Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

As a regular small donor to Self-Sustaining Communities, I have been eager to see that they are able to do those things which, as a senior community member, I am no longer able to do. As a result, I do feel that in my small way I am able to help, and that gives me great satisfaction to know I can still make a difference too. They are always so appreciative of my gift. I enjoy the handwritten notes and I look forward to seeing the press and favorable impact they always have in their community.
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Self-Sustaining Communities has received small grants from The Strong Foundation for Environmental Values. We support the goal of this organization, working to better the lives of Richmond residents through sustainable living and community participation. Under the visionary and collaboratory leadership of Executive Director, Linda Schneider, Self-Sustaining Communities has quickly become an effective community organization that is creative in its responsiveness to community needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

This small group has tremendous community impact. They create urban gardens in low-income, high crime neighborhoods, build rainwater harvesting systems that run on affordable solar panels, hold bee-keeping and chicken-keeping workshops, and distribute 1000s of fruit trees in downtrodden areas. They work with community residents to create a healthy and sustainable way of life. I have never seen a group that can do so much with so little. I can only imagine what they could do if they had more money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 29, 2012

I have known the founder of this nonprofit for several years. In this difficult economy she had a goal of helping the poorest amongst us find a way to produce their own food. She began with distributing free fruit and nut trees and also seeds -- all of which she acquired by soliciting growers for donations. She and volunteers picked up those trees and handled the distributions. Her work has grown with the creation of a small urban farm with chickens, bees, community vegetable gardens and more. She seeks to involve those in the community to work in those gardens, learn how to produce food and make a beautiful environment using recycled materials and with sustainable methods. She arranges classes and demonstrations on her urban farm and is establishing other farm sites in our large city-- all with local volunteers. She also works with local city leaders to create and improve local environmental projects such as bio-swale sites. An important part of her work is that she lives and works in the difficult environment she is trying to transform.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Plant vegetables, fruit trees, clean a chicken coop, harvest honey from a beehive, build Volunteer