Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.613645
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense India supports a unique disability “Deafblindness” working exclusively to meet the needs of deafblind people in India. The organization has been doing a great work and is improving the quality of life and condition of identified deafblind people across the country. One of the most noble act of humanity that one can do is to achieve their purpose of existence and I started with this journey when I got in touch with the team of SENSE India. Little did I know about the intensity of work done by the team which brought almost a paradigm shift in my outlook towards life and people. I thank Sense India for introducing me to this noble work and giving me an opportunity through events, donations and many other activities to do my bit and make a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International India works for persons with deafblindness across the country under the great leadership of Mr.Akhil Paul. Not many people know about this disability and the implications it brings along with it in one's life. It has to be recognized as a separate disability by PWD Act which is possible only because of the efforts put by Sense International India. There is a dedicated, selfless, passionate team of workers who are doing a remarkable work in creating the awareness, developing resources, doing advocacy at local and national level for the rehabilitation of persons with deafblindness.
They are making an impact both at the micro and macro level. I wish to congratulate Mr. Akhil Paul and his team for their work and wish them success in all their endeavours to make more and more positive difference in the lives of persons with deafblindness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense India is run by a great team and addressing a very important and unique cause that requires much care and patience - working with deafblindness. I have met with them and are confident that they will make the difference they seek to create with deafblindness in India and across South Asia.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International India is doing yeomen service for persons with deafblindness -a low incidence dual sensory impairment in the length and breadth of our country through its dedicated team led by none other than Mr.Akhil Paul. A person with deafblindness is often mislabelled as intellectually challenged as he/she may have certain so called "behaviours". Sense International India has shown us that with proper communication,training and exposure to the real world these persons can come in to the mainstream.The work they are doing is commendable and the services that they are supporting are growing in leaps and bounds.With their advocacy,deafblindness will soon be a separate disability in the PWD Act. As a person working with childrena nd young adults with deafblindness ,I have always sought the guidance from the Sense Team and they have been ready to help me.As a trainer of young people to become teachers of children with deafblindness,I have received a lot of support and encouragement from this organization.My hearty congratulation to Sense International India for all their efforts to brighten the lives of persons with deafblindness,their families and the teachers who work for them.May the Almighty bless the team and the team leader and guide them in His path.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sense does a very specialised service of serving 'Deafblind' people. In fact they were the beginners in the field of deafblind in the country. They not only provided services in different parts of the country and continent but also advocate for leveraging government resources and personnel to make the required changes in the law.

The team and the leadership is amazing. Seen Mr. Akhil Paul, the founder Director very passionately working and has given almost a decade and half towards it.

Well done folks!!!

Keep the flag waving all the time.

Very Best- Gazala- Development worker

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Sense India for over 10 years. During that period, I have been amazed at the outstanding work that Akhil and his team have performed to improve the lot of the less-fortunate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a parent of a young man who is deafblind. Deafblindness is a unique and isolating disability which requires specialist intervention. I was a trustee of Sense in the UK in 1997 when Sense International was formed in response to the many requests for international support for deafblind people. It was quickly realised that 'country-based' staff were essential and Akhil Paul was appointed. At that time in India only 23 deafblind people received any support but under the guidance and direction of Akhil individuals, communities, NGOs, politicians etc in India have been informed, educated, and persuaded to recognise the potential of deafblind people. Now some 50,000 people receive some form of support via Sense International (India) but that is a small fraction of the estimated 500,000 deafblind people in India. I have met Akhil on many occasions and never fail to be impressed by his commitment to deafblind people and his drive and determination to empower them to change their world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2009

SIIis one organization which has made immense contribution in improving the quality of life of people who are deafblind.They are highly committed to proide access to quality educational services to ma... more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known this organization since the time I joined the field. From then I was truly touched by
the dedication and commitment of Akhil Paul and his team.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2009

SIIis one organization which has made immense contribution in improving the quality of life of people who are deafblind.They are highly committed to proide access to quality educational services to majority of deafblind population.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reaching to children with deafblindness or multiple disabilities even in most remote part of the country & making a difference in their life.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was with them in sep 6-8 in 2010 for leadership development confrence in ahmedabad. The organization has explained the needs / actualities of deafblindness. Since then l am watching their work from m place i.e. Hoshangabad.mp and found that they ate totally devoted in the betterment of deafblind people of our country. The efficient leadership of Mr. Akhil Paul has shown path to the group and the entire family of the organiation, its partners, beneficieries, well- wishers and general public all admire them a lot. These kind of organizations should get opportunity to represent , lead and guide to transform the condition of the dprived people. I wish them best of luck for the same.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce distance between hoshangabad and ahmedabad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The very thought of the serious handicap that Deafblindess causes in getting anywhere close to "normal" life made me lose sleep when I learnt about it from my friend Akhil Paul of Sense International (India). I have, since, tried to be of assistance to the cause, via Sense International (India). The work that Akhil & his team are doing is admirable. My best wishes are always with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I know the Organisation from close quarters. The way it is working is wonderful and I do not see how any organisational change could make the working better. I would, tho, suggest they work towards greater sensitization of people at large, not because they are not making the effort, but because people are just not aware. With greater awareness, things could change even faster for the deafblind.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers