Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.955
Write A Review
December 9, 2014

more

December 9, 2014

This is a great place for people to share what they are going through and to get the support from others who can light a candle in a dark place. I am a sepsis survivor who was having trouble coping with all the stuff that follows after a disease like this. After searching online and finding their website i felt that this had to be one of the best support sites ive ever found. As soon as my story was published messages started flooding in from others that have gone through or are going through the stuff i have been struggling with. Please keep up the awesome work you people are dojng to get awareness out there for this aweful diseaee.
November 13, 2014

more

November 13, 2014

The Sepsis Alliance provides a great service in getting the message out to all medical & general public about the warning signals of Sepsis & the dangers.

We need to do more to find ways to cure this, & the Sepsis Alliance is leading the way. Great job!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My beautiful 15 year-old daughter, Mallory, died from sepsis 17 days after critical injuries suffered in a car accident. I am a nurse and have cared for septic patients, never dreaming I would lose my own precious child from the complication of infections. This is not a reflection of my daughter’s care. Mal had superb care; she was monitored for infections and immediately treated. We were told the very first day she could die from an infection in 3 weeks. I was introduced to the sepsis alliance when I was invited to attend the sepsis campaign kick-off after sharing Mallory's story with someone sponsoring a sepsis table of materials at a conference I attended. I cannot overstate how impressed I am with the Sepsis Alliance and their goal to educate medical professionals and the general public about the importance of rapid recognition and treatment of sepsis. At my request, the Sepsis Alliance generously brought their Sepsis Awareness Month Colorado Bus Tour Event to our small rural hospital in NE CO and spent several hours educating both the medical professionals and the general public. The event was educational and the medical simulation staff was so knowledgeable and engaged – the staff is still talking about it. I have no doubt that the campaign and the Sepsis Alliance's objective to increase sepsis awareness will save many lives.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

More people need to know the word Sepsis in order to stop its high mortality rate. Even medical professionals are not clear on diagnosing and treating sepsis. I was in septic shock and one emergency physician was ready to release me. Had it not been for the night shift physician coming in and reviewing my chart, I would not be here today. After six days in ICU and 2 in step down, I am thankful to be a survivor. "SAY SEPSIS. SAVE LIVES."
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sepsis Alliance is definitely a great resource. I came across this organization after my husband passed away from sepsis on 12/21/2013, caused by the common flu. He was 3 days from his 38th birthday. I had no idea what sepsis was before then. Sepsis alliance does a great job with raising awareness through various methods of information and resources. I find that the printable "Spot Sepsis" cards they have on their site, is one of the many ways they help save lives.

I thank sepsis alliance for creating awareness and wish them all the best in their endeavors!

Yadira T. New York

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The Sepsis Alliance website has been an excellent source of information for me and my family. I found the Sepsis Alliance website in February when my dad was first diagnosed with sepsis. The website was incredibly informative and gave me a lot of information about sepsis. The website also helped me formulate questions to ask my dad's medical team. It is helpful to know that there is a larger community working to educate the public regarding the warning signs of sepsis. Until my dad's diagnosis with it, I had never heard of sepsis. Unfortunately it was sepsis that was the cause of my dad's death in March. I still remember reading his death certificate: "sepsis, cause unknown" and feeling shocked. Watching the avalanche of sepsis take over a loved one's body is devastating. I appreciate the work that Sepsis Alliance had done and continues to do to create awareness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow a place in the tribute and survivor stories for people to leave a comment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Two years ago I didn't know what Septic Shock was and clearly see that I was lucky with many different illnesses due to ignoring chronic symptoms. Thanks to Sepsis Alliance, their informative, educational and caring outreach is reaching their number one goal, saving lives.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 16, 2012

Sepsis Alliance continues its amazing work to raise awareness of Sepsis, a condition often overlooked, unheard of by patients and treated too late. Sepsis kills about 260,000 people per year in the U... more

August 1, 2014

Sepsis Alliance. I cannot possibly say enough good things about this nonprofit.

I lost my dear Mom to Sepsis in 2010. I didn't understand what it was. I thought it was "blood poisoning." Sepsis can be caused by blood poisoning or any infection anywhere in the body, but it is really a
syndrome, a series of events.

I have learned so much about Sepsis from the wonderful people at Sepsis Alliance. The Sepsis Alliance website has a wealth of information about this condition.

The Sepsis Alliance Facebook page is an awesome source of information as well, but even more, it allows you to interact with survivors of Sepsis and other people who have lost a loved one to this fast-moving, insidious thing - Sepsis.

Sepsis is one of the most little-known killers in the minds of most people. Most have no idea what it is and how, seemingly out of nowhere, it can kill with lightning speed or leave survivors with devastating side effects.

I don't know where I'd be today if I had not found Sepsis Alliance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to the organization but if I could I would be more involved. My job leaves so little time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 16, 2012

Sepsis Alliance continues its amazing work to raise awareness of Sepsis, a condition often overlooked, unheard of by patients and treated too late. Sepsis kills about 260,000 people per year in the United States alone, yet most people don't know what it is or what to look for in recognizing it. Sepsis is a medical emergency which requires immediate care in a hospital emergency room, usually followed by further care in an ICU unit. Sepsis Alliance's website has incredible resources and videos to educate the public on this horrifying condition and a wonderful, supportive Facebook page which is open to survivors of Sepsis, families and friends of those who did or did not survive and any interested party. It is a truly worthy cause and has changed my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Sepsis Alliance has given a whole new purpose to my life: to help spread awareness of Sepsis and Septic Shock, a condition not many have heard of, but which kills 258,000 people in the US every year. After the death of my Mom due to Septic Shock, I found Sepsis Alliance on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/sepsisalliance and I felt empowered to help spread the word about this horrible illness which affects so many people. The work Sepsis Alliance does is amazing and I'm proud to help in any way I can. This is my Mom's story, from "Faces of Sepsis" on Sepsis Alliance's website, which is http://www.sepsisalliance.org/ : "I saw my Mom, Joyce Przybylski, on Saturday, May 8, 2010, the day before Mothers Day. I brought her a card and chocolates. She had a chill. Nothing more. No fever, no wounds, no indwelling catheters. "Just" a chill.

I asked her if she wanted to go to the doctor to get checked out (she was 73). She said "Oh, goodness no Larry, I'm sure it's just a 24-hour thing, but thank you for asking, honey." Then she smiled. Mom always smiled.

I called her the next day and she said she thought she felt somewhat better but assured me that if she didn't feel totally better by the next day, Monday, she would go to the doctor. She sounded completely lucid. The next morning, my Dad called me at work. He was crying. He said that I should get to their local hospital right away (a Level 1 Trauma Center, by the way), that Mom was "in really bad shape." When I got there, Mom knew who I was, was talking and certainly didn't look, to me, like she would never recover. The doctors said she was in septic shock but I didn't comprehend what they were talking about. They did explain it to us, but I still didn't "get it."

After stabilizing Mom the best they could in the ER, they took her to the ICU. Later that day, within one hour or so, she went from talking and even smiling a bit, to being in an induced coma, having a ventilator, eight IV bags going through infusion pumps, being on kidney dialysis, receiving blood plasma, and it goes on and on. The medical staff tried so hard.

Two days later, the team of doctors tending to Mom around the clock told us that she had a "near zero" chance of recovery and to prepare ourselves the best we could for her passing. I called for the Priest Chaplain who came and gave Mom the Last Rites of the Church, which was a great comfort to me and was something Mom would have wanted. Not long after that, she passed from this life. My Mom was the sweetest, most loving, kind and accepting woman I have ever known. Never in my wildest nightmare could I have foreseen the ravages this disease causes."

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

My husband went into Septic Shock and passed away June 2013. I was on edge for 2 and 1/2 months with the ups and downs of sepsis and all that one goes through. It was not until after he passed when I came upon the Sepsis Alliance website where I was able to read and study the process, the survivors, the loss and the stories. This sight has helped me with my grief process. I went to many grief counselings and nothing helped. Sepsis Alliance has helped me tremendously, I have met so many wonderful loving people who bring each other comfort. I thank Sepsis Alliance for allowing me to share my story, perhaps help others if I can. Excellent program

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Sepsis Alliance puts forth the most effort possible in informing the general population about a toxic response infection that many are unfortunately in the dark about. The content of the Sepsis Alliance website is clear, concise, and informative beyond compare. After reading the other reviews, especially reviews by those sharing stories about surviving sepsis, and how the Sepsis Alliance has helped them become more informed about the disease, I felt I needed to say my piece. I wish more non-profits were as active in their communities as Sepsis Alliance is within theirs. Few non-profits put forth the time and effort necessary to have such an amazing group of members be so involved in a community, all in hopes of educating and helping others.

I will not only start donating more to Sepsis Alliance in the coming year, but I will make sure that my friends and family become more informed with regards to the infection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers