Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Self sustaining communities is a real eye opener for me. I knew there were urban gardens around but never actually been inside one or knew how to run one. Linda's gardens are inviting and allows you full access to explore and learn. I have always wanted a garden of my own, so its amazing to see such wonderful examples and the potential the gardens have. By volunteering in these gardens, I not only learn what it takes, but meet new people and witness first hand the positive effect it has on people's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more community/volunteer gatherings such as for planting and maintenance to keep people involved regularly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My interaction with Self Sustaining Communities has been as an active volunteer. Because of my experience with trees and nursery work I always help out with picking up bare root fruit trees and distributing them to Richmond neighborhoods. Sometimes I will hold over the bare root stock until they are needed by the communities. I enjoy doing this because I enjoy working with plants. What has surprised me is the enjoyment I get from working with the people receiving these trees. They are very thankful, but also full of questions, and they show a desire to learn about the 'fruits' of their labor.

Self Sustaining Communities is a wonderful vehicle for getting things done. I especially appreciate the willingness to dive into a project and work their way through it. I see that in the chicken and rabbit farm, the vegetable gardens, the hydroponics and fish project. These are things that they just get done, and then they produce. That is the key to self-sustaining.

I would encourage others to volunteer. Don't let your fear of the unknown prevent you from meeting real good people. It is rewarding for everyone involved. This is a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Privide them with a money tree so they could do even more things to help out these communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

i learned about the work that Self-Sustaining Communities is doing when viewing a brilliant television program. Seeing the light in the eyes of the young people who are so proud of their participation in growing a garden and building something positive in their community moved me to tears. To offer the opportunity to contribute to LIFE through planting gardens as the alternative to the death and destruction of gang membership - is truly awe inspiring and uplifting not only for the participants, but for anyone that is blessed to know about this work. Each and every one of us can make a difference wherever we live. I am so very grateful to know about Self-Sustaining communities. I am inspired and encouraged, and I look forward to a flourishing future for this organization and the beautiful people who take part in their work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Having come from Bulgaria, and first going to South Carolina, settling in California, I was so impressed with what I saw this organization doing that I decided to get involved myself. I moved into Richmond to be a part of this organization because I love to see the results of my work, working outdoors for the environment, with people on urban farms, and in neighborhoods creating green environments. I see children learning this as a way of life and I see hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I found this charity when looking for a home near a community garden or farm. I found Self Sustaining Communities and fell in love right away. I began volunteering in the garden and quickly found a plot of land on the site that had not been planted. We began working on planning and digging in this area and are slowing transforming it to be a permaculture food forest. We'll work w/ the soil over the next couple of seasons and plant in the spring. I was very happy to find a place to volunteer regularly w/ freedom to start my own project and learn as I go.
Now, I help w/ the chickens and other animals too. Daily morning feedings give me an opportunity to connect to the farm in a deeper way. I feel a great sense of purpose while starting my morning at dawn on the farm, surprisingly in Richmond.
The most exciting things about this organization is the people that run it and volunteer here. There is a growing community of volunteers who feel a sense of home on our farm. Seeing regular faces in a neighborhood I wouldn't expect to love has made my move feel like home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd love to see this organization have more access to financial and land resources. Their mission includes creating sustainable, easy to build housing for groups of people to share, set among community farms and shared use or local resources. In order to do this, they need the cost/politics of land ownership/use to flow more freely. There are many volunteers and expanding interest, which is really exciting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I was looking for a volunteer opportunity when I moved to Richmond. Self Sustaining Communities appealed to me on multiple levels; people creating alternative economies and moving toward self-reliance, promoting an awareness of healthy eating and physical activity, moving away from industrial agriculture, building a sense of community, cooperation, and ownership in blighted areas. Self-Sustaining Communites is having a real impact in this community, and provides an opportunity for volunteers who want to feel engaged in a worthwhile project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

-

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I was amazed by what this community is doing. I'm a realtor. I was looking a property earlier this year, and passed by a little farm garden. The garden has vegetable beds and varity of vegetables, chicken house, bee house and fish pond. I was curious who was doing all of those, and that's how I met Linda. I then learned that not only this farm, the organization also created three farms in other areas in Richmond. I was very much impressed. Richmond has the worst reputation in Bay Area in terms of high crime rate and low income level. Self sustainable communities has been done so much to improve the areas, and at so limited resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to be successful

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My husband and I met Linda Schneider earlier this year, 2013.

Linda took us on a tour of the different community gardens that Self Sustaining Communities has started in the Richmond neighborhoods. As we drove into the areas where the gardens are located I noticed that there were very few
grocery stores and the ones that were there seemed to be more quick stop types where I'm sure there were no fresh fruits and vegetables, and if they had them the variety would be limited and definitely not organic. At all of the gardens we saw the tender loving care that the local residents have put into "their" gardens, so much love and pride.

Linda has been able to connect with caring nurseries who have provided thousands of fruit trees that have been planted (by volunteers) as street trees in neighborhoods where the fresh fruit is there for everyone to pick free of charge. These gardens have given people the joy of working with their hands and babying the plants and then eating fresh picked vegetables and fruits, not ones that have been sprayed or picked too early so that they can handle being shipped from afar. These gardens have also helped make neighborhoods more of a community, a way to have social contact with their neighbors and helps people who would normally be isolated become more social. I can't say enough good things about this organization.

I have been around a lot of people who work in nonprofit organizations but Linda is by far the most dedicated one I have ever met. She moved into Richmond and lives at one of her self sustaining gardens properties. Linda is such a hard worker, she gives her all for this organization that she created and continues to nurture.

I am so impressed with the work she had done and all of the exciting news of new projects and how so many new volunteers etc. want to get involved. She's sure has found a need and is filling it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you can give Linda a call and make an appointment to go on a tour of the gardens, it will warm your heart and maybe you'll find time to volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any, maybe more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Great organization and great people. Very inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Linda is such a sweet woman and very compassionate when it comes to helping the community! I highly recommend SELF SUSTAINING COMMUNITIES! God Bless them and their efforts!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Plant vegetables, fruit trees, clean a chicken coop, harvest honey from a beehive, build Volunteer