Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.942315
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

Sepsis alliance provided information for me in multiple times of uncertainty. The stories whether for a tribute or survivor allowed me to feel less alone in my sickness. Additionally being able to understand that after-effects I was experiencing weren't terribly out-of-the-ordinary was a relief. I appreciate sepsis alliance and their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more research on this often fatal illness

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Sepsis? What is that? Well in 2011, at the age of 61, I found out when sepsis attacked me. I was one of the fortunate ones. I left the hospital after fighting for my life, with all of my limbs, all of my organs and most importantly, with my life! I was indeed fortunate because the health care workers at my local hospital had immediately recognized the symptoms of sepsis when I presented myself in the ER. But I only had a vague idea of what sepsis was. I certainly was not aware that sepsis maims and kills. I didn't know when I got to the ER
I was within two hours of death.

The day before I had a kidney stone removed on an outpatient basis at another hospital. I had the same procedure several other times and thought I knew what to expect in the way of discomfort and pain following the surgery. As a precaution, I had my husband and son read the discharge sheet of instructions regarding adverse symptoms that might appear while I was recuperating.
This time, things didn't follow the normal course of recuperation. I slept poorly that night and experienced moderate pain. But that is what I expected following the extraction of a large kidney stone. What I didn't expect was an increase in the severity of the pain and the onset of a fever. My son was immediately concerned when he realized that over the course of a half hour that my temperature was climbing. This was one of the adverse symptoms mentioned on the surgical discharge sheet. I wasn't concerned, but I realized later that my mental state had already been compromised and I wasn't capable of making wise decisions. My son insisted that I go to the ER for immediate attention. His insistence literally saved my life.

Sepsis was ramping up in my body. By the time I was admitted, I had a very high fever, I was disoriented and had difficulty breathing. The first couple of days in ICU are difficult to remember. I had dangerously low blood pressure, pneumonia, E-coli and yeast infection throughout my body. I remember being very weepy and irrationally angry. I had no control over my emotions. Modern medicine and a great nursing staff pulled me back from the brink of death. Ten days later I returned home to recuperate.

I didn't know what to expect after surviving sepsis. That is when I went online and eventually found The Sepsis Alliance site. I read all about sepsis. You might say that Sepsis Alliance provided me with an education regarding sepsis, considering that my previous knowledge had been meager. I am grateful to find Sepsis Alliance and equip myself with vital information regarding sepsis and what to expect in my life after sepsis.

Reading the personal accounts of other survivors has been invaluable to me. The accounts of those who didn't survive is heartbreaking. I am convinced that the death rate due to sepsis could be lowered if only there was more awareness of sepsis. That awareness needs to be on all levels: both in the general community and in the medical community. We all need to be aware of sepsis and to be educated about this disease.
We all need to know what immediate actions need to be taken to combat sepsis. It is a horrible, terrifying experience. Sepsis maims, kills and forever changes our lives. The Sepsis Alliance site is the only place I found to be waging that war against the ignorance many of us have regarding sepsis. Sepsis Alliance reaches out to everyone to warn us about this little known disease.

Thses days I find myself returning to the Sepsis Alliance site searching for more and more information about life after sepsis. I have many symptoms that have appeared post-sepsis and questions about their connection to sepsis. At Sepsis Alliance I have discovered that there is a connection between sepsis and post traumatic stress disease. Knowledge is a powerful tool in recovery. The work of The Sepsis Alliance has meant a lot to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more visible. I wish every doctor, every nurse, every mother and father would be familiar with Sepsis Alliance. I wish Sepsis Alliance could advertise on TV, radio, magazines and billboards. Why? Because we all need to be aware of SEPSIS. The greater our awareness, the more lives will be saved! The greater the awareness, the less limbs will be lost! The greater the awareness, the fewer people will suffer kidney damage. The greater the awareness, the greater the survival rate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

As a nurse and patient, I found this site extremely helpful for myself as well as my family. I was diagnosed with Septic shock in Jan. 2014, and was admitted to the ICU. My blood pressure was extremely low, and I needed medication and fluid boluses to survive. After a few days, the doctors found a kidney stone blocking the flow of my urine. I immediately went to surgery, and had a stent placed. After 4 days in the ICU, I was transferred to a Med-Surg floor. My recovery has been a slow process. Sepsis Alliance has helped me and my family to understand my recovery. The effects of Septic shock: extreme fatigue, sleepless nights, and depression were explained though this web site. Its been 6 months and I suffer from memory loss, inability to concentrate and difficulty in organizing my thoughts. I hope that I can make a difference in telling my story to other survivors and the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open forums

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

In March 2014 I went to the doctor not feeling well for a few months. Upon arrival it was determined I needed to be seen at the ER due to extremely low blood pressure. After a few hours in the ER I was then transferred to a specialty hospital and admitted to the ICU for septic shock. The next few days were a blur it wasn't until after my illness I discovered the Sepsis Alliance website. It has been a huge help in my recovery knowing what I could/can expect during the recovery process as well as help to educate me and others on the signs and symptoms of sepsis. Reading others survival stories were very helpful knowing I was not alone in this!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 40 year old husband died of sepsis October 20, 2012, leaving me a 35 year old widow and his 2 children 3 and 9 months old fatherless. Sepsis Alliance has been there for me since I first told them about my beloved husband, Jeff. His story just went live today on there website:
http://www.sepsisalliance.org/faces/jeffrey_davis/
I will help them raise awareness so ER's catch this deadly infection quicker when time is so critical. The mortality rate for sepsis goes up 8% every hour it goes undiagnosed!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Two years ago I went to surgery center for simple outpatient procedure..Week later woke up in icu with heart attack,blood clots in lungs,kidney failure..Took hospital too long to figure out what was wrong with me..Time wasted equals more damage..I have learned so much from the sepsis alliance..Doctors don't give you any info,neither did the hospital..God bless them for spreading the word..As a woman in my 50's I can say I never heard of it until it happened to me..The info the alliance gives out saves so many lives..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the power to spread the word on sepsis to every hospital and doctor in the world..Sepsis is everywhere..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

The Sepsis Alliance gave me footing in very unsettled ground; a place to start from as I began learning about sepsis after a personal experience with sepsis and septic shock in January of 2012. Not only was the SA a place to start and work from, it was clearly the place to return to, regularly, for current and up to date information. The Sepsis Alliance, founded by Dr. Carl Flatley, is The Nucleus of sepsis information; a reliable center for learning and teaching. I'm grateful to all who are involved with efforts to raise awareness of sepsis. ~ Paige

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

(expand into Canada ...just a thought) ;)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This site helped me understand that I am not the only person who survived SEPSIS and that the post symtoms I had are shared by many people who survive SEPSIS. I hope this continues to educate people, the general public and researchers who work to spread the SEPSIS does not have to be a deadly disease but a disease that can be caught in its early stages and be treated quickly and effectively.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers