Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.3755
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

They are incredible! The volunteers are so hardworking and so thoughtful and take such good care of each individual horse. They are part of the community and are making such a difference in the lives of these horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! They are wonderful exactly the way they are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Serenity, like most underfunded non profits, has had to learn some painful lessons in how to operate as an organization, while staying focused on their mission and goals and accomplishing the daily work that has to be done. Some negative comments posted in the past are result of mistakes made, and some are just plain mean from folks who couldn't see the whole picture of what our director has had to sacrifice to maintain the wellbeing of the rescued horses on her farm.

Currently, Serenity is a well operated Equine rescue offering community service opportunities as well as an educational format for youth, adults and employers interested in team building strategies. I hope that anyone interested in volunteering will come to Serenity and form you own opinion of this amazing operation, and give compassionately from you heart to help support and find loving forever homes for our rescues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to rally more community support both in volunteers and financial donations, everything else is wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been volunteering at Serenity for almost 2mnths and have enjoyed every moment. He was laid off from his construction job, we found Serenity online and found it to be ran only by volunteers. This was only one thing of many that we found good about this setup. Everyone is hard working and works together. There is a system that everyone follows. The people volunteering there are from all different backgrounds and there for different reasons ranging from the love of horses and wanting to be around them to boarding them, trying to fill some sort of void, being active and exercise to the person having to give hours to the community with some community service. Nobody is there to judge and there are no certain clicks. I have a full time job but find myself there every morning on my day off to clean stalls, such comraderie and friendliness. You will make friends for life. Our son who is 16 even joins in from time to time. Now he can put it on his resume that he has done volunteer work. You can come and go as your schedule allows. All it takes is one Saturday morning to get oriented and you are set for work from fixing fences to cleaning stalls. From working with marketing or the volunteer organization team. Please come join us at Serenity, we welcome you and look forward to your help with these horses who have either been abandoned or abused.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Serenity on and off over the years due to surgeries related to age and not work done with horses. I have found this work to be rewarding and others at the farm to be a dedicated and a breath of fresh air. Patricia, the founder of Serenity is knowledgeable about horses and is very passionate about each horse and it's well being.

Like any organization there are those that stand behind everything and then those that find fault in everything. Politics are everywhere and unfortunately they can tarnish even the best intentions. I like, respect, and believe in what Serenity does on a daily basis and there is no doubt in my mind that there is sacrifice made at every level at Serenity, but when it comes down to it the goal is the same: animals and their welfare.

I encourage each reader to come to the farm for a tour and decide for yourself. You may even feel a calling to come and help out the horses with your smile, pets, or other gifts you may bring. This rescue makes a difference and it is evolving and doing great things every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help others understand how this organization works and the ongoing needs to keep it running smoothly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with Serenity every week for four years. I also fostered a couple of their rescues and ended up adopting one. The long term volunteers were the most dedicated group of big-hearted people I ever met, and Patricia, the Executive Director, is one of the most passionate and committed people I know. The welfare of the horses in her care is paramount and the horses have always been taken care of no matter what. Educating the community is also very important, as that is where problems can be averted or nipped in the bud. The rescue has suffered from the economic downturn and has had to limit the number of horses in its care as a result, but I would like nothing more than to see them thrive through a timely injection of funds and/or resources. The only reason I am not still volunteering there is because I moved out of state.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 1, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 1, 2013

Being involved with Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation for the past 2 years has changed my life. Witnessing the dedication of the volunteers, the gratitude and kindness of the horses that are in their care, and the healing power of selfless compassion is something that our world could definitely use more of. Serenity and its tireless director, Patricia Clark, never give up. Having witnessed some tense situations with neglectful owners and the seamless and dignified way that Patricia handled both the animal aspect and the human, was something that the worlds diplomatic corps would be wise to note.
The horses welfare always comes first. Each and every Equine resident at Serenity is treated as a valued and loved family member. The culture at Serenity, of compassion and patience toward each and every horse, is what dictates the volunteer roster. The human Serenity Family members are as happy to be there as the horses. Amidst the laughter and fresh baked cookies that seem in constant rotation in the barn, there is some very dirty and hard work being done. Having spent over half my life around horses, I have never seen a barn kept as clean and stalls as immaculately spotless as at Serenity. On freezing cold days, the spirit of camroderie and community is strong.
Money is always tight, but we are blessed with a crew of helpful, enterprising volunteers, and have had some fantastic fundraising events that brought even more community members to our family. In the new year, the emphasis at Serenity, in conjunction with our rescue work, will be furthering Equine education. Informed horse owners and riders make better welfare decisions for their animals.
The other wonderful benefit of working with Serenity has been witnessing the radical transformation that some of our volunteers have undergone... sometimes at the same time as the horse that they are caring for. The therapeutic nature of animals is well documented, and horses are particularly suited to providing a warm and loving, non judgemental and always open haven to spill tears and heal.
Every day I leave the barn happy, dirty and exhausted... and looking forward to the next time when I can be there. Our oldest volunteer is 91. Driving her home after she spent the afternoon grooming 4 horses, and seeing the joy she felt, the shining coats of our happy horses and Patricia's gracious gratitude for the help was such an inspiring experience. I will never forget it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 31, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
December 31, 2012

I am in my 40's, and had only been with out a horse in my life for about two years when I heard of Serenity from a friend who was helping out as a volunteer. Owning a horse just didn't fit into my situation at the time, as my husband experienced a catastrophic health event that devastated our finances.

Horses had been my escape and therapy since I was a child, not having that bond in my life created a void I desperately needed to fill, especially after tirelessly coping with my husbands illness and rehabilitation.

Serenity is not only a place where abandoned, abused or neglected horses can peacefully live and rehabilitate, but it is also a healing sanctuary for us horse loving humans to reconnect with the beauty that these amazing animals bring into our hectic lives.

After working as a volunteer at Serenity for a few months, I decided to get involved further and accept a seat on the Board of Directors. Working on the mission of Serenity has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. It warms my heart to know that I have been directly involved in protecting and re-homing about twenty displaced horses that otherwise would have probably been sent to slaughter or unnecessarily put down.

The high standards of consistent cleanliness and compassionate care are evident on a daily basis, and obvious as all the horses appear and act healthy and at peace. Rescue work is often a thankless job, but thanks to our incredible volunteers , we push through each day as it comes and try hard to show appreciation for all who contribute to this cause. Like most non-profits, not all has been perfect; making a few mistakes and learning from them is how most organizations learn to thrive. We strive to constantly improve our operations while continuing to focus on our mission and goals.

The unfortunate state of the US economy has forced many horse owners to abandon their equine friends, some tried to hold out as long as possible, usually leaving the horses in poor health and condition. Serenity was founded for these exact types of situations, as well as others. We are 100% dependent on charitable contributions to continue harboring and healing horses in need of a safe place to live until we can find them a loving forever home.

I ask that anyone who has a passion for horses, and their well being, to please find it in your heart to help Serenity continue our mission. Every contribution helps no matter how big or small, and is greatly appreciated.

Michelle Cherewatenko, M-LMP



More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 23, 2012

more

December 23, 2012

Serenity equine rescue is an amazing place. Its filled with hard workers that always put the horses first. The people there are very helpful, and the horses are well taken care of. Owning a rescue is a tasking job and I feel Patrice Clark does an amazing job with it, as well as all the volunteers that help keep it going. Overall serenity is a great place with fun, family, and mostly horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2012

Really dedicated to the welfare of the horses. All are well fed and the place is kept clean. The horses have the company of other herd members. They have space to move around and are not left in a stall all day long unless medically necessary. There are even two delightful pigs. The other volunteers range in age from the young and not so young, a fun group to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Given my recent personal experience with Serenity and its purpose I'm disappointed in those people placing negative comments here. I'm more disappointed in those individuals hiding behind pseudonyms; kind of like showing up at a protest in masked costume. I really don't put a lot of trust in negative reviews from people who don't use their real name and conceal their identity. In a way, it epitomizes what is wrong worldwide and is just another false flag of sorts; in this case cloaked provocation on a worthy cause with intent to harm. I wrote a blog,"Dr. Jekll and Mr. Hyde", recently on this type of attack, which you can read on the following website: http://amusingcommunityperspective.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/dr-jekyll-and-mr-hyde-are-pseudonyms/

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers