Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.942315
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

As a survivor of septis I cannot thank Sepsis Alliance enough they answered so many questions that no one else could understand let alone answer. I'm now back working, found that lost confidence, and understand how to live with fortunately only the small things Sepsis has left behind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I am a Septic Shock survivor who experienced the horrific ordeal 18 years ago in 1996 and at a time when even fewer people than today had even heard of it. After a recent move to San Francisco the UCSF Medical Center staff brought to my attention how much more prevalent Sepsis and Septic Shock have become so I felt compelled to contact Sepsis Alliance to inquire about how I could help in the way of creating awareness and education. From my first communication and interaction with the President, a board member and the staff medical writer I was very impressed with how much I was respected and appreciated for wanting to help in any way I can. The Sepsis Alliance team is the most professional and caring group of individuals who are genuine in their mission to help all those affected by Sepsis & Septic Shock including survivors, families and the medical professionals who must deal with this medical emergency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I developed a meningococcal infection in July 2011 that triggered septic shock, and nearly killed me. Fortunately, I recovered well. In March 2012, a friend sent me a link to the "Sepsis: Emergency" video produced by Sepsis Alliance (SA), and so I contact the organization to see how I could become involved. Within hours of my writing to them, I received a response from the founder, who was at that moment in Europe at a conference, and he welcomed my participation. Through Sepsis Alliance, I found a vehicle through which I could share my story and help spread the word which begins with: "Suspect Sepsis. Save Lives." I've since shared my story on the SA and other websites, made presentations to community and public health organizations, and participated in a national SA webinar. I plan to continue spreading awareness of sepsis for as long as I am able. SA has saved thousands of lives, and has the promise to save hundreds of thousands more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide SA with more funding so that they can spread awareness of this public health menace faster and farther.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

My sister, Erin, died from sepsis on April 30th 2002. She developed sepsis after having a simple, outpatient procedure! At the time of her death, I had never heard the word sepsis before. A huge part of me died with her that day and my life has never been the same! She passed away 4 months before my wedding and 2 weeks before my birthday. Erin was young, just 23 years old. She was pretty, smart, fun, loving, kind and loyal. Her zest for life was contagious and she is missed everyday by so many of us who loved her! My father, Carl Flatley, founded the Sepsis Alliance shortly after her death and I marvel at what it has become today! I am so proud to be a part of this great organization that is truly saving lives! Awareness of sepsis is key in reducing the death rate from this equal opportunity killer! Suspect Sepsis, Save Lives and Limbs!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I nearly passed of Sepsis in May 2009. I am a single mother of 2. I am blessed to be alive. However, there have been complications. I felt like my concerns were not being heard. In June 2012, I was perusing videos on Sepsis within YouTube. I was blessed and stumbled upon Dr. James O'Brien's video. I was compelled by how informative his video was. I then took a chance and reached out. Dr. O'Brien personally returned my call. He validated a lot of my concerns. He suggested connecting with the Sepsis Alliance. I did by submitting my story under Faces of Sepsis. www.sepsisalliance.org/faces/angie_lembo/ I started to network with other Survivors, family members of those lost to Sepsis. Finally, I felt validated. Then, on Sept 13, 2012, Sepsis Heroes Gala in NYC. I was honored to be present and volunteer by "tweeting" on the event. Moreover, I was honored to just be present. The experience gave me goosebumps. To hear and meet such wonderful people who are devoted to Sepsis Awareness gave me hope. And, the drive and motivation to spread Sepsis Awareness. Before, I felt like a leper. I've encountered both MD's and EMT's that when you mention Sepsis, they have a befuddled look on their faces. A big Congratulations to The Sepsis Alliance for receiving the Edwards LifeSciences Grant! The Sepsis Alliance needs to be #1 for 2012! ~Angie Lembo, Sepsis Survivor

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers