Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.627455
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

This the organization which support very much to their partner organization to work with the children with Deafblindness. It tries their best to train the professionals and support to give 100% to the children.
August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sense International has been doing a wonderful work in helping people with disabilities. Be it working at the field level ot advocacy and lobbying. All the staff has been very approachable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sense India is transparent and known for its accountability. As a member of the Board, I get notice for the Board meeting well in advance with agenda. All meeting are conducted in a very professional manner completely in conformity with the procedure laid under the Societies Registration Act. The selection of the Members of the Board is done a in a very democratic and professional manner. The organization is achieving 100 per cent statutory compliance in every respect. The organization is adhering to all the provision of Income Tax Act, Provident Fund Act, Gratuity Act, Indian Societies Registration Act and other relevant Act. For me, it is matter of honour to be first Chairman of the Board and now member of the Board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make to more visible, seek support of Government under all the Schemes of the Department of Disability Affairs, Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment, Government of India. Motivate partner organizations to do advocacy for protecting rights of people with deafblindness. Seek participation of generic developmental organizations to ensure inclusive development of children with deafblindness

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was responsible for the creation of Sense International India. As Chief Executive of Sense in the UK, I established Sense International in 1996 and decided that our first programme would be in India, since I knew Beroz Vacha of Helen keller Institute and the staff at the Blind People's Association. I knew how successful our first programme would be in India, so it was a no-brainer to choose your country. And the work of Akhil and his team have surpassed all my expectations. Some years ago, they had established services with partners in 24 Indian states and it may have surpassed that already.

The work of SII has been one of enormous industry and devoted energy. I cannot commend their efforts highly enough.

Rod Clark
Former Chief Executive
Sense, The National Deafblind and Rubella Association
Shrewsbury, UK

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2013

It takes a while for all fortunate people like us to absorb and bring to consciousness the meaning of deaf-blindness as disability. We rarely understand, how to communicate with these people, let alon... more

August 8, 2014

Yet another excellent year for Sense International. It continuous to surprise me with the new initiatives. I have recently learned about the Prestigious Award being confirmed on the Organisation. Great work by team, keep it up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It takes a while for all fortunate people like us to absorb and bring to consciousness the meaning of deaf-blindness as disability. We rarely understand, how to communicate with these people, let alone think about how do they cope with daily living.

Sense International precisely does
that; it act as a bridge between a deaf-blind person and the real world, by empowering them with not only basic motor skills but by making them self sufficient to live a meaningful life. By advocacy and networking, they make sure that deaf-blind people get equal status in the society.

For this act of kindness alone, i always admire the Team Sense International. Untiring efforts put in by every one from Governing Council to Lowest level employee makes it a unique organisation.

They are driven by passion and work with moral code of conduct and subject them selves to the highest standard of ethics.

I wish them all the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2009

First of all let me say that I have never seen a selfless organization than Sense International. The entire management team is hands on and experts in working with children who have multiple dis-abili... more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My association with Sense International started more than 10 years ago when they hired the selfless leader Akhil Paul as their Director for India. I applaud him and his team for doing what they do everyday and give their lives for the well-being and education of the children that they help become part of our community.

The sad world that we live in still looks at disability as a nuisance and these children with multiple disabilities go through tough times to finally get help from associations like Sense International. If you ever get the opportunity, my recommendation would be to visit these children. For no fault of theirs, they are born with these disabilities. Me and my wife believe that all of us should be thankful for all the blessings we each have and help these children.

Once again, can't thank Akhil Paul and his team for doing for what they are doing.
Regards,
Javid Baig

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2009

First of all let me say that I have never seen a selfless organization than Sense International. The entire management team is hands on and experts in working with children who have multiple dis-abilities. The team at Sense International works with children who are deaf and blind. By helping these children to become self-reliant these saintly folks are giving life to them. When i have heard stories from Akhil Paul, Director of Sense International in Asia i have cried. Stories were children were found in villages who have never been out of the hut they live in shunned by society. The only person who would interact with them were their mothers. I applaud Akhil and his team for being the light in the lives of such needy children. I urge each and every one of you to open your heart and contribute to this great cause. You can reach me at javidbaig@gmail.com if you have any further questions or clarifications. Thank you Akhil and your team for doing this and helping the world to be a better place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

India and met with children with multiple dis-abilities.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

to see how selfless and wanting to help the team at Sense International is. Thank you.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Dedicated, focused on helping these children and wanting to genuinely help them live a better life

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

give a better life to all children with multiple dis-abilities. Please help.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 18, 2013

I have known this organization since the time I joined the field. From then I was truly touched by the dedication and commitment of Akhil Paul and his team. more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the opportunity of coming in contact with Sense International India fourteen years back, just few months after I joined this field. I had worked very closely with them. I have seen how they are transforming the lives of Deafblind people with or without additional disabilities in all parts of the country especially working for the forgotten people of rural India. They have been highly successful in bringing this population from isolation to inclusion. I feel so overwhelmed and touched when I visit their programs even in the remotest part and see how the children are provided services at their doorstep by young committed educators and brightening the lives of these children, improving their quality of life and making their parents smile. My salute to Mr Akhil Paul and his outstanding team for their noble contribution to this field. And they have MILES TO GO..............

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger and larger.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known this organization since the time I joined the field. From then I was truly touched by
the dedication and commitment of Akhil Paul and his team.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2009

SIIis one organization which has made immense contribution in improving the quality of life of people who are deafblind.They are highly committed to proide access to quality educational services to majority of deafblind population.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reaching to children with deafblindness or multiple disabilities even in most remote part of the country & making a difference in their life.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

In my position of treasure of Deafblind International I had the possibility to have intensive contact with my colleagues of Sense International India over many years. Last year (November 2012) I had the oppertunity to visit different of there projects in different places in India by myself and to write a report about my visit. This report is published in the magazine of Deafblind International (number 51, July 2013). The strategy of Sense India to focuson partnerships to develop services for deafblind individuals is with any doubt very succesful. Very, very few organisatioans I know worldwide are able to work so cost effective as Sense India is managing to do. Very dedicated and skilled colleagues managed to reach more than 50.000 deafblind individuals in 15 year and as I have seen by myself to really change their lives. I can only express my desire that they will be able to reach many more of the deafblind individuals still waiting for any support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In nearby future I should try to figure out the possibilities of using it-solutios (distance learning) to support stafftraining.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I worked with Sense international (India) for more than two years and I must say that i have witnessed positive changes coming in lives of individuals and their families, while being a part of its program. Apart from this, I also experienced tremendous growth in my knowledge about deaf blind people. They make sure that each employee understand about this condition, so that they can bring out the best in whatever they do, be it designing a program or training parents or special educators. This makes them the one of the most credible organization that delivers what they intend to. Regular trainings and other educational interventions of their staff, consultants and partner organizations is their key to remain connected and updated about the new researches of the field. Being the only national level organization working on and for this issue, with commendable dedication and enthusiasm, Sense International is surely a bona fide pioneer of its field.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Sense International is a great team doing some amazing work in an area that most people know or understand little about. I have been fortunate in having come in touch with team members like Akhil Paul and Zamir Dhale and feel humbled by the experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers