Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.976745
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 20, 2011

About 6 years ago I was recruited to join the board of Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County, and for the last few years I have been president. "Senior Council" as we call it, serves more than ... more

October 29, 2013

On a budget of $328,000 with 5.2 full time equivalent employees, Seniior Citizen Council of Clackamas County in 2011-2012 provided services to 564 clients, over half being victims of abuse, or neglect or self-neglecting, and victims of exploitation. We provide financial support (acting as representative payee and paying bills), connection to services so that our clients can remain in their homes and, when finally necessary, serving as Clackamas County's principal guardian and conservator. If only government could be as efficient!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more funding to increase local services, and raise additional funds to replicate the program in other Oregon counties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2011

About 6 years ago I was recruited to join the board of Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County, and for the last few years I have been president. "Senior Council" as we call it, serves more than 1,000 clients with 4.5 FTE's on a budget comprised of fees and private contributions, making referrals to sources of senior assistance, providing our Guardianship Diversion services to 250 clients to slow down the institutionalization process, and finally to serve as Clackamas County's de facto public guardian and conservator in cases where protection is required. Rarely, if ever, has so much been done for so little money and, wit our graying, the need grows.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a board member I see results. As an attorney, I have engaged Senior Council to provide assistance to clients in need

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would enlarge our base of contributors so that we can serve more and possibly replicate our services elsewhere

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The work the Senior Citizens council does to protect and enhance the lives of people who would otherwise be lost is amazing. I am sincerely moved when i hear the stories from the staff about a victim of abuse and how the intervention of the Senior Citizens Council has changed their circumstances for the better. I now also know there are too few organizations willing to shed light on the struggles of our neighbors in our communities and across the country. This is why i am proud to, and will continue to, support this incredible group with their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As a board member, I am favorably impressed with the professionalism and dedication of the staff of S4C. S4C being a non-governmental organization, does not get the financial support that is usually associated with governmental agencies and must prove its worth to the public with its services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 26, 2011

I volunteer on the board of the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. I first became aware of the organization just over a year ago when it chose two of my fellow Wells Fargo employees for its ... more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered as a board member of this organization for a few years. I joined after I learned about all the services it provides senior citizens who are at risk of losing their life savings and have no one else to protect or care for them. This nonprofit group is unique. The services it provides at little or no cost to seniors are not offered by any other local agency. That's why the court system (judges, lawyers) and social service agencies love it so much. They often turn to the Council as a place of last resort to help save a senior in need. I can't say enough good things about the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. It is a grass roots agency that doesn't spend a lot on staff, rent or office equipment. The dedicated board and staff make sure to use as much of its budget as possible on helping our vulnerable senior citizens.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2011

I volunteer on the board of the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. I first became aware of the organization just over a year ago when it chose two of my fellow Wells Fargo employees for its annual award. I discovered that this nonprofit group is providing vital services to seniors that are not available anywhere else. I also found out that many of its clients are not able to pay even the minimal fee for those services so the council provides them for free. I was so impressed with the council and its staff that I agreed to serve on its board and play a larger role in its efforts. I think this is a wonderful organization worthy of support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm not a senior citizen myself so I haven't personally benefited from its work. But I have seen the extraordinary results it achieves on a low budget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the capabilitiies of its web site. I understand this is already underway.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

see narrative above

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Help as many senior citizens as possible; obtain funding.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Establish more permanent sources of funding

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas Co. is one of the few non-profit organizations in the Portland metro area serving vulnerable elderly people who have no one else to turn to for help and assistance. Many of their clients either have no families or their families don't get along enough to care for the older family member. A significant number of also victims of elder financial abuse from a family or community member. Director Christi Bird and her wonderful staff are amazing at working directly with their clients in guardianship, conservatorship and money management matters, utilizing other community resources whenever possible.

I am an owner of a private fiduciary company who often refers clients to Senior Citizen Council of Clackamas Co. I have financially supported Christi and her team for years and feel the money I give to their organization really does make a difference to a vulnerable portion of our population that often gets overlooked by our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County makes a difference in peoples lives. The staff are very caring and compassionate and work hard to improve their clients lives. They work to ensure that our most vulnerable citizens are safe and well cared for. As a student in the Human Services field, I have see first hand the growing need for this type of agency in our community, and the wonderful work the Seniors Council does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to ensure more permanent funding

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Senior citizens council is amazing. They not only are making a difference in the lives of those most vulnerable and in need, but do so with compassion and commitment . Without the dedicated staff under the able direction of Christi Bird, many folks would be suffering, struggling to maintain themselves not only physically but also mentally. They make a true difference in the lives of those they touch.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

The Senior Citizen's Council of Clackamas County is a wonderful community partner. Our agency has worked collaboratively on behalf of a number of individuals with great success. The board, director and staff are knowledgeable and united in their mission. They are a pleasure to work with and a tremendous asset to the citizens of Clackamas County.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to expand the great work they do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County is a wonderful program who assists the most vulnerable people in our community. Christi and Louise are very knowledgable about the process and always willing to consult with any questions from community or families. Their approach is always with kindness and advocacy for the person they are representing. The community of Clackamas County is very fortunate to have such an amazing program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see them have more money/funds/employees to be able to serve more people in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In Clackamas county, Oregon, the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County has a solid reputation for being the non-profit to turn to when a vulnerable senior needs support services (such as help in making out checks to pay bills and balancing a checkbook) in order to continue living independently. The Council has also been willing to serve as a court-appointed guardian or conservator in situations when a senior needs such a fiduciary but has no suitable and willing family member to take on the role. The Council is staffed with a handful of dedicated, compassionate people who work hard to match their clients with the services they need. They believe strongly in treating their clients with respect and providing assistance in a manner that preserves their dignity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers