Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.974365
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I have worked with Senior Citizens Council for over 10-years. I am an Administrator of a Memory Care Community. The benifits of this organization is huge. They help in so many areas such as conservator ships, guardianships, etc. I have seen productive, smart, wonderful people riddled with disease and families/friends could no longer care for their loved ones and when Senior Citizens Council stepped in it gave hope to these people. A purpose to continue with life. A "family" to turn to in a time of need. Senior Citizens Council is also benefitial for those of us in the community lending us support. Always knowing where to send us if they cannot help. Senior Citizens Council truly makes a difference in every life they come in contact with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I am a client of Clackamas Senior Citizens Council and have been for three years. I suffer from Bi-Polar disorder which makes handling my finances a very stressful component of my illness. Though Senior Citizens Council I have had much reduced stress as they take care of all issues regarding my finances including dealing with creditors, setting up payment arrangements and day to day running of my finances. I don't know where I would be today without their help. It could be as bad as homeless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County was there when I needed them at a time when my neighbor and friend showed serious signs of dementia. She had lived alone for years following her husband's death. One of her passions is dogs and she had a small number of friends and neighbors who asked her to babysit their dogs--a great fit for all. As she began to forget dog-sitting appointments, dog names and owner names, it was evident something was wrong. The last time she babysit my dog, when I paid her she said she needed to get some food. She opened her refrigerator and it was almost empty except for some pickles and a few leftover scraps. She told me of a letter from the IRS asking for more money. I asked her if I could help her and she trusted me to do so. As we worked together to file important papers and stock some food in her refrigerator, it appeared she was having difficulty writing checks, recording them or even taking checks to the bank. She needed someone to help her on a long term basis. You see, she had no relatives that she knew of and no close friends to step in and help her. I contacted the County of Clackamas, however they were limited in the assistance they could give. They mentioned the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County which perhaps could help me. When I contacted the Senior Citizens Council and spoke with Louise Marsh, she quickly understood all the signals and behaviors that my friend was manifesting. She gave me some excellent advise. Louise was as concerned as I was about the safety and vulnerability of my friend and agreed to meet with me and my friend at her home. We discussed the pros and cons of my friend remaining in her home and Louise was a compassionate listener and helpful advisor to us both. After another meeting we had convinced my friend to relocate to an assisted care facility nearby. At this point I knew that becoming a legal guardian for my friend was more than I could handle. The Senior Citizens Council helped advise me about the need to contact an attorney to petition the courts for establishing a legal guardian/conservatorship for my friend. When I went to an attorney specializing in senior issues, I was told that I must assign a trustee in my petition. I was elated to find out that Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County could be named my friend's trustee. At that point, I phoned them to see if they would consider it. Since Louise Marsh had already interviewed my friend, they would discuss it further and bring it before their board for consideration. How lucky my friend was when they accepted her in their trusteeship as her guardian and conservator. The help and guidance of the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County, Louise Marsh and Christi Bird made it possible to get safety and asset protection for my friend and neighbor. My dog and I visit our friend often at the living center where she has found a safe and caring home. Her new friends from the Council drop by on a regular basis to see her also and make sure she is happy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I have worked for years and with hundreds of people but the people at Clackamas County Senior Citizens Council are the finest. They work tirelessly it seems for the betterment of many unfortunate folks in our community far and wide to protect, provide and advocate for them. They literally save peoples' lives over and over again. The Council is always there for support as we work together to care for a multitude of unfortunate folks who have for one reason or another been left behind, been forgotten or have even been exploited and abused. All that comes to an end unter the Councils' oversight and support. It is a great pleasure of mine to be associated with the Senior Citizens Council Teresa Kaady, Administrator, Rose Linn Vintage Place

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working for and caring for and making decisions regarding the wellfare of residents under the Clackamas County Senior Citizens Council

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

allot them more funds and grants to further their work for others and to spotlight their organization for others to be aware of their work for future support and involvement

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

honest, gentle and sincere attitude of every individual that works for their organization

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

Senior Citizens Council has served vulnerable adults in Clackamas County for years. As a medical social worker at a local hospital, I have seen first hand how they have helped many of our patients who were being abused or neglected. Senior Citizens Council staff visit residents of Clackamas County in their homes really getting to know each individual situation so they understand all of the circumstances in order to provide compassionate and ethical care. Their primary goal is to help each person they serve be as independent as possible and still be safe and protected from those who may take advantage of them. Senior Council is the only organization providing conservatorship and guardianship services at reasonable cost in Clackamas County. They are a wonderful group committed to service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County is an exemplary non-profit that makes a huge impact with very few resources. We have no public guardian in Clackamas County and Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County is the only resource when a senior is being exploited, in need of protection and with no one to help. This agency not only provides guardianship and conservator services but acts as an advocate and meets needs that no one else can meet. I have worked with this agency as a community partner and was very proud to be selected as a board member. I plan to have an active role in this organization for many years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

This service has provided our family with great guidance for the care of my sister, Anne Schneider. She is in a home with outstanding care. The Senior Council sold all her property and has manage her finances thru the whole process. They have been a relief to us at every turn. Thank you for all you have done. Bob Graham

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2011

more

August 1, 2011

The Senior Council helps to protect people who are most vulnerable generally because of their age. I’ve been involved in a number of cases where neglect and or abuse was involved before our intervention. Was most satisfying to be part of the solution. The organization is clearly run in a fiscally sound manner.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've given the Senior Council my professional services so I've seen their work "up close".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to replicate their service so that it would be available to more seniors in our area.

July 31, 2011

more

July 31, 2011

Over the past several years I have had the priviledge to assist the Senior Citizens Council with monetary as well as time donations. They assist seniors and disabled adults whom have been abused in one way or another. I have enjoyed volunteering for them at their annual fund raising event.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Was given information to help my aging parents set up provisions for their upcomming future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would figure out a way to give them continual funding.

July 31, 2011

more

July 31, 2011

I have served as a part time Fund Development Consultant for Senior Citizens Council for the last 4 years. In my 30 years in this profession, I have worked with many non-profits and have interacted with many types of Board and Staff. I’ve seen the good, bad and those I want to forget.

Senior Citizens Council’s staff and board members are one of the best non-profits for which I have worked, both in their mission of service, dedication of staff and board, as well as commitment to improve and grow. They continue to impress me with their strong dedication to and support of their mission, services and their clients. In the last couple of years, we have been able to upgrade the profile of the Board, adding members who can outreach and spread the word about Senior Council to the community.

In the process of preparing their direct mail appeal letters, I have talked with several of Senior Citizen clients or their family members. Their gratitude and praise of Senior Citizens Council services is unbounded, and they are truly appreciative of the services received. As the Sister of one client said, “My Brother would have been out on the street and probably dead long ago if it wasn’t for Senior Council’s care and help with his finances and living arrangements.

I encourage anyone seeking a very worthwhile “Investment” of your donated funds or other types of help, I ask you to seriously consider Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. Your “Investment” will literally save and change lives, each and every day!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally experienced the results of Senior Council services, but have talked with their clients or their relatives about the value of their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Our challenge is to Identify, Involve and Ask a greater number of individuals, businesses, etc. to Invest in the mission and services of Senior Citizens Council.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I was asked to conduct a "Fund Development Audit" of the organization, and then was retained for professional services

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Increase its profile in the community, and add new potential donors to our mailing list and event invitation list.

What is its top priority in the long run?

In the terms of Fund Development, secure the funding needed to hire a full time Development Director to continue the Identification, Involvement and Investment. This will help to take the organization to a new level to provide services to the many who are currently not served due to budget constraints.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers