Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.431825
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My journey with Serenity began by signing up for the classes that Patricia Clark teaches on horsemanship. I highly recommend them if you wish to glean insight and understanding of horses from someone who has spent her life caring for and working with them on a holistic level. I knew after the first class that the care and well-being of the wonderful horses at Serenity were of the highest standard and I have been working in the barn, volunteering and learning from Patricia, other volunteers and the animals themselves ever since. Though the physical work can be demanding, there is an inherent, reciprocal benefit to spending time at the rescue that cannot be marked or measured. Creating relationships with these most magnificent animals, some of whom have endured the neglect and unkindness of humans, is a gift in itself. They are more willing to trust and be present than any other type of animal I have worked with in my volunteer history, and there is a team of us that are dedicated to the well being of each other and every animal (including pigs!) connected to Serenity. I love this place and the opportunities granted for people and horses to build relationship and help each other grow and thrive.
October 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Darren & I have been volunteering at Serenity for 18 months. It is a wonderful experience to see the sick and mis-treated arrive and slowly blossom back into fun loving, sweet healthy horses again, then onto their new forever homes with a second chance at life. I have learned so much, not just dealing with horses but the wonderful positive and healing effects that have on people. It's great to watch new volunteers with no experience discover the wonders of horses and watch their knowledge grow into confidence and understanding.
October 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation for about 1 ½ years. I had nearly no knowledge of the “horse” when I arrived as a new volunteer. I gained my "horse education" on site at Serenity through the classes offered by Patricia. These classes encompassed alot of information. I learned many aspects of horse care, such as anatomy, digestion, diseases, nutrition, horse behavior, nature and habits, grooming, and rehabilitation of abused, injured and neglected horses. Listening to Patricia's stories of her many experiences, was both enjoyable and enlightening. I highly recommend the classes offered by Patricia. Even if you have a horse, the knowledge is valuable.

Patricia would answer any question I would ask her, no matter how busy she is, so I could gain knowledge and understanding of these wonderful animals. Then the "on hands" work, mucking stalls, cleaning paddocks, getting morning feed to the horses, and turn out of the horses from the barn, getting blankets on the horses during the cold, fly masks on during the heat, learning how to trailer horses, a challenge in itself, ibut its gets done. I have had opportunities at Serenity I believe would not have anywhere else volunteering. A new meaning to the word “patience” and "caffine free drinks for me only". Also, becoming one of the operators of Serenity's big green machine (tractor), has been a fun bonus. Working in the corporate world, that green machine would bring anyone back to reality! Thanks to volunteer Vern for making sure our green machine keeps on going and going and going.

Not only from Patricia, I have also received a tremendous amount of knowledge of horse care and handling, from Brenda, and Linda and Darren at Serenity. All of these very experienced horse loving individuals are truly amazing and dedicated to Serenity and I admire everything they do and have done at Serenity. All their hard work doesnt go unnoticed, just look at the horses!. Needless to say, I am very thankful for them spending time with me, giving me knowledge and direction, also in the arena working with the horses. Always learning.

At Serenity, the horses and animals absolutely come first. Having witnessed the arrival of some of the rescued horses and the horrible condition they were in and see the results of Patricia’s dedication, her compassion, her knowledge and giving of holistic care, meds, specialized and proper nutrition, and loving concern, some 3 or more months later, is nothing short of remarkable. Dental, chiropractic, massage, medications, supplements, corrective trimming and hoof care, ..you name it, if they need it, they get it, even at 2:00 a.m. Patricia is out in the barn doing what needs to be done. Her consistency amazes me. I have seen many horses transform into a complete different animal who understands that they have a second chance at life, because of Patricia. And because so much time, love and effort is put into each rescue, Patricia’s contract and contacts are tight...she wants to make sure that every horse onsite, never has to suffer abuse or neglect again. Patricia has a very special way with the horses and they can feel it. Just look into the eyes of each of the horses on the property, its truly amazing.

One simply cannot fathom just how much light that the volunteers at Serenity bring to the facility. I must say that I have never worked with a more dedicated, loyal and fun group of volunteers. I have found that not only are the volunteers kind, caring, and giving, but over time we all become part of a great volunteer family. I have made several friendships with many of the volunteers and am very grateful for this.

Importantly, I believe that every volunteer at Serenity are each determined to make a difference in the lives of all the horses, healthy and no so healthy. I, as with so many volunteers, do our hard work, through rain, wind, snow and the hot summer sun. Some of us drive long distances to be at Serenity, getting there early in the morning to clean paddocks, help Patricia with getting the morning feed and mashes ready, feeding all the different hays, etc. special diets several horses are on, cleaning the stalls, water pails and troughs, and those volunteers that stay late for the night feed, preparation of special mashes, and getting the horses from their pastures to return to the barn for the night. Then helping with maintenance of the facility, always work to be done with fencing, repairs to the barn, and grounds. Its good hard work.

Of course there are ups and downs in caring for all the horses. Caring for them needs to be done every day, morning and night. Volunteers come and go. But those of us volunteers that stay, and out of their day commit a little time here and there, or alot of time to help Patricia with the horses at Serenity, are the volunteers that quickly learn that in some funny, silent kind of way, they find a that special connection, a quiet peace, a gaining joy, and often times, laughter in each of the horses’ personalities. And the horses at Serenity do have personalities, can't help but love them all. And when a new rescue is brought to the facility, Patricia gives again, 100% heart and soul, as with other volunteers that are there by her side helping, more than the words "hard work" can define. So returns that tireless effort around the clock care, then that connection, peace, joy and laughter, begins all over again. I don't know anyone that could keep that pace and dedication daily.

The bonding that I have got to experience, not to mention I believe every volunteer gets, with one or more of the horses after their few hours or day of volunteering at Serenity, is unexplanable. I see it when I am there and I sense it. And we all do our part, not because we have to, but because we WANT to. Sure that can be said on behalf of all the volunteers.

I look around at all the hard work Patricia, and not to mention Dr. Deward (a big shout out for him!), and all of the other volunteers who bring these horses back from near horrible situations, and it is only then that I realize that I spend time in a very special, beautiful place, a place that is very grounding, and makes you a better person for being there.

Accompanied by our two barn pigs, Sophie and Peanut, our little mini's Blu and Stormy, and Patricia's helping hand, dog Max, and Ms. Piggy, at the end of the day, the place called Serenity is filled with plain old good farm love, and the fresh air is free!. And it doesn't matter if a horse has been at Serenity for a week, month or year or more, the ones that are available for adoption all deserve to find a good forever home, a safe place to be. Until those special homes are found, those ready horses will continue to be well cared for and loved at Serenity by Patricia and the volunteers.

Patricia is an amazing woman who has opened her heart and home and given so much of her time, to unwanted, badly treated, and abused horses. Now thats a HERO in the horse world.

I recommend becoming a volunteer at Serenity to anyone, even if you never had been near a horse, it warms the heart and strengthens ones soul. Now Starbucks cannot give anything close to that feeling to anyone!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure there would be funding for Patricia to get a well deserved vacation, a vacation that trades barn boots for flip flops.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I have been a volunteer at Serenity for 2 1/2 years and have highly recommended it to friends as a volunteer opportunity. These wonderful horses (and pigs too!) are a pleasure to be around. I have seen the tireless work that Patrica and the other volunteers put into keeping these beautiful animals healthy and happy. Some of the horses were in extremely poor condition when they came here and it's wonderful to see them restored to good health! Patrica's knowledge and the good Veterinary care they recieve is impressive to say the least. The extra bonus for me has been the opportunity to make some great new friends and I've learned so much about taking care of horses! I never get tired of coming here...not to mention it's also a great workout :-)

Karen
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

Serenity is a great place to volunteer. Volunteer opportunities run the gamut from feeding to grooming to picking up after the horses. There is always someone there to explain why things are done a ... more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been volunteering at Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation, SERR, for almost two years. We have been able to keep active and engaged in our retirement by working side by side with equally committed volunteers doing the mundane, picking poo in the paddocks to the more interesting: fixing fences; hanging lights; and installing a new solenoid valve for the pump. This work keeps us young!
And the horses, oh, the horses. To witness the the recovery of a horse that has come in frightened and malnourished is amazing. There really is nothing like sharing in his journey from poor health to recovery to adoption. SERR will provide you with all the training needed to do the many chores needing to get done. Come join the family, get to know the horses and make a difference in their lives and yours.
October 23, 2013

Serenity is a great place to volunteer. Volunteer opportunities run the gamut from feeding to grooming to picking up after the horses. There is always someone there to explain why things are done a certain way and to teach you something you didn't already know about horses. There is also a series of "horsemanship" classes offered if you are interested in learning even more about these incredible animals. It is amazing to watch the horses, each with there own personality, interact with each other and with each volunteer. I support Serenity and will continue to do so.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would somehow develop a continuing source of income.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 11, 2013

Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation is a great place to work as a volunteer! All the people that work there (volunteers themselves) love working with the horses. Patricia Clark, who runs the ... more

October 7, 2014

Serenity is a great place to volunteer and it doesn't matter what your skills are; there is always something you can do; from cleaning stalls and paddocks to fixing fences or driving a tractor or just picking up rocks, there is always something. Patricia holds periodic classes on the proper care and feeding of horses. If you don't know how to do something someone is always around to teach you. There are before and after photos of the horses that show how much proper feeding, love and care can make. One of the latest arrivals is Spirit; a gorgeous older gelding that was severely under weight when he came to us. After months of care (that included Patricia getting up every few hours nightly for months to feed him) he has blossomed into the sweetest horse you will ever be around! This is one of the best places to donate your time or money you can find.

October 11, 2013

Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation is a great place to work as a volunteer! All the people that work there (volunteers themselves) love working with the horses. Patricia Clark, who runs the rescue, is one of the most knowledgeable horse people I've ever met. She regularly gives classes teaching others how to care for horses and she works with the county and state governments to protect horses that are being abused or neglected.

If you are thinking about volunteering someplace you couldn't find a better place to do so. A knowledge of horses isn't needed as the people there will gladly show you what to do and you can take your time getting used to working around the horses. There is a need for all types of skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to find a way to advertise Serenity! We can always use more volunteers and corporate sponsors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a lover and rider of horses, since I was very young, growing up around friends’ horses, across the street from stables, in the hills of Morgan Hill, Northern California. As life happens and we get busy, I placed this strong, innate interest that brought me such comfort and a smile, to the side, got married, raised a family, etc. Though, in the back of my mind and heart, my love for them was still very present, time just hadn’t been on my side to pursue having one of my own or exploring that world more and again. Until one day......

I had the television on in the background at home, and a horse rescue show came on. I stopped the housecleaning I was doing, as what was being aired immediately had my full attention. It was about a place of help, healing, refuge and shelter - and it only took me a minute of this television show - and the lightbulb went off. I immediately began Googling horse rescues in my area, found Serenity Equine Rescue & Rehabilitation (SERR) and made contact. Unbeknownst to me, it would become the best day of a new, amazing chapter in my life.

July of 2014, my new journey began, helping horses and giving back in a way I had never thought of or considered before. Up until this time, it had never even crossed my mind, that I could selflessly give my passion of horses that was so dear to me back, via a cause of being a part of their own path, from pain to healing, wholeness and happiness.

During my time here, I have never witnessed an organization and someone that gives the utmost in knowledge, commitment, care, love, respect and quality of life to horses as I do in Patricia Clark, the owner, and at this horse rescue. The standards of excellence and quality of care in every aspect of SERR are 100% plus. The horses lack nothing and get the best affection and attention in the world, from everyone who is a part of this rescue team.

Each and every volunteer I have ever met or encountered has such heart and beautiful souls for what they do to help. It is an honor and privilege to be a part of that and more importantly, a part of making a difference in the life and well-being of horses that have been harmed, neglected, abandoned, or had brushes of death with kill pens. At Serenity, I never have any moment of doubt that any of them are unwanted. We celebrate their existence.

Horses are such amazing, intelligent, resilient, insightful, forgiving creatures. It is an honor and blessing I have the air to breath to get to help them. It is an honor and blessing I get to help heal them. It is an honor and blessing I get to actively, socially, engage with them. It is an honor and blessing I get to love on them. But what is even more amazing is what is learned from them, every time I am there.

We give a lot to them, but even in the midst of all they have been through, they give back so, so much more. Horse as Teacher. Yes, this is what they give to us, without even realizing it. They are our mirror, if we will only look at the reflection and remain present and aware.

Every day I step foot on the farm, I get so excited and filled with joy - to interact and shine bright for them. I can only hope and pray, there will be one fine day, where they will be able to truly grasp the profound realization of what a tremendous gift of light, love, healing and difference maker they have been and are to me, in return.
September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

In response to the review that smyhes wrote, it is concerning that people with bad experiences are able to trash a non-profit without giving the least bit of documentation for their claims.
I currently volunteer at Serenity and have not once been treated badly at the facility. Patricia has
very set ways of wanting the facility cleaned and taken care of, and has no qualms about voicing that. As she has every right to be, at the end of the day it is her that is responsible for the horses. Each day the stalls are mucked out, fresh bedding is laid, waters are scrubbed and filled, and the appropriate feeding is given. The paddocks additionally are cleaned out daily.
The benefit for 'Raising the Barn' is not being done to benefit anyone but the horses, at the command of the city per their statutes. There is only 1 barn on the property and all horses are housed there. Make no doubt, it is a barn and not the Waldorf. However during the rainy season, the heat of summer, or during the snowfall - I have not once been drenched while working in the barn. The horses hooves keep dry and their feed is placed on the inside of the stall so moisture impacts it.
Serenity might not be the most fancy rescue around, but it is filled with love, kindness, and care of neglected and abused animals. That is what the foundation of any rescue is. If Patricia was rolling around in a brand new Escalade instead of her old pickup, I would be the first to raise questions. But I have no doubt that Patricia and the volunteers there are doing this labor of love simply for that - love for the horses.
July 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

A quiet place…and a healing one.
I am so thankful to have discovered Patricia and her beautiful rescue. I have been privileged to see the incredible process of healing and loving care of horses, along with the sometimes lengthy journey of finding these precious creatures “forever homes”. I have
learned so much from Patricia, and have been able to observe closely the painstaking individualized care that goes into each horse that has arrived there… some under terrible circumstances and near their end. One thing that I feel is important to note. Not only is this a place of healing for horses. It has also been a place of healing for me.
I lost my son in Afghanistan in January of 2012 in a negligent soldier on soldier homicide. My world was torn apart. There is really no describing here what the loss of a child is like and what it does to a family. I will say, though, that when I came as a volunteer almost a year ago…it was with uncertainty as to why I was even doing it. I knew in my heart, that I had to find some sort of place to start healing. I have always loved horses.
When I arrived and took Patricia’s horsemanship classes…I was a broken person. It was difficult to speak to anyone due to the fact that I had crawled into a black hole inside of myself for many months. Her classes were interesting and informative. Patricia was easy and approachable, and I felt welcome and valued from the start. I started volunteering four days a week and will say honestly, that from the beginning, it was purely for my own healing. Many mornings, I awoke with my heart so shattered that I could barely get up from my bed. I pushed myself to dress and get to my car and drive the 30 miles to Serenity. The horses, the rescue, never failed me. At first, it was a pure burning off of grief. Cleaning the barn and paddocks, laying out feed and soon bringing out the horses in the morning (after I had gained Patricia’s trust with them). I rarely spoke to other volunteers. It just hurt too much.
But the horses….
I felt peace and acceptance whenever they were near. Just a simple few minutes with “Dante”, and suddenly the world didn't look quite so harsh and scary. To observe their quiet simplicity, acceptance and trust of whatever lot or blow life had dealt them, this beautiful virtue I have learned from these horses. To see the perfection of these horses… helped me to remember the perfection of their creator. It has gone a long way in healing my relationship with God, one that had been wildly shattered by me at the death of my son. Dante… has seen me cry. And now… I know, when I head down to the lower fields after working for a few hours….Dante sees me and always heads over for some stroking and love. As I have touched, held and talked to the horses, grief has lifted, and purpose and value have entered into my spirit again..
Patricia originally bought and built the stable for her own horses and to take in a few boarders to help her in her retirement years. During the sudden event of a shutdown of an operation some years ago, she took in many horses and so the rescue began. The horses that are owned by Patricia were the original occupants. These horses, play an important role of providing stability to the rescues that come to the ranch. I find it amazing, that in all the skilled and heartfelt care that Patricia has put into the horses that have been fortunate enough to end up at her ranch, I don’t think she realizes the healing that is happening among-st some of us who are volunteers.
Serenity is a wonderful place to volunteer. Patricia has a genuine heart for the care of every horse that lands there. Coupled with her vast equine knowledge and willingness to teach, this truly is a worthy non-profit and a very special, healing place.
I gladly sign my name to this post. It is easy to criticize and hide behind the anonymity of the internet. Easy to stab quickly, and then retreat without giving the victim the benefit of a face to face discussion. It is easy for one to cause unwarranted damage and hurt to others when hidden in the vast frontier of those that post bitter blogs, but don’t have the courage to openly discuss and learn the truth before spewing irreversible, unwarranted “reviews”.
Charlotte Cox-Turner
Serenity Equine Rescue and Rehabilitation Volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Someone seriously needs to look carefully into Patricia's "rescue" program. The majority of the horses on the property are hers, not rescues. Many rescues are returned as they are not safe, sound or trained as advertised. The current plea seen on TV recently was for Patricia's gain, not the rescues. The barn which needs "work" rarely if at anytime houses rescue horses, but her own horses. The drainage near/in the barn is poor. Paddocks are rocky and muddy. Gotta hand it to Patricia, somehow she sold this "rescue" bit and is not only having her personal horses taken care of by volunteers but her home and property well taken care of from the pockets of innocent decent people trying to help a supposed "rescue" operation. Shame on you Patricia. Now if only one of the local TV stations would really look into this sham of a rescue vs. letting her go on camera and cry about needing her barn worked on. Skip volunteering at this "rescue" and put hours towards real therapy programs such as Lil Bit etc. Gee, if everyone could get away with hiding financials as well as Patricia we would all have our 11+ personal horses (oh, and pigs too) taken care of with free labor and not a dime of our own money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers