "Rescue" does not rescue Horse or any other animal, she hoards them, feeds only select ones and leave the rest to starve, She recently had all her animal removed by the Humane Society. Hopefully the animals in her care will recover as there were 10 or more horses with a rating of 1-2 and are critically ill. Please have no further dealing with this women in regards to animals, this was a charity org. with funds not used for the health of the animal, no vet care, some not fed at all, no hoof care, no grooming or rehab and very few were allowed to be adopted. She had large dogs that would attach the weaken horses, they were to weak to get away and fell to the ground, she would then have them shot and let them lay for scavengers to get to for days before burying in very shallow graves or just burning the carcass. Not a animal lover or a rescue but a way for her to cheat people and the state out of money!! Here current address was Tipp Ohio, she had moved from Springboro Ohio

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

She has up root now located in tipp city, ohio... State route 201. The horses does not have a stall they have no field to run or eat anything. They are no longer housed or have bedding. It is an opened shelter that is beat up, got holes and garbage all over it. Too many animals around and unable to care for them. She hoards and hoards all these animals and unable to care for all that she does have. 3 little puppies, 4 pigs, a calf, 15 horses, 4 geese, 3 alpacas, and a donkey.... All that on a 11.7 acre land.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

My daughter and I volunteered at SHR for six months. The owner is dedicated to helping horses. She and her children live a very modest life in order to devote their time and resources to the horses. We personally witness the devotion of all the volunteers to the care of the horses. We personally fed them daily. We personally saw the vet everytime one was needed. There would be no point to starting a horse rescue if they were not truly dedicated to helping horses. This is a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 19, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

she has horses she will not return they are mine she does not feed animals die no vet care our babie almost did there lack of care uses money from rescue for her own use bad rescue

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers