Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.942315
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sepsis Alliance is definitely a great resource. I came across this organization after my husband passed away from sepsis on 12/21/2013, caused by the common flu. He was 3 days from his 38th birthday. I had no idea what sepsis was before then. Sepsis alliance does a great job with raising awareness through various methods of information and resources. I find that the printable "Spot Sepsis" cards they have on their site, is one of the many ways they help save lives.

I thank sepsis alliance for creating awareness and wish them all the best in their endeavors!

Yadira T. New York

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The Sepsis Alliance website has been an excellent source of information for me and my family. I found the Sepsis Alliance website in February when my dad was first diagnosed with sepsis. The website was incredibly informative and gave me a lot of information about sepsis. The website also helped me formulate questions to ask my dad's medical team. It is helpful to know that there is a larger community working to educate the public regarding the warning signs of sepsis. Until my dad's diagnosis with it, I had never heard of sepsis. Unfortunately it was sepsis that was the cause of my dad's death in March. I still remember reading his death certificate: "sepsis, cause unknown" and feeling shocked. Watching the avalanche of sepsis take over a loved one's body is devastating. I appreciate the work that Sepsis Alliance had done and continues to do to create awareness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow a place in the tribute and survivor stories for people to leave a comment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

Sepsis alliance provided information for me in multiple times of uncertainty. The stories whether for a tribute or survivor allowed me to feel less alone in my sickness. Additionally being able to understand that after-effects I was experiencing weren't terribly out-of-the-ordinary was a relief. I appreciate sepsis alliance and their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more research on this often fatal illness

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Two years ago I didn't know what Septic Shock was and clearly see that I was lucky with many different illnesses due to ignoring chronic symptoms. Thanks to Sepsis Alliance, their informative, educational and caring outreach is reaching their number one goal, saving lives.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 16, 2012

Sepsis Alliance continues its amazing work to raise awareness of Sepsis, a condition often overlooked, unheard of by patients and treated too late. Sepsis kills about 260,000 people per year in the U... more

August 1, 2014

Sepsis Alliance. I cannot possibly say enough good things about this nonprofit.

I lost my dear Mom to Sepsis in 2010. I didn't understand what it was. I thought it was "blood poisoning." Sepsis can be caused by blood poisoning or any infection anywhere in the body, but it is really a
syndrome, a series of events.

I have learned so much about Sepsis from the wonderful people at Sepsis Alliance. The Sepsis Alliance website has a wealth of information about this condition.

The Sepsis Alliance Facebook page is an awesome source of information as well, but even more, it allows you to interact with survivors of Sepsis and other people who have lost a loved one to this fast-moving, insidious thing - Sepsis.

Sepsis is one of the most little-known killers in the minds of most people. Most have no idea what it is and how, seemingly out of nowhere, it can kill with lightning speed or leave survivors with devastating side effects.

I don't know where I'd be today if I had not found Sepsis Alliance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to the organization but if I could I would be more involved. My job leaves so little time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 16, 2012

Sepsis Alliance continues its amazing work to raise awareness of Sepsis, a condition often overlooked, unheard of by patients and treated too late. Sepsis kills about 260,000 people per year in the United States alone, yet most people don't know what it is or what to look for in recognizing it. Sepsis is a medical emergency which requires immediate care in a hospital emergency room, usually followed by further care in an ICU unit. Sepsis Alliance's website has incredible resources and videos to educate the public on this horrifying condition and a wonderful, supportive Facebook page which is open to survivors of Sepsis, families and friends of those who did or did not survive and any interested party. It is a truly worthy cause and has changed my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Sepsis Alliance has given a whole new purpose to my life: to help spread awareness of Sepsis and Septic Shock, a condition not many have heard of, but which kills 258,000 people in the US every year. After the death of my Mom due to Septic Shock, I found Sepsis Alliance on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/sepsisalliance and I felt empowered to help spread the word about this horrible illness which affects so many people. The work Sepsis Alliance does is amazing and I'm proud to help in any way I can. This is my Mom's story, from "Faces of Sepsis" on Sepsis Alliance's website, which is http://www.sepsisalliance.org/ : "I saw my Mom, Joyce Przybylski, on Saturday, May 8, 2010, the day before Mothers Day. I brought her a card and chocolates. She had a chill. Nothing more. No fever, no wounds, no indwelling catheters. "Just" a chill.

I asked her if she wanted to go to the doctor to get checked out (she was 73). She said "Oh, goodness no Larry, I'm sure it's just a 24-hour thing, but thank you for asking, honey." Then she smiled. Mom always smiled.

I called her the next day and she said she thought she felt somewhat better but assured me that if she didn't feel totally better by the next day, Monday, she would go to the doctor. She sounded completely lucid. The next morning, my Dad called me at work. He was crying. He said that I should get to their local hospital right away (a Level 1 Trauma Center, by the way), that Mom was "in really bad shape." When I got there, Mom knew who I was, was talking and certainly didn't look, to me, like she would never recover. The doctors said she was in septic shock but I didn't comprehend what they were talking about. They did explain it to us, but I still didn't "get it."

After stabilizing Mom the best they could in the ER, they took her to the ICU. Later that day, within one hour or so, she went from talking and even smiling a bit, to being in an induced coma, having a ventilator, eight IV bags going through infusion pumps, being on kidney dialysis, receiving blood plasma, and it goes on and on. The medical staff tried so hard.

Two days later, the team of doctors tending to Mom around the clock told us that she had a "near zero" chance of recovery and to prepare ourselves the best we could for her passing. I called for the Priest Chaplain who came and gave Mom the Last Rites of the Church, which was a great comfort to me and was something Mom would have wanted. Not long after that, she passed from this life. My Mom was the sweetest, most loving, kind and accepting woman I have ever known. Never in my wildest nightmare could I have foreseen the ravages this disease causes."

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

As a survivor of septis I cannot thank Sepsis Alliance enough they answered so many questions that no one else could understand let alone answer. I'm now back working, found that lost confidence, and understand how to live with fortunately only the small things Sepsis has left behind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

My husband went into Septic Shock and passed away June 2013. I was on edge for 2 and 1/2 months with the ups and downs of sepsis and all that one goes through. It was not until after he passed when I came upon the Sepsis Alliance website where I was able to read and study the process, the survivors, the loss and the stories. This sight has helped me with my grief process. I went to many grief counselings and nothing helped. Sepsis Alliance has helped me tremendously, I have met so many wonderful loving people who bring each other comfort. I thank Sepsis Alliance for allowing me to share my story, perhaps help others if I can. Excellent program

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I am a Septic Shock survivor who experienced the horrific ordeal 18 years ago in 1996 and at a time when even fewer people than today had even heard of it. After a recent move to San Francisco the UCSF Medical Center staff brought to my attention how much more prevalent Sepsis and Septic Shock have become so I felt compelled to contact Sepsis Alliance to inquire about how I could help in the way of creating awareness and education. From my first communication and interaction with the President, a board member and the staff medical writer I was very impressed with how much I was respected and appreciated for wanting to help in any way I can. The Sepsis Alliance team is the most professional and caring group of individuals who are genuine in their mission to help all those affected by Sepsis & Septic Shock including survivors, families and the medical professionals who must deal with this medical emergency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Sepsis? What is that? Well in 2011, at the age of 61, I found out when sepsis attacked me. I was one of the fortunate ones. I left the hospital after fighting for my life, with all of my limbs, all of my organs and most importantly, with my life! I was indeed fortunate because the health care workers at my local hospital had immediately recognized the symptoms of sepsis when I presented myself in the ER. But I only had a vague idea of what sepsis was. I certainly was not aware that sepsis maims and kills. I didn't know when I got to the ER
I was within two hours of death.

The day before I had a kidney stone removed on an outpatient basis at another hospital. I had the same procedure several other times and thought I knew what to expect in the way of discomfort and pain following the surgery. As a precaution, I had my husband and son read the discharge sheet of instructions regarding adverse symptoms that might appear while I was recuperating.
This time, things didn't follow the normal course of recuperation. I slept poorly that night and experienced moderate pain. But that is what I expected following the extraction of a large kidney stone. What I didn't expect was an increase in the severity of the pain and the onset of a fever. My son was immediately concerned when he realized that over the course of a half hour that my temperature was climbing. This was one of the adverse symptoms mentioned on the surgical discharge sheet. I wasn't concerned, but I realized later that my mental state had already been compromised and I wasn't capable of making wise decisions. My son insisted that I go to the ER for immediate attention. His insistence literally saved my life.

Sepsis was ramping up in my body. By the time I was admitted, I had a very high fever, I was disoriented and had difficulty breathing. The first couple of days in ICU are difficult to remember. I had dangerously low blood pressure, pneumonia, E-coli and yeast infection throughout my body. I remember being very weepy and irrationally angry. I had no control over my emotions. Modern medicine and a great nursing staff pulled me back from the brink of death. Ten days later I returned home to recuperate.

I didn't know what to expect after surviving sepsis. That is when I went online and eventually found The Sepsis Alliance site. I read all about sepsis. You might say that Sepsis Alliance provided me with an education regarding sepsis, considering that my previous knowledge had been meager. I am grateful to find Sepsis Alliance and equip myself with vital information regarding sepsis and what to expect in my life after sepsis.

Reading the personal accounts of other survivors has been invaluable to me. The accounts of those who didn't survive is heartbreaking. I am convinced that the death rate due to sepsis could be lowered if only there was more awareness of sepsis. That awareness needs to be on all levels: both in the general community and in the medical community. We all need to be aware of sepsis and to be educated about this disease.
We all need to know what immediate actions need to be taken to combat sepsis. It is a horrible, terrifying experience. Sepsis maims, kills and forever changes our lives. The Sepsis Alliance site is the only place I found to be waging that war against the ignorance many of us have regarding sepsis. Sepsis Alliance reaches out to everyone to warn us about this little known disease.

Thses days I find myself returning to the Sepsis Alliance site searching for more and more information about life after sepsis. I have many symptoms that have appeared post-sepsis and questions about their connection to sepsis. At Sepsis Alliance I have discovered that there is a connection between sepsis and post traumatic stress disease. Knowledge is a powerful tool in recovery. The work of The Sepsis Alliance has meant a lot to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more visible. I wish every doctor, every nurse, every mother and father would be familiar with Sepsis Alliance. I wish Sepsis Alliance could advertise on TV, radio, magazines and billboards. Why? Because we all need to be aware of SEPSIS. The greater our awareness, the more lives will be saved! The greater the awareness, the less limbs will be lost! The greater the awareness, the fewer people will suffer kidney damage. The greater the awareness, the greater the survival rate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

As a nurse and patient, I found this site extremely helpful for myself as well as my family. I was diagnosed with Septic shock in Jan. 2014, and was admitted to the ICU. My blood pressure was extremely low, and I needed medication and fluid boluses to survive. After a few days, the doctors found a kidney stone blocking the flow of my urine. I immediately went to surgery, and had a stent placed. After 4 days in the ICU, I was transferred to a Med-Surg floor. My recovery has been a slow process. Sepsis Alliance has helped me and my family to understand my recovery. The effects of Septic shock: extreme fatigue, sleepless nights, and depression were explained though this web site. Its been 6 months and I suffer from memory loss, inability to concentrate and difficulty in organizing my thoughts. I hope that I can make a difference in telling my story to other survivors and the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open forums

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers