Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.613645
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

In my position of treasure of Deafblind International I had the possibility to have intensive contact with my colleagues of Sense International India over many years. Last year (November 2012) I had the oppertunity to visit different of there projects in different places in India by myself and to write a report about my visit. This report is published in the magazine of Deafblind International (number 51, July 2013). The strategy of Sense India to focuson partnerships to develop services for deafblind individuals is with any doubt very succesful. Very, very few organisatioans I know worldwide are able to work so cost effective as Sense India is managing to do. Very dedicated and skilled colleagues managed to reach more than 50.000 deafblind individuals in 15 year and as I have seen by myself to really change their lives. I can only express my desire that they will be able to reach many more of the deafblind individuals still waiting for any support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In nearby future I should try to figure out the possibilities of using it-solutios (distance learning) to support stafftraining.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I worked with Sense international (India) for more than two years and I must say that i have witnessed positive changes coming in lives of individuals and their families, while being a part of its program. Apart from this, I also experienced tremendous growth in my knowledge about deaf blind people. They make sure that each employee understand about this condition, so that they can bring out the best in whatever they do, be it designing a program or training parents or special educators. This makes them the one of the most credible organization that delivers what they intend to. Regular trainings and other educational interventions of their staff, consultants and partner organizations is their key to remain connected and updated about the new researches of the field. Being the only national level organization working on and for this issue, with commendable dedication and enthusiasm, Sense International is surely a bona fide pioneer of its field.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Sense International is a great team doing some amazing work in an area that most people know or understand little about. I have been fortunate in having come in touch with team members like Akhil Paul and Zamir Dhale and feel humbled by the experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International India has transformed lives of many deaf blind and blind with additional disabilities in India and their expertise has benefited neighbouring countries too like Bangladesh and even now Malaysia. They have made the difference and created great awareness on the abilities of deaf blind and blind with additional disabilities. They have a wonderful dedicated team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have Sense India to be a Regional Player sharing their expertise in developing people with Multi sensory Impairement

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fortunate to "know' Sense International in some depth, as I evaluated a number of their programmes . It is a highly professional organization, working tirelessly for the rights of deafblind children and adults, and their families. They are pioneers in India in this field but what makes them unique is that they continue to work with the same zeal, honesty and dedication as when they started.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think changes are needed

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International is working with people who have a dual disability and hence are not seen or heard. It has spearheaded the movement of initiating professionalservices for this group in india and reaching out to thousands of deafblind persons in remote areas. They have pioneered services, created a cadre of professionals and helped several outstanding deafblind persons to be self advocaters and prove their abilities through demonstration. The Organization has young team who is committed, creative and dynamic. I have seen the lives of several young people who are deafblind transformed by the services provided by Sense...these people are seen and heard...thanks to Sense.

Nandini Rawal

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase the team, increase coverage and help to make programmes sustainable. I would lobby for special livelihood opportunities for persons with deafblindness

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I did some voluntary work with Sense India back in 1998 and have been a keen follower of its progress since. What struck me then and continues to strike me now is the incredible impact this organisation has across India. Its staff are tremendously committed to changing the lives of deafblind people and educating the people around them. This organisation is well worth supporting. Supporters can be assured that every penny/rupee/cent will have maximised impact.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International India works for persons with deafblindness across the country under the great leadership of Mr.Akhil Paul. Not many people know about this disability and the implications it brings along with it in one's life. It has to be recognized as a separate disability by PWD Act which is possible only because of the efforts put by Sense International India. There is a dedicated, selfless, passionate team of workers who are doing a remarkable work in creating the awareness, developing resources, doing advocacy at local and national level for the rehabilitation of persons with deafblindness.
They are making an impact both at the micro and macro level. I wish to congratulate Mr. Akhil Paul and his team for their work and wish them success in all their endeavours to make more and more positive difference in the lives of persons with deafblindness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International India is doing yeomen service for persons with deafblindness -a low incidence dual sensory impairment in the length and breadth of our country through its dedicated team led by none other than Mr.Akhil Paul. A person with deafblindness is often mislabelled as intellectually challenged as he/she may have certain so called "behaviours". Sense International India has shown us that with proper communication,training and exposure to the real world these persons can come in to the mainstream.The work they are doing is commendable and the services that they are supporting are growing in leaps and bounds.With their advocacy,deafblindness will soon be a separate disability in the PWD Act. As a person working with childrena nd young adults with deafblindness ,I have always sought the guidance from the Sense Team and they have been ready to help me.As a trainer of young people to become teachers of children with deafblindness,I have received a lot of support and encouragement from this organization.My hearty congratulation to Sense International India for all their efforts to brighten the lives of persons with deafblindness,their families and the teachers who work for them.May the Almighty bless the team and the team leader and guide them in His path.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a parent of a young man who is deafblind. Deafblindness is a unique and isolating disability which requires specialist intervention. I was a trustee of Sense in the UK in 1997 when Sense International was formed in response to the many requests for international support for deafblind people. It was quickly realised that 'country-based' staff were essential and Akhil Paul was appointed. At that time in India only 23 deafblind people received any support but under the guidance and direction of Akhil individuals, communities, NGOs, politicians etc in India have been informed, educated, and persuaded to recognise the potential of deafblind people. Now some 50,000 people receive some form of support via Sense International (India) but that is a small fraction of the estimated 500,000 deafblind people in India. I have met Akhil on many occasions and never fail to be impressed by his commitment to deafblind people and his drive and determination to empower them to change their world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers