Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.957455
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

As a survivor of septis I cannot thank Sepsis Alliance enough they answered so many questions that no one else could understand let alone answer. I'm now back working, found that lost confidence, and understand how to live with fortunately only the small things Sepsis has left behind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

My husband went into Septic Shock and passed away June 2013. I was on edge for 2 and 1/2 months with the ups and downs of sepsis and all that one goes through. It was not until after he passed when I came upon the Sepsis Alliance website where I was able to read and study the process, the survivors, the loss and the stories. This sight has helped me with my grief process. I went to many grief counselings and nothing helped. Sepsis Alliance has helped me tremendously, I have met so many wonderful loving people who bring each other comfort. I thank Sepsis Alliance for allowing me to share my story, perhaps help others if I can. Excellent program

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I am a Septic Shock survivor who experienced the horrific ordeal 18 years ago in 1996 and at a time when even fewer people than today had even heard of it. After a recent move to San Francisco the UCSF Medical Center staff brought to my attention how much more prevalent Sepsis and Septic Shock have become so I felt compelled to contact Sepsis Alliance to inquire about how I could help in the way of creating awareness and education. From my first communication and interaction with the President, a board member and the staff medical writer I was very impressed with how much I was respected and appreciated for wanting to help in any way I can. The Sepsis Alliance team is the most professional and caring group of individuals who are genuine in their mission to help all those affected by Sepsis & Septic Shock including survivors, families and the medical professionals who must deal with this medical emergency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Sepsis? What is that? Well in 2011, at the age of 61, I found out when sepsis attacked me. I was one of the fortunate ones. I left the hospital after fighting for my life, with all of my limbs, all of my organs and most importantly, with my life! I was indeed fortunate because the health care workers at my local hospital had immediately recognized the symptoms of sepsis when I presented myself in the ER. But I only had a vague idea of what sepsis was. I certainly was not aware that sepsis maims and kills. I didn't know when I got to the ER
I was within two hours of death.

The day before I had a kidney stone removed on an outpatient basis at another hospital. I had the same procedure several other times and thought I knew what to expect in the way of discomfort and pain following the surgery. As a precaution, I had my husband and son read the discharge sheet of instructions regarding adverse symptoms that might appear while I was recuperating.
This time, things didn't follow the normal course of recuperation. I slept poorly that night and experienced moderate pain. But that is what I expected following the extraction of a large kidney stone. What I didn't expect was an increase in the severity of the pain and the onset of a fever. My son was immediately concerned when he realized that over the course of a half hour that my temperature was climbing. This was one of the adverse symptoms mentioned on the surgical discharge sheet. I wasn't concerned, but I realized later that my mental state had already been compromised and I wasn't capable of making wise decisions. My son insisted that I go to the ER for immediate attention. His insistence literally saved my life.

Sepsis was ramping up in my body. By the time I was admitted, I had a very high fever, I was disoriented and had difficulty breathing. The first couple of days in ICU are difficult to remember. I had dangerously low blood pressure, pneumonia, E-coli and yeast infection throughout my body. I remember being very weepy and irrationally angry. I had no control over my emotions. Modern medicine and a great nursing staff pulled me back from the brink of death. Ten days later I returned home to recuperate.

I didn't know what to expect after surviving sepsis. That is when I went online and eventually found The Sepsis Alliance site. I read all about sepsis. You might say that Sepsis Alliance provided me with an education regarding sepsis, considering that my previous knowledge had been meager. I am grateful to find Sepsis Alliance and equip myself with vital information regarding sepsis and what to expect in my life after sepsis.

Reading the personal accounts of other survivors has been invaluable to me. The accounts of those who didn't survive is heartbreaking. I am convinced that the death rate due to sepsis could be lowered if only there was more awareness of sepsis. That awareness needs to be on all levels: both in the general community and in the medical community. We all need to be aware of sepsis and to be educated about this disease.
We all need to know what immediate actions need to be taken to combat sepsis. It is a horrible, terrifying experience. Sepsis maims, kills and forever changes our lives. The Sepsis Alliance site is the only place I found to be waging that war against the ignorance many of us have regarding sepsis. Sepsis Alliance reaches out to everyone to warn us about this little known disease.

Thses days I find myself returning to the Sepsis Alliance site searching for more and more information about life after sepsis. I have many symptoms that have appeared post-sepsis and questions about their connection to sepsis. At Sepsis Alliance I have discovered that there is a connection between sepsis and post traumatic stress disease. Knowledge is a powerful tool in recovery. The work of The Sepsis Alliance has meant a lot to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more visible. I wish every doctor, every nurse, every mother and father would be familiar with Sepsis Alliance. I wish Sepsis Alliance could advertise on TV, radio, magazines and billboards. Why? Because we all need to be aware of SEPSIS. The greater our awareness, the more lives will be saved! The greater the awareness, the less limbs will be lost! The greater the awareness, the fewer people will suffer kidney damage. The greater the awareness, the greater the survival rate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

As a nurse and patient, I found this site extremely helpful for myself as well as my family. I was diagnosed with Septic shock in Jan. 2014, and was admitted to the ICU. My blood pressure was extremely low, and I needed medication and fluid boluses to survive. After a few days, the doctors found a kidney stone blocking the flow of my urine. I immediately went to surgery, and had a stent placed. After 4 days in the ICU, I was transferred to a Med-Surg floor. My recovery has been a slow process. Sepsis Alliance has helped me and my family to understand my recovery. The effects of Septic shock: extreme fatigue, sleepless nights, and depression were explained though this web site. Its been 6 months and I suffer from memory loss, inability to concentrate and difficulty in organizing my thoughts. I hope that I can make a difference in telling my story to other survivors and the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open forums

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

As both a nurse and a patient, I have turned to this charity for multiple reasons.
The education provided is wonderful, and the support I have received as a patient has been invaluable.
This illness will absolutely knock you down in a heartbeat. This charity lets you know you are not alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I'm a medical writer, and I find this organization very helpful for information. Sepsis is a condition that does not receive anywhere near enough attention.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

My 15 year old daughter passed away from Sepsis in July, 2013. Before this, I had never heard of Sepsis. After doing searches on-line, I came across Sepsis Alliance and read everything on their website. I've donated in honor of my daughter's memory because I know that they are putting funds to good use by raising awareness with the medical community and the public. More people need to know about this deadly disease since it takes more lives per year than most illnesses. Knowing the signs and symptoms as well as saying the word out loud to personal physicians may save loved ones. I'm so thankful for everything that this organization is doing and I am looking forward to participating in future fund raising events.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Sepsis Alliance puts forth the most effort possible in informing the general population about a toxic response infection that many are unfortunately in the dark about. The content of the Sepsis Alliance website is clear, concise, and informative beyond compare. After reading the other reviews, especially reviews by those sharing stories about surviving sepsis, and how the Sepsis Alliance has helped them become more informed about the disease, I felt I needed to say my piece. I wish more non-profits were as active in their communities as Sepsis Alliance is within theirs. Few non-profits put forth the time and effort necessary to have such an amazing group of members be so involved in a community, all in hopes of educating and helping others.

I will not only start donating more to Sepsis Alliance in the coming year, but I will make sure that my friends and family become more informed with regards to the infection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

In March 2014 I went to the doctor not feeling well for a few months. Upon arrival it was determined I needed to be seen at the ER due to extremely low blood pressure. After a few hours in the ER I was then transferred to a specialty hospital and admitted to the ICU for septic shock. The next few days were a blur it wasn't until after my illness I discovered the Sepsis Alliance website. It has been a huge help in my recovery knowing what I could/can expect during the recovery process as well as help to educate me and others on the signs and symptoms of sepsis. Reading others survival stories were very helpful knowing I was not alone in this!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers