Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

As a Certrified Missouri Peer Specialist I can attest to the fact that Self Help Center has an incredibly positive impact on many lives. The levels of recovery I have observed at SHC are phenominal!! Members, staff, and volunteers are all dedicated to the idea(l) of client based recovery services. The programing offered is based on the wants and needs of the SHC community and provides opportunities for sharing, learning, and growth. I also hold a Masters in Library Science and Information Technology and have worked in the mental health field (as well as being a consumer) for quite a few years. I have encounter many, many types of recovery - or so called recovery - programs. SHC is by far the best and most dedicated to true consumer lead recovery.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Self Help Center is a truly consumer operated services program and is the oldest in the State of Missouri. The organization hires only individuals with lived recovery experience and encourages participants to do more for the organization, such as participate in town hall meetings and serve on various committees or the Consumer Advisory Board, which helps in improving self esteem and self-worth. The organization provides its services at its surburban facility and at area hospitals in both inpatient and outpatient settings. All staff are Certified by the State of Missouri as Peer Specialists and regularly use their lived experience in helping to move individuals forward. The organization also works in partnership with national agencies such as Abraham Low's Self-Help Systems, Procovery Institute, and the Depression Bi-Polar Support Alliance. Their years of experience, soon to be 25, have saved many lives and gives a glimer of hope to those in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I am a 60 year-old femail with ocd (hoarder) & major depression. This facility has given me so much help without condemnation. It is great island for rest in this world of survival. It provides hope, communication, & sustainance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

SInce attending the center my life has improved. I have a safe place to go, to be around others, not isolating myself and condition. I find the center a welcomming relief to everyday life, being surrounded with people just like me, so i don't have to explain why I am the way I am. We all relate on a common cause, to restore hope to our healing minds. Buck Giovanni

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The self help center has given me a place to voice my concerns and then be supported in my endeavors. I would very enthusiastically recommend the Self Help Center to anyone who shows interest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Self Help Center is a lifesaver. I on a lonely path downward and needed help. I found out about the center and came one day to go to a group. I found it transformative. The people were so kind and supportive, it was a home away from home. I started going daily immediately. I had a relationship shortly after first coming and if it weren't for the center I would have had a difficult time managing. I stuck with it and soon was recovering quite well. I took a certification class to volunteer at the center and passed the test soon after. What joy and support I had gotten through the arduous study period. I have volunteered here for well over one year. This brought a me a whole new life. It increased my self-esteem and self worth. I now am happier than I've ever been with wonderful new friends and collegues. The cener saved my life in more ways than one. It has saved many lives and will continue to do so for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Office work, food pantry, fundraising assistance, event assistance, set up and clean up of monthly client celebration, work on newsletter, sell advertising for newsletter. Volunteer