Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

The Self Help Center is an ideal place for me to use a computer to job hunt.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more computers

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I joined the Self Help Center several years ago and I have never regretted it. I began as a consumer but quickly found myself volunteering as well. The programs and services they offer are second to none.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I could see would be the purchase of a large home to serve as the center, I believe home style atmosphere's are more therapeutic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I have been a member for about 14 years. My recovery has been greatly affectly affected by it. We even go on social outings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

The Self Help Center at 8301 Crest Industrial Dr. in St. Louis, MO 63123 is a wonderful not for profit organization giving support to people with brain disorders through education and group meetings. They also have a food pantry to help supplement the members to stretch their money for living.

The activities of the center are tremendous for the participants, and they help with acceptance of life on life’s terms. I feel the members are empowered in so many ways to improve their lives.

The Self Help Center does soooo much on its limited budget. Any help they could get would be greatly appreciated, and it would enable them to do so much more for members of society that get over looked much of the time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

The Self Help Center has been a wonderful resource for our family. Our adult daughter, who has a brain disorder, has a place to go during the day. She has met new friends there and found acceptance.

The educational programs and training have been extraordinary. Recently, she has taken the
courses and tested to become a Certified Peer Specialist.

The staff at the Center go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. It is a tragedy that budget constraints have limited the available hours of operation each week.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I would definitely recommend the Self Help Center to others who suffer from mental illness. I am someone who has multiple mental problems and, this place is very welcoming it provides a place to come to be social, safe, and to get support no matter what you are going through. There are also a lot of beneficial educational support classes to go to. I learned that I am not alone in this and that there is a road to recovery. The Self Help Center reaches out to staff, family members, members and nurses in the community to make mental illness more aware to the public. If your in the neighborhood stop by and visit us, we would love to meet you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I have been in the field of education for over 30 years. I have dealt with many individuals having signifigant problems in their lives and became a school Counselor to many of them. The Self Help Center offers anyone in need the same assistance. I have seen the impact on several lives and wholly endorse their programs. I often can't believe the services they offer free of charge. If any group would choose to endorse or to fund Self Help Center (SHC) they would be totally in the right!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Self Help Center is a boat that helps us go up and down the journey of life. The atmosphere is warm and loving and caring. It let's people know they are not alone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The Self Help Center is critical to the population of the area for which it serves. Without the services the Center provides, a highly needed commodity would be absent and leave a gaping hole for the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Thanks to the Self-help-Center, I am able to job-hunt 5 times a week. I have gotten many interviews through this job hunting

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do a presentation of a skillset they possess that would benefit others, prepare a social activity, clean the facility, learn about QPR and how you can help to save a life and then spread the word, drop off brochures to local hospitals Volunteer