Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I was a police officer for over 20 years and didn't know how prevalent the problem with human trafficking and sexual exploitation is until after I retired. Law enforcement simply was not educated. To find out that human trafficking is a 32 billion dollar per year industry tore my heart. It's growing every year and is only second to the drug industry.

SENHOA is such a great organization, because the volunteers and staff have such a huge passion to help these victims. SENHOA has created partnerships with key organizations that help meet the needs of the victims they serve. In my opinion, the singe most important attribute of SENHOA is their transparency. There are a lot of great non-profits in the world, but there are also many that are deceptive and hide behind smoke and mirrors. You will NEVER find this with SENHOA. This organization is very organized, diligent, and fiscally responsible! No smoke and mirrors here!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Senhoa has so many amazing attributes. Here are a few of them...
1. Senhoa sticks firmly to it's mission of empowering disadvantaged communities and individuals to take control of their lives and make positive choices. The formula is simple: education + economic empowerment = poverty
alleviation = reduction in vulnerability of women to sexual exploitation and human trafficking.
2. Senhoa is a 'Can Do' organisation! We are always thinking of creative ways to strengthen and improve existing programmes and exploring opportunities for new projects.
2. Senhoa's approach is to build partnerships with other strong organisations to achieve it's goals - we believe that it is only working collaboratively that we can achieve our dreams. Two heads are always better than one!
3. Senhoa has the most amazing team of staff and volunteers who are the most passionate, dedicated and talented individuals you could hope to meet.
4. Our true inspiration is drawn from the children, women and men we work with and serve in Cambodia. Our organisation is built from their resilience and passion for life and this motivates us all in our daily working lives.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I could write so many experiences and good things about Senhoa but I want to be brief. I have worked at Senhoa's Lotus Kids Club for over 3 years as adviser/consultant. A small NGO committed to helping the most disadvantaged families in Siem Reap. From the folks in the California HQ to the staff in the field in Cambodia, where I work, the dedication, commitment and caring is so palpable you can almost taste it. I am very proud and feel lucky to be a part of Senhoa.

We have grown quite a bit over the last few years and will continue to help more and more families achieve a better life for them and now and in the future. Please check the blogs on the website about our work at the Lotus Kids Club. Thanks.

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

SENHOA, where do I begin to share how empowering this nonprofit organization is. It has been such a blessing to work as a volunteer, all it took was helping at one event. The understanding and experience they have caring for survivors of human trafficking is unmeasurable and truly inspiring.

They believe in- Income generation so that young women can obtain economic independence, Educational and social programs for intellectual empowerment, & Using business sensibilities to achieve humanitarian goals

Senhoa is definitely a staple game changer, or in this case Life Changer, for the survivors and volunteers like myself. Senhoa is such an effective organization because of its solid programs as stepping stones to the issue of Human trafficking : 1) Rehabilitation 2) Reintegration 3) Prevention

Senhoa fosters hope and opportunity for the girls in Cambodia, they reciprocate a sense of giving by passing along their strength of character and resilience in the face of adversity.
September 13, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 13, 2013

i first came across Senhoa at a human rights rally. I was drawn to Senhoa because they weren't the typical nonprofit that was asking for money. I've always felt uncomfortable about giving away money to charities. After all, we should be asking ourselves, "What happens to this money, and how do we know it's going to where it's suppose to go?"

Senhoa values transparency as much as I do. All their financials are posted on their website. For example, I can also see that their entire US staff made only $44,000 in 2012. That's less than most individuals make in a year. It's a far cry from the 6 figure salaries that many nonprofit Executive Directors make.

I've been volunteering with Senhoa for about a half a year now, and just bought my first piece of jewelry two weeks ago. So I'm not only a volunteer, but I'm also a client.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

post more updates

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Senhoa is a small but extremely effective nonprofit organization that serves survivors of human trafficking in Cambodia. They have a robust team, a strong foundation and business plan and their financial transparency make this nonprofit a great one to support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Senhoa offers internships that incorporate a range of educational and developmental activities for college students, recent graduate students, and professionals. We're currently seeking staff in Cambodia to help with English teaching, Khmer language teaching, legal aid services, hygiene/medical and economic programming. Volunteer