Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.979595
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County (SCC) for the past several years. As an attorney with Oregon Elder Law, my experience with SCC has come from both sides - I have referred clients and families to SCC for services and have also represented SCC in their guardianship and conservatorship program. SCC staff is professional in working with clients and colleagues, and very compassionate about protecting vulnerable seniors in our community. For seniors who do not have family or friends who can step in and help, SCC provides a valuable service in directing the senior’s medical care and managing the senior's finances. SCC is a tremendous resource for Clackamas County. SCC provides comprehensive services to ensure seniors are safe and maintain as high a level of independence as possible. SCC is a joy to work with and I appreciate the compassion they bring to their jobs and the services they provide to our community.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I first became aware of Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County when they were appointed as Conservator for a neighbor of mine who was suffering financial abuse from a woman who was supposedly "helping him". What she was doing was helping herself to his income and savings to pay for her drug habit, and her own household bills. The Senior Citizens Council was able to step in and protect this man from any further financial exploitation. Unfortunately the Senior Council was not able to get Guardianship, and so was not able to advocate for appropriate medical care, which he needed. His health rapidly declined and he soon passed away. I was thankful for all the Senior Council did, and tried to do for this man. He was a die hard New Yorker, who moved to Oregon after loosing his son, and two son-in-laws on 9/11 in the Twin Towers. He could be a grouchy old man, but he had a heart of gold. He didn't deserve to be taken advantage of by someone he thought he could trust.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I did not know that an organization like the Senior Citizens Council existed when we started helping out a disabled neighbor who was in need of some very basic services at the time. When we were approached by Sue, we discovered that they were truly there to provide all the support and active service we could have asked for. Our neighbor is in much better condition, physically, financially, and emotionally than he was before their involvement. They have also been quick to respond to other referrals we have sent their way.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I was unaware of the SCC of CC when we reached out to a disabled neighbor who had been abandoned by what remaining family he had left for economic reasons. I was very defensive of our involvement with our neighbor when we were first approached by the SCC. Prior to the council's involvement, I was told our friend would have to hit bottom to receive proper care. When we received our first call from the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County, I was dumbfounded! I thought that such a group was only a fantasy. They asked us to continue our support of our neighbor but, with their assistance and guidance.
I cannot imagine the stress that this council goes though each and every day. The care and compassion that's administered to their clients along with finding the funding to continue another day gives a window of hope for the future of our society.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County for over 4 years now assisting them with some of their legal needs. I can't imagine any organization in this field working harder on behalf of their clients. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anybody who is looking for assistance in this area, and in fact, have recommended them many times. The people that work at the Senior Council are extremely knowledgeable, not to mention friendly, supportive, caring and a lot of fun to work with. No matter the situation, it always brightened my day when Christi B. or Sue would call or stop by the office. I'm sure they have brightened many others' days as well just by doing what they do and being who they are.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I have been involved with the senior council for about the last
eight years. They have shown such compassion and support for
for their clients. They are truly a blessing in the lives of the people
who are referred to their agency..
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

The Senior Citizens Council is a wonderful partner assisting the most needy clients within our community. I work within Social Services and have worked in partnership with the Senior Council as they assisted in the role of Guardianship/Rep Payee/etc for clients who have no other natural supports. Everyone I have worked with puts the client first and advocates as needed to ensure their needs are met. I have to admit it can be extremely challenging when having to network with other agencies (SSA/DHS/Etc) and I have observed professionalism from their end in supporting client needs along with the flexibility in meeting at short notice...much appreciated! Kudos to the wonderful work everyone does at the Senior Council!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I have been involved with the Sr. Council for over 30 years working as an attorney in their guardianship and conservatorship program. The Sr. Council staff has a unique talent and interest in working with the seniors in the community, protecting their interests and advocating for the best interests of their clients. There really is not another organization in the state that attains the level of professionalism and excellence that the Sr. Council strives and maintains. There is no question but that this organization is a great benefit to and for the community. Their advocacy and protection of seniors interests is outstanding. To the Sr. Council, their task is to assist and protect seniors to the best of their ability and, unfortunately, with available resources that are always limited. Can't say enough about the dedication of the staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I became acquainted with the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County a year ago when my sister became one of thier clients. Due to a series of unfortunate events I needed to ask them if they would become my sister's guardian, which they agreed to. This orgainzation was truly my sister's only option. As devasting as it was for me to have things unfold the way they did,
the Senior Citizens Council of Clackamas County has been a blessing in disguise
for my sister and myself. I consider them to be our family.
They always take time out of their day to listen, problem solve when needed, and find a solution.
Since I am not a wealthy person I can only pay it forward in my words and actions.
I will always be grateful to your staff for the invaluable service you provide my sister.
Best Always, Jennifer Lukowicz

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

i have worked in social services for 25+ years & have been fortunate enough to have had the help & guidance from cristie, louise & their staff on some very challenging clients. they both bring compassion & common sense to some very complicated mediation issues.
the need for their services
continues to grow, while funding continues to decline. on behalf of the many clients past & present, i am thankful for their continuing service & support.
peace, neil maloney
social services
greenridge estates assisted living

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase funding to allow for more staff

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers