Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I am both a board member of Big Sky Senior Services and a past recipient of services. I was off my feet for two months following surgery and was visited by an RN and a nursing student. The CNA was there to help me shower, shop for my groceries and keep my house clean. I couldn't have managed without the services! Having been on the board since 2001, I know how hard we work to gather funding so that we can provide services on a sliding fee sacal to keep even indigent seniors in their homes. Keeping elders in their homes is far more cost effective than housing them in nursing homes. It provides families peace of mind to know their loved one is safe in familiar surroundings. The staff is of the highest caliber and exhibits professionalism and compassion. The work in preventing elder abuse has received national attention with annual conferences to educate those in the community to potential risks to the elderly. This is an organization well worth supporting!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Big Sky Senior Services (BSSS) is the umbrella organization for Senior Helping Hands and Prevention of Elder Abuse. At a recent gathering that several of the Senior Helping Hands clients attended one thing was repeated by each one. "I couldn't be at my home without you". But BSSS does more than help with the daily physical needs of our clients. Two years ago Big Sky Senior Services received a grant to establish a community coalition to bring awareness to the issue of elder abuse. There were over 40 business, agencies and other non-profits that attended that organizational meeting...some from several hundred miles away. From that meeting Partnership for Elder Protection (PEP) was formed and has since put on two conferences targeting elder abuse awareness that were attended by between 150 and 200 each time. The speakers were nationally known experts, State and local governmental agencies, law enforcement, medical and legal experts. The attendees were social workers, senior service providers and general public. The response was tremendous with people thanking us and asking for more information. The conferences have brought about more awareness and coordinated effort state wide to protect our senior population. One thing that became apparent was the lack of resources for law enforcement departments across our vast state. Smaller communities are in need of education on the issues and they need tools to prevent and prosecute these crimes. To that end PEP will be presenting a conference next spring targeting the law enforcement and legal staff of cities and counties across the state. Our goal is to tele-communicate this conference to the larger towns across MT so that law enforcement agencies in all areas will have a way to attend. The following day PEP is expecting to host a half day conference for the general public that will be televised to US Bank locations across the state and open to the general public. This is one more way we at Big Sky Senior Services strive to protect our senior population and assist them in living safely in their own homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Senior Helpings Hands is part of Big Sky Senior Services which is a wonderful organization that helps to keep seniors and adults with disabilities independant and safe in their own homes as long as possible. They accomplish this by providing direct in-home services such as light housekeeping, personal care services, etc. Many years ago my grandparents received in-home care from this program, so I know first hand how dedicated their staff is and how important it is to have assistance to augment the care that a family can give. These services become even more critical if no family live in the same city. My grandparents were able to remain in their own home longer due the assistance of this great agency. One other very important fact about this organization is that they serve some full pay clients, but a large majority of people that this organization serves are on the lowest economic levels and cannot afford to pay much for services. Big Sky Senior Services put their heart and soul into their fundraising efforts. They deserve recognition and support for the wonderful work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The Senior Helping Hands Program of Big Sky Senior Services is a true benefit to the community. Senior Helping Hands assists seniors in our communities by providing homemaking services, including housekeeping, meal preparation, grocery shopping, laundry, nail and foot care, medication management, respite care, safety checks, disaster planning, transportation, and more. The dedicated staff of takes the greatest of care with our seniors to ensure they can stay in their own homes safety for as long as possible and at reasonable costs. The Senior Helping Hands Program is a treasure for seniors in our community. Check them out at http://www.bigskyseniorservices.org/index.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers