Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.369575
Write A Review
July 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

A quiet place…and a healing one.
I am so thankful to have discovered Patricia and her beautiful rescue. I have been privileged to see the incredible process of healing and loving care of horses, along with the sometimes lengthy journey of finding these precious creatures “forever homes”. I have
learned so much from Patricia, and have been able to observe closely the painstaking individualized care that goes into each horse that has arrived there… some under terrible circumstances and near their end. One thing that I feel is important to note. Not only is this a place of healing for horses. It has also been a place of healing for me.
I lost my son in Afghanistan in January of 2012 in a negligent soldier on soldier homicide. My world was torn apart. There is really no describing here what the loss of a child is like and what it does to a family. I will say, though, that when I came as a volunteer almost a year ago…it was with uncertainty as to why I was even doing it. I knew in my heart, that I had to find some sort of place to start healing. I have always loved horses.
When I arrived and took Patricia’s horsemanship classes…I was a broken person. It was difficult to speak to anyone due to the fact that I had crawled into a black hole inside of myself for many months. Her classes were interesting and informative. Patricia was easy and approachable, and I felt welcome and valued from the start. I started volunteering four days a week and will say honestly, that from the beginning, it was purely for my own healing. Many mornings, I awoke with my heart so shattered that I could barely get up from my bed. I pushed myself to dress and get to my car and drive the 30 miles to Serenity. The horses, the rescue, never failed me. At first, it was a pure burning off of grief. Cleaning the barn and paddocks, laying out feed and soon bringing out the horses in the morning (after I had gained Patricia’s trust with them). I rarely spoke to other volunteers. It just hurt too much.
But the horses….
I felt peace and acceptance whenever they were near. Just a simple few minutes with “Dante”, and suddenly the world didn't look quite so harsh and scary. To observe their quiet simplicity, acceptance and trust of whatever lot or blow life had dealt them, this beautiful virtue I have learned from these horses. To see the perfection of these horses… helped me to remember the perfection of their creator. It has gone a long way in healing my relationship with God, one that had been wildly shattered by me at the death of my son. Dante… has seen me cry. And now… I know, when I head down to the lower fields after working for a few hours….Dante sees me and always heads over for some stroking and love. As I have touched, held and talked to the horses, grief has lifted, and purpose and value have entered into my spirit again..
Patricia originally bought and built the stable for her own horses and to take in a few boarders to help her in her retirement years. During the sudden event of a shutdown of an operation some years ago, she took in many horses and so the rescue began. The horses that are owned by Patricia were the original occupants. These horses, play an important role of providing stability to the rescues that come to the ranch. I find it amazing, that in all the skilled and heartfelt care that Patricia has put into the horses that have been fortunate enough to end up at her ranch, I don’t think she realizes the healing that is happening among-st some of us who are volunteers.
Serenity is a wonderful place to volunteer. Patricia has a genuine heart for the care of every horse that lands there. Coupled with her vast equine knowledge and willingness to teach, this truly is a worthy non-profit and a very special, healing place.
I gladly sign my name to this post. It is easy to criticize and hide behind the anonymity of the internet. Easy to stab quickly, and then retreat without giving the victim the benefit of a face to face discussion. It is easy for one to cause unwarranted damage and hurt to others when hidden in the vast frontier of those that post bitter blogs, but don’t have the courage to openly discuss and learn the truth before spewing irreversible, unwarranted “reviews”.
Charlotte Cox-Turner
Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation Volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Someone seriously needs to look carefully into Patricia's "rescue" program. The majority of the horses on the property are hers, not rescues. Many rescues are returned as they are not safe, sound or trained as advertised. The current plea seen on TV recently was for Patricia's gain, not the rescues. The barn which needs "work" rarely if at anytime houses rescue horses, but her own horses. The drainage near/in the barn is poor. Paddocks are rocky and muddy. Gotta hand it to Patricia, somehow she sold this "rescue" bit and is not only having her personal horses taken care of by volunteers but her home and property well taken care of from the pockets of innocent decent people trying to help a supposed "rescue" operation. Shame on you Patricia. Now if only one of the local TV stations would really look into this sham of a rescue vs. letting her go on camera and cry about needing her barn worked on. Skip volunteering at this "rescue" and put hours towards real therapy programs such as Lil Bit etc. Gee, if everyone could get away with hiding financials as well as Patricia we would all have our 11+ personal horses (oh, and pigs too) taken care of with free labor and not a dime of our own money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The work that Patricia and her group of volunteers do with animals that have been hurt, abandoned, and neglected is truly inspirational. I am so very proud to be a part of it.
My little sister and I were looking for a volunteer activity to do together. She found Serenity and we have now
been volunteering for a year. Over the course of that year, I have watched my sister grow from an awkward, shy person intimidated by the large horses to an incredibly confident young woman. She helps new volunteers and is the first one to jump on the tractor, to share the latest news on the horses, and to teach all that she has learned.
Serenity helps horses, but Serenity also helps people and I will always be grateful for what it has given back to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be able to spend more time at the barn and with the horses. There is always work to be done, and it seems that there are never quite enough hands to get it all accomplished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I found out about SERR on the news and reached out to see what I could do to help. I met with Brenda at the rescue and immediately fell in love with Patricia, the horses and the volunteers. When you see the before and after pictures of these beautiful horses and how clean everything is, you can imagine how much love, time and money is needed to make this happed. I'm completely addicted!!
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

I started volunteering with Serenity towards the end of the summer and it has honestly been life changing. Patricia and the staff (Brenda, Loreana, and many others) truly give 110% to this great cause and it's infectious. As another reviewer has mentioned, it is not only a sanctuary for horses but for people, as being around these beautiful creatures and seeing and hearing about all the success stories works its way into your heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Always in need of new volunteers! I personally can only make it out on the weekend and I know they are in need of more help during the week days!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a witness to a horse in my neighborhood living with neglect. I didn't know where to turn to help this poor animal. I'd never heard about a "horse rescue." It became clear to me that the owner was preoccupied with her own life and had lost interest in her horse. When I tried to discuss what I saw as neglect, the owner told me to mind my own business. Animal Control is not able to help large animals; they don't have the space needed to house them. So there seemed to be no good way to get help for Satin. I felt hopeful when I met Patricia Clark, the proprietor of Serenity Equine Rescue & Rehabilitation. She understood the situation, and helped me find a way to approach the owner. Just as I was losing patience the owner called Patricia and visited Serenity. She eventually agreed to release her horse to Serenity and from there things turned around quickly for Satin. After 6 months of having her needs met, she was once again able to be ridden. Eventually she was adopted by a loving family as a companion for their young horse. Satin's story is one of many wonderful stories that have been made possible through Serenity. I have volunteered there for the past 4 years as a way to show my gratitude for the good work they do. After seeing what good work Serenity did for Satin, I later intervened for two other neglected horses in my neighborhood. They were also released to Serenity. While these two have not yet found forever homes, their health and socialization have been greatly improved. I'm very glad that places such as Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation exist to help neglected horses. Sincerely, Naomi Rimbos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more volunteers willing to share the work of the farm. The work is sometimes hard. When it falls on a small number of core people, they must struggle to keep every horse clean and fed. But with additional volunteers, the chores could be divided among many, and the workload would be lighter. We are always trying to recruit new volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have been a volunteer with SERR since 2007/2008 until present. I have personally witnessed numerous success stories as Patricia Clark the sole proprietor of SERR nurtured and healed the broken bodies and souls of numerous horses lucky enough to find their way to SERR. Patricia leaves no stone unturned as she seeks to restore these beautiful animals. She oversees the entire operation of the farm, from feeding, treatments, to fence building. SERR has held on during times of economic downturn, and turmoil, because Patricia never gives up. Today, SERR provides communitywide education and wellness clinics to the public, offers weekly classes for new volunteers and continues to promote responsible equine ownership through stringent adoption processes. Through the years I have spent with SERR I have gained valuable knowledge and skills that have allowed me to adopt through SERR and reach my personal goal of a horse of my own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Flood SERR with more volunteers and financial resources!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Serenity has become an amazing home and sanctuary for everyone involved. This facility provides not only a rescue for the amazing horses, but a place for me to go and work on being more connected with myself and others. While I have been working here, I have seen amazing acts of kindness and passion towards these creatures. This only furthers my love for the people and animals which call Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation home. Its places like this that restore my faith in human kind, and make it possible to re-connect with ourselves and these amazing animals.

I currently work two days a week, primarily upkeep and feeding, as well as spending time with the horses. Each of them have different personalities, and I have truly enjoyed getting to know each and every horse. I look forward to continuing to work here, as it has made a huge impact on my life.

I would like to thank Patricia for having such an amazing sanctuary, and being so incredibly knowledgeable and kind towards every creature that walks through her gate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I were to make any changes, it would be to further the awareness of this facility so more people like myself could come and participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I have been to several horse rescues and Serenity is definitely one of the best. They are well organized and the farm is very, very clean. Every horse is given the best of care. Each has a nutrition plan, regular veterinary and farrier care and is given lots of attention.
The volunteer
program is wonderful. Everyone works hard and enjoys each other and the opportuity to spend time with the horses. Great therapy!
The education program gives everyone an opportunity to learn about horse behavior, nutrition, and handling, and a number of different holistic approaches to health care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Serenity Equine rescue is a truly an inspirational place. I am a regular volunteer and spend about 4 days a week working there. Ever since my first day I have felt nothing but welcome and gratitude for me being there. Patricia the founder and owner has taught me so much in the short time I have been there.
All the horses are in amazing health and they have never had an animal become ill due to sanitary reasons. Everyone works extremely hard to make sure everything is the best it can be.
I have recently adopted one of the horses from the rescue and would not keep my horse anywhere but at the rescue. I have been in the equestrian scene for many years and this is by far of the most amazing facility I have ever seen. Everyone is fully committed to the work done here and genuinely want to and are making a difference in the community and the lives of these animals. They give the animals a fighting chance in a fight they would have lost on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers