Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.324325
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation is a great place to work as a volunteer! All the people that work there (volunteers themselves) love working with the horses. Patricia Clark, who runs the rescue, is one of the most knowledgeable horse people I've ever met. She regularly gives classes teaching others how to care for horses and she works with the county and state governments to protect horses that are being abused or neglected.

If you are thinking about volunteering someplace you couldn't find a better place to do so. A knowledge of horses isn't needed as the people there will gladly show you what to do and you can take your time getting used to working around the horses. There is a need for all types of skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to find a way to advertise Serenity! We can always use more volunteers and corporate sponsors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I have been to several horse rescues and Serenity is definitely one of the best. They are well organized and the farm is very, very clean. Every horse is given the best of care. Each has a nutrition plan, regular veterinary and farrier care and is given lots of attention.
The volunteer
program is wonderful. Everyone works hard and enjoys each other and the opportuity to spend time with the horses. Great therapy!
The education program gives everyone an opportunity to learn about horse behavior, nutrition, and handling, and a number of different holistic approaches to health care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Serenity Equine rescue is a truly an inspirational place. I am a regular volunteer and spend about 4 days a week working there. Ever since my first day I have felt nothing but welcome and gratitude for me being there. Patricia the founder and owner has taught me so much in the short time I have been there.
All the horses are in amazing health and they have never had an animal become ill due to sanitary reasons. Everyone works extremely hard to make sure everything is the best it can be.
I have recently adopted one of the horses from the rescue and would not keep my horse anywhere but at the rescue. I have been in the equestrian scene for many years and this is by far of the most amazing facility I have ever seen. Everyone is fully committed to the work done here and genuinely want to and are making a difference in the community and the lives of these animals. They give the animals a fighting chance in a fight they would have lost on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My daughter is a volunteer and her participation has allowed me to see what a great service Serenity provides. Animals that would otherwise be destroyed are rescued and given new opportunities. These animals bring awareness to everyone who comes into contact with them. They are well cared for and have a great life

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help get the word out about the organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Serenity equine rescue and rehabilitation has raised my awareness about race horses and the damage it can do to young horses. Their facilities are clean and the horses a taken care of by wonderful volunteers who genuinely care about the well being of the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are a great organization just the way they are

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

They are incredible! The volunteers are so hardworking and so thoughtful and take such good care of each individual horse. They are part of the community and are making such a difference in the lives of these horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! They are wonderful exactly the way they are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Serenity, like most underfunded non profits, has had to learn some painful lessons in how to operate as an organization, while staying focused on their mission and goals and accomplishing the daily work that has to be done. Some negative comments posted in the past are result of mistakes made, and some are just plain mean from folks who couldn't see the whole picture of what our director has had to sacrifice to maintain the wellbeing of the rescued horses on her farm.

Currently, Serenity is a well operated Equine rescue offering community service opportunities as well as an educational format for youth, adults and employers interested in team building strategies. I hope that anyone interested in volunteering will come to Serenity and form you own opinion of this amazing operation, and give compassionately from you heart to help support and find loving forever homes for our rescues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to rally more community support both in volunteers and financial donations, everything else is wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been volunteering at Serenity for almost 2mnths and have enjoyed every moment. He was laid off from his construction job, we found Serenity online and found it to be ran only by volunteers. This was only one thing of many that we found good about this setup. Everyone is hard working and works together. There is a system that everyone follows. The people volunteering there are from all different backgrounds and there for different reasons ranging from the love of horses and wanting to be around them to boarding them, trying to fill some sort of void, being active and exercise to the person having to give hours to the community with some community service. Nobody is there to judge and there are no certain clicks. I have a full time job but find myself there every morning on my day off to clean stalls, such comraderie and friendliness. You will make friends for life. Our son who is 16 even joins in from time to time. Now he can put it on his resume that he has done volunteer work. You can come and go as your schedule allows. All it takes is one Saturday morning to get oriented and you are set for work from fixing fences to cleaning stalls. From working with marketing or the volunteer organization team. Please come join us at Serenity, we welcome you and look forward to your help with these horses who have either been abandoned or abused.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Serenity on and off over the years due to surgeries related to age and not work done with horses. I have found this work to be rewarding and others at the farm to be a dedicated and a breath of fresh air. Patricia, the founder of Serenity is knowledgeable about horses and is very passionate about each horse and it's well being.

Like any organization there are those that stand behind everything and then those that find fault in everything. Politics are everywhere and unfortunately they can tarnish even the best intentions. I like, respect, and believe in what Serenity does on a daily basis and there is no doubt in my mind that there is sacrifice made at every level at Serenity, but when it comes down to it the goal is the same: animals and their welfare.

I encourage each reader to come to the farm for a tour and decide for yourself. You may even feel a calling to come and help out the horses with your smile, pets, or other gifts you may bring. This rescue makes a difference and it is evolving and doing great things every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help others understand how this organization works and the ongoing needs to keep it running smoothly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with Serenity every week for four years. I also fostered a couple of their rescues and ended up adopting one. The long term volunteers were the most dedicated group of big-hearted people I ever met, and Patricia, the Executive Director, is one of the most passionate and committed people I know. The welfare of the horses in her care is paramount and the horses have always been taken care of no matter what. Educating the community is also very important, as that is where problems can be averted or nipped in the bud. The rescue has suffered from the economic downturn and has had to limit the number of horses in its care as a result, but I would like nothing more than to see them thrive through a timely injection of funds and/or resources. The only reason I am not still volunteering there is because I moved out of state.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers