Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have volunteered as the "volunteer" coordinator for several years now. It has been a rewarding and sometimes challenging position in working with many community members, from all walks of life. What has been most impressive to me is that people are able to create something significant and of interest without salaries and often with just donations of materials. What else has been really unique about observing this program is that so many people are influenced by it. They are influenced in either small or larger ways. Some just want plants to take home. Others want to bring their kids to help too. Occasionally people want to know how they can start similar urban farms in their own communities. We see people come together who normally might not meet. We see people learn to work together on projects that require an increase in skills and learning. I have been fortunate that I am in a position to be able to volunteer my time. I know that other participants have basic survival needs that aren't always able to be met by them, and so providing alternative means to meet those needs through this learning and this program are satisfying and tangibly helpful
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

As a regular small donor to Self-Sustaining Communities, I have been eager to see that they are able to do those things which, as a senior community member, I am no longer able to do. As a result, I do feel that in my small way I am able to help, and that gives me great satisfaction to know I can still make a difference too. They are always so appreciative of my gift. I enjoy the handwritten notes and I look forward to seeing the press and favorable impact they always have in their community.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

I have watched this charitable program in operation as a community member for nearly five years. What has been accomplished in that relatively short period of time has been astonishing. I have benefited as they spearheaded changing an animal ordinance in my town so that more people could provide for their own food when the economy tanked. After that they began to pass out free fruit trees, adding to the ability of residents to become self-reliant. Then their small farms began to spring up, and seeds and vegetable starts also were being donated from them to residents in local cities. They have been a role mode for a lot of people. I also notice that teachers from my daughter's school have gotten fertile chicken eggs for hatching projects too. After they began these efforts, the City of Richmond decided to adopt an urban agricultural program and the impacts have been sweeping. I know that the volunteers work with communities and environments that are often overlooked or considered dangerous by others. Yet, they seem to get really good results and they don't appear to treat anyone differently because of circumstances.
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

When I came to Self-Sustaining Communities' urban farm it was because I had to work off some community service hours. What I didn't know was that I would learn a lot at the same time, and have some fun too. It is a lot of hard work though. I learned more about small farm animals than I ever have in my life, and I also learned how to plant fruit trees. My brother wanted to come with me too, and they let him come to work. He was excited to see the chickens, ducks and rabbits. I think they are nice people.
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I was there at the very beginning of the Richmond Annex farm. I helped build the raised beds, plant them, build the gate and fencing, and I have helped take care of the animals. I had a serious addiction and as time went along I was able to make a commitment to quit. I did. My life has been much better, although I still have more work to do.
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I have had a good time working with self sustaining community and trupp they both have pushed me to do thing I never thought I will do on this earth. They showed me how to be a man and what it take to be a real successful young man .I am very thankful for everything they have done for me I would work with them any time and day its real fun and help me look at the world different.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

working with self sustaining communities and t.r.u.p.p has been a great experience. I've learned a lot of new things and done things I would have thought I would be doing, things such as; building organic gardens, help taking care of the elderly and mentally challenged people around the t.r.u.p.p. transitional houses. while working with these organizations I found myself enrolling for college at contra costa county and doing positive things for the community. Honestly self sustaining communities and the remember us people project have helped me become the kind and giving person I should be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Working with TRUPP has been fun learning how to plant vegetables and fruits, also with Linda Self Sustaining Community's. If it wasn't for The Remember Us People Project and Self Sustaining Community I probably wouldn't be going to school for my G.E.D and Attending Contra Costa College to play Football and Majoring In Administration Of Justice This Fall. In the meantime I also monitor tenants with mental health issues and maintain peoples yards around the neighborhood.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change anything about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

One day I met this lady name Linda. She was on a piece of property that had farm animals and organic vegetable plants growing. I met her through a friend. He explained to me what she was doing and how her non-profit has up lifted the community, by growing and planting your own vegetables. At first I wasn't interested in what was going on until I actual had eaten from the garden in which she provides for. Several weeks later I made contact with her to ask if I may come out to the farm and participate. At that time I began to talk to her about what I was trying to do in the city of Richmond. I explained to her that I had done five (5) years in prison, and while I was incarcerated I wrote a program called The Remember Us People Project (trupp)


This program that I wrote consist of working with individuals that have been formally incarcerated or not, that simply have know where to go upon release from prison or county jail, or just plan homeless. This is what we call transitional living/housing. As time passed, I became more involved with what linda had going. A few of my guys that live in the transition house started getting involved with self sustaining community. By being involved with self sustaining community, we developed a business relationship. Linda and her organization became my fiscal agent.


The growth of both organizations began to get noticed more as we began doing projects around the city together. We started giving out fruit trees to low income households, we began notifying other people how important it is to be self sustainable, and the importance of health eating.


Now, at the transition homes we have organic gardens growing in two (2) of the three (3) backyards. These gardens are built, maintained, and organized by the young men at the transition homes. This also lead to more positive things, such as three (3) of the young men going to Jr. college at the present time. All the positive things that have occurred in this short period of time has spread throughout the communities, from the mayors office to the people. Community support has plumed through the roof.


I would like to thank Linda at self sustaining community for allowing us to be part of a great team. We look forward to continuing or relationship over the next several years or more. Thank you Ms Linda.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing but support it.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 2, 2014

It has been a dream of mine, for many years, to raise my family on a farm so that they could learn through direct experience how to grow their own food, how to take care of animals and how to be a part of a conscious community. There are a handful of reasons why my husband and I are not able to purchase a farm at this time.
So, when I discovered the Self-Sustaining Community garden, right around the corner from where we live, I was really excited. My two daughters, Diana 2 3/4 years old and Athena 15 months old, and I have been volunteering there 4- 5 nights a week for the past three months. Prior to that, it was 1-2 times a week for 3 years. We help Winnie with feeding and watering the ducks, chickens and rabbits. We have also started growing our own vegetables, and so we water them as well. Diana loves to take some of the chicken feed and squat down and feed the ducks and chickens from her hands. It is also very exciting for Diana when she finds eggs that have been laid by the ducks or chickens. Athena, loves to take a small container and dip it in the water bucket and then Mommy gently guides her to water the vegetables in our garden. This is the highlight of our day!
My children are benefiting greatly from their experiences at the Self Sustaining Community garden and I am too. I feel empowered. I am deeply grateful to this not-for profit for their presence in our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help to find funding so that Self-Sustaining Communities could purchase a parcel of land and establish a permanent establishment/ training center so that future families could have empowering experiences similar to mine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Plant vegetables, fruit trees, clean a chicken coop, harvest honey from a beehive, build Volunteer