Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.974365
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first became familiar with Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County when, caregivers financially and emotionally abused my vulnerable 97- year -old Great Aunt. Our Family is extremely grateful to SCCCC for providing a secure framework to protect my Great Aunt from further abuse. I joined the SCCCC board because of my concern for other vulnerable individuals and to support the honorable service SCCCC provides for what I now know is a vast problem in our country today! Without the SCCCC program, many seniors would have no protection from financial abuse and neglect. Donors need to be informed of the important work SCCCC provides for our community and donate with confidence to this great non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find a way to provide more resources as SCCCC program works with extremely tight budgets but continues to find a way to service all who need help!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County is an invaluable resource for the seniors of Clackamas County and their family members. They provide a whole array of services to seniors, but one area of service that's particularly impressive to our firm (Oregon Elder Law) is their fiduciary services. SCC frequently steps up to serve as guardian, conservator, or trustee for seniors who have no suitable family members or friends to take on these roles. Serving in these fiduciary roles is hard work, and SCC performs the work efficiently and with compassion. SCC has a small staff and a small budget, yet they serve a large number of seniors and deliver an impressive amount of services. We at Oregon Elder Law truly admire SCC and wish that all Oregon counties had the benefit of an organization like them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with a larger budget.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This organization has been pivotal in helping the disabled and seniors in Clackamas county. I first worked with this group when sharing clients, I as a Hospice social worker, Christie as the guardian. I have never witnessed someone Advocate so completely. The person we worked with had family that was financially taking advantage of her. She was protected from this and secure with the support of Christie. This has been true during the entire 15 years I have worked with the Senior Citizen Council.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the amount of workers under Christie Bird so they would learn to work with her high standards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

A small non profit that has continued, year after year, to provide quality services for people in need. I was involved in the creation of their Guardian/Conservator program which continues to provide critical assistance for a very vulnerable population.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 31, 2012

One of the mental health clients who lives in my Adult Care facility has guardianship through the Senior Citizens' Council. I have been greatly impressed with the kindness, patience, courtesy and prof... more

October 30, 2013

I have worked with the staff at the Clackamas County Senior Citizens Council for nearly 5 years (One of their clients lives in my Adult Care facility). They have been outstanding to work with! Christina, Louise, and Franki are patient, compassionate,caring and easily accessible when I need to reach them. We have a great team relationship, and I look forward to many more years of working in partnership. I would highly recommend them to anyone in need of their services. I cannot thank them enough! Tim Moore

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2012

One of the mental health clients who lives in my Adult Care facility has guardianship through the Senior Citizens' Council. I have been greatly impressed with the kindness, patience, courtesy and professionalism that Christina, Louise, and Franki have shown (both to my client, and to my ACH staff)! They are available (even on weekends), and prompt in their response to requests' for information, as well as call-backs. Each month, Franki meets with my client, and she is always interested in his progress. I have spoken with Christina and Louise also, asking for advice; they have been very helpful to me! It is my sincere hope that we will continue to maintain our excellent working relationship in the years to come! I hope that we may receive further clients through Senior Citizen's Council! In short, they are fantastic! I cannot say enough good things about them! Please keep them in mind as they are outstanding! Thank You! Tim Moore (Basil ACH LLC in Tigard)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The work of the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County is unmatched. The staff are dedicated to helping and protecting our at risk seniors. The Council is able to serve so many of our elders in helping them get the assistance they need and live safer lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote fundraising efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 20, 2011

About 6 years ago I was recruited to join the board of Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County, and for the last few years I have been president. "Senior Council" as we call it, serves more than ... more

October 29, 2013

On a budget of $328,000 with 5.2 full time equivalent employees, Seniior Citizen Council of Clackamas County in 2011-2012 provided services to 564 clients, over half being victims of abuse, or neglect or self-neglecting, and victims of exploitation. We provide financial support (acting as representative payee and paying bills), connection to services so that our clients can remain in their homes and, when finally necessary, serving as Clackamas County's principal guardian and conservator. If only government could be as efficient!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more funding to increase local services, and raise additional funds to replicate the program in other Oregon counties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2011

About 6 years ago I was recruited to join the board of Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County, and for the last few years I have been president. "Senior Council" as we call it, serves more than 1,000 clients with 4.5 FTE's on a budget comprised of fees and private contributions, making referrals to sources of senior assistance, providing our Guardianship Diversion services to 250 clients to slow down the institutionalization process, and finally to serve as Clackamas County's de facto public guardian and conservator in cases where protection is required. Rarely, if ever, has so much been done for so little money and, wit our graying, the need grows.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a board member I see results. As an attorney, I have engaged Senior Council to provide assistance to clients in need

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would enlarge our base of contributors so that we can serve more and possibly replicate our services elsewhere

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The work the Senior Citizens council does to protect and enhance the lives of people who would otherwise be lost is amazing. I am sincerely moved when i hear the stories from the staff about a victim of abuse and how the intervention of the Senior Citizens Council has changed their circumstances for the better. I now also know there are too few organizations willing to shed light on the struggles of our neighbors in our communities and across the country. This is why i am proud to, and will continue to, support this incredible group with their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As a board member, I am favorably impressed with the professionalism and dedication of the staff of S4C. S4C being a non-governmental organization, does not get the financial support that is usually associated with governmental agencies and must prove its worth to the public with its services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 26, 2011

I volunteer on the board of the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. I first became aware of the organization just over a year ago when it chose two of my fellow Wells Fargo employees for its ... more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered as a board member of this organization for a few years. I joined after I learned about all the services it provides senior citizens who are at risk of losing their life savings and have no one else to protect or care for them. This nonprofit group is unique. The services it provides at little or no cost to seniors are not offered by any other local agency. That's why the court system (judges, lawyers) and social service agencies love it so much. They often turn to the Council as a place of last resort to help save a senior in need. I can't say enough good things about the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. It is a grass roots agency that doesn't spend a lot on staff, rent or office equipment. The dedicated board and staff make sure to use as much of its budget as possible on helping our vulnerable senior citizens.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2011

I volunteer on the board of the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County. I first became aware of the organization just over a year ago when it chose two of my fellow Wells Fargo employees for its annual award. I discovered that this nonprofit group is providing vital services to seniors that are not available anywhere else. I also found out that many of its clients are not able to pay even the minimal fee for those services so the council provides them for free. I was so impressed with the council and its staff that I agreed to serve on its board and play a larger role in its efforts. I think this is a wonderful organization worthy of support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm not a senior citizen myself so I haven't personally benefited from its work. But I have seen the extraordinary results it achieves on a low budget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the capabilitiies of its web site. I understand this is already underway.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

see narrative above

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Help as many senior citizens as possible; obtain funding.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Establish more permanent sources of funding

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers