Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.3755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I found out about SERR on the news and reached out to see what I could do to help. I met with Brenda at the rescue and immediately fell in love with Patricia, the horses and the volunteers. When you see the before and after pictures of these beautiful horses and how clean everything is, you can imagine how much love, time and money is needed to make this happed. I'm completely addicted!!
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

I started volunteering with Serenity towards the end of the summer and it has honestly been life changing. Patricia and the staff (Brenda, Loreana, and many others) truly give 110% to this great cause and it's infectious. As another reviewer has mentioned, it is not only a sanctuary for horses but for people, as being around these beautiful creatures and seeing and hearing about all the success stories works its way into your heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Always in need of new volunteers! I personally can only make it out on the weekend and I know they are in need of more help during the week days!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Serenity is a great place to volunteer. Volunteer opportunities run the gamut from feeding to grooming to picking up after the horses. There is always someone there to explain why things are done a certain way and to teach you something you didn't already know about horses. There is also a series of "horsemanship" classes offered if you are interested in learning even more about these incredible animals. It is amazing to watch the horses, each with there own personality, interact with each other and with each volunteer. I support Serenity and will continue to do so.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would somehow develop a continuing source of income.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have been a volunteer with SERR since 2007/2008 until present. I have personally witnessed numerous success stories as Patricia Clark the sole proprietor of SERR nurtured and healed the broken bodies and souls of numerous horses lucky enough to find their way to SERR. Patricia leaves no stone unturned as she seeks to restore these beautiful animals. She oversees the entire operation of the farm, from feeding, treatments, to fence building. SERR has held on during times of economic downturn, and turmoil, because Patricia never gives up. Today, SERR provides communitywide education and wellness clinics to the public, offers weekly classes for new volunteers and continues to promote responsible equine ownership through stringent adoption processes. Through the years I have spent with SERR I have gained valuable knowledge and skills that have allowed me to adopt through SERR and reach my personal goal of a horse of my own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Flood SERR with more volunteers and financial resources!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Serenity has become an amazing home and sanctuary for everyone involved. This facility provides not only a rescue for the amazing horses, but a place for me to go and work on being more connected with myself and others. While I have been working here, I have seen amazing acts of kindness and passion towards these creatures. This only furthers my love for the people and animals which call Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation home. Its places like this that restore my faith in human kind, and make it possible to re-connect with ourselves and these amazing animals.

I currently work two days a week, primarily upkeep and feeding, as well as spending time with the horses. Each of them have different personalities, and I have truly enjoyed getting to know each and every horse. I look forward to continuing to work here, as it has made a huge impact on my life.

I would like to thank Patricia for having such an amazing sanctuary, and being so incredibly knowledgeable and kind towards every creature that walks through her gate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I were to make any changes, it would be to further the awareness of this facility so more people like myself could come and participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation is a great place to work as a volunteer! All the people that work there (volunteers themselves) love working with the horses. Patricia Clark, who runs the rescue, is one of the most knowledgeable horse people I've ever met. She regularly gives classes teaching others how to care for horses and she works with the county and state governments to protect horses that are being abused or neglected.

If you are thinking about volunteering someplace you couldn't find a better place to do so. A knowledge of horses isn't needed as the people there will gladly show you what to do and you can take your time getting used to working around the horses. There is a need for all types of skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to find a way to advertise Serenity! We can always use more volunteers and corporate sponsors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I have been to several horse rescues and Serenity is definitely one of the best. They are well organized and the farm is very, very clean. Every horse is given the best of care. Each has a nutrition plan, regular veterinary and farrier care and is given lots of attention.
The volunteer
program is wonderful. Everyone works hard and enjoys each other and the opportuity to spend time with the horses. Great therapy!
The education program gives everyone an opportunity to learn about horse behavior, nutrition, and handling, and a number of different holistic approaches to health care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Serenity Equine rescue is a truly an inspirational place. I am a regular volunteer and spend about 4 days a week working there. Ever since my first day I have felt nothing but welcome and gratitude for me being there. Patricia the founder and owner has taught me so much in the short time I have been there.
All the horses are in amazing health and they have never had an animal become ill due to sanitary reasons. Everyone works extremely hard to make sure everything is the best it can be.
I have recently adopted one of the horses from the rescue and would not keep my horse anywhere but at the rescue. I have been in the equestrian scene for many years and this is by far of the most amazing facility I have ever seen. Everyone is fully committed to the work done here and genuinely want to and are making a difference in the community and the lives of these animals. They give the animals a fighting chance in a fight they would have lost on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My daughter is a volunteer and her participation has allowed me to see what a great service Serenity provides. Animals that would otherwise be destroyed are rescued and given new opportunities. These animals bring awareness to everyone who comes into contact with them. They are well cared for and have a great life

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help get the word out about the organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Serenity equine rescue and rehabilitation has raised my awareness about race horses and the damage it can do to young horses. Their facilities are clean and the horses a taken care of by wonderful volunteers who genuinely care about the well being of the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are a great organization just the way they are

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers