Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
100 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

Self Enquiry Life Fellowship is an extraordinary example of integrity, transparency, and equality. Having been blessed to be both a volunteer and an employee since 2007, I have seen the effort that is involved in every aspect of this organization in order to maintain these ideals. Every detail from the shortest email to the largest event is treated with mindfulness and the utmost respect. The teachings of His Holiness Swami Vidyadhishananda Giri are profound yet accessible and it is an incredible honor to see his message take hold and inspire.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014

more

January 26, 2014

Self Enquiry Life Fellowship to me means just that, a gathering of sincere souls seeking to add more depth, joy and relevance to there existence thus enriching there lives and in turn helping to bring more richness, humility, peace and understanding into the world. This involvement with such a sacred movement helps me to personally evolve and refine my body, mind and character but also lets me know I'm doing my part in helping to preserve and disseminate the knowledge of our ancient texts. Protection and care for the earth, sustainable and conscious living and preservation of humanitys' soul culture rooted in the holy texts are all hallmarks of the organization. I feel more than blessed to have the opportunity to serve God and Guru in this most auspicious and noble cause. May the Masters of the Lineages the Rishis and Yogis and all Monastics of the Mission bless this pure and humble effort. JAI GURU !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help to change myself

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

Self Enquiry Life Fellowship is an exemplary model for other nonprofit organizations in the way that the organization maintains clarity, mindfulness and transparency in all of its activities. The head monk of the organization, Swami Sri Vidyadhishananda Giri, leads initiates and devotees on the path of righteousness through ancient Vedic teaching, knowledge and wisdom with love and grace.

Self Enquiry Life Fellowship directs its precious resources towards projects which are an investment in the betterment and enlightenment of current as well as future generations. Practical and complete solutions are made available to address modern day life challenges via time tested and ancient wisdom handed down to us from realized masters of Himalayan tradition. One such investment in the pipeline is the publication of the book “Mountain Path by the River of Knowing”. “Mountain Path by the River of Knowing” reveals how Ganga embraces Himalaya and pours melted wisdom, conferring its liberating grace before merging with the seas.

The organization treats every devotee and initiate’s contribution with honor and respect. Every devotees/initiate’s contribution is blessed and offered to the lineage of Gurus and God for their blessing and grace before they are used for various projects and operations. In order to facilitate noble participation by eager seekers, Swamahiman (Sanskrit name for Self Enquiry Life Fellowship), has implemented an annual Holy Giving campaign called Sattwapathin. The Sanskrit name Sattwapathin was chosen to symbolize this participatory model, which translates into English as “charitable paths converging to build the shelter of divine wealth”. Seekers are able to contribute to a very noble cause through regular donation as well as the Swamahiman website.

Over the years I have had the privilege of hearing great teachings by Swami through various discourses across the country. All these discourses have been recorded and preserved exquisitely via CDs and DVDs for all of us to review as needed (available to purchase via the Swamahiman website). We are also blessed to be in the presence of His Holiness via special satsangs or congregations. These congregations are held regularly via live streaming across the country and the world for special teaching by His Holiness. The gatherings are held in a consistent and meticulous manner to create an atmosphere and ambiance that is truly unmatched anywhere in the spiritual world.

I feel fortunate to be associated with Self Enquiry Life Fellowship as Treasurer and member of the Board of Directors. This organization has made a tremendous impact on my life and I am deeply committed to fructifying the mission and vision of Self Enquiry Life Fellowship with participation from sincere seekers around the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

I have been a volunteer for S.E.L.F since 2006. I became a board member and then an advisor. I feel very fortunate and privileged to be part of an organization that is almost 100 % transparent. Swami Vidyadhishananda is a Sanskrit Scholar, and has received -an accolade called, Mahamahopadhyaya. It translates as Great Ordained Teacher. Swami V has a knack of simplifying Sanskrit literature and teaching it in a way that even ordinary human beings can grasp the essence of it. Among all the Swamis that I have listened to( including CDs DVDs etc) Swami V is the most outstanding speaker. His depth and clarity of the scriptures is amazing.
Swami V walks his talks. He lives what he preaches. He believes we should all treat Earth with respect as divine mother. He never uses and does not let any one use any thing that can not be reused, or recycled. As we all know temples in USA use truck loads of styrofoam plates, bowls, cups every week. Styrofoam does not disintegrate. It is very harmful to earth. S.E.L.F uses only biodegradable products.
Swami V has studied Ayurveda, the ancient science of Life and Longevity. The food/prashad cooked at the Swami's residence is cooked on the basis of Ayurveda. It is most delicious. Swami has studied Atharva Veda and knows how to make Many divine elixirs for ailments.
Swami teaches Vedanta. Guru Granth Sahib the holy book of the Sikhs has many verses of Upanishads and the first verse is from Mandukya Upanishad!
Swami teaches Samkhya Philosophy. Buddhism and Jainism are derived from Samkhya philosophy. He initiates sincere seekers into KriyaLaya meditation technique based on Samkhya.
Swami V teaches Yoga Philosophy. He initiates sincere seekers into KriyaYoga meditation technique, which is based on Yoga.
S.E.L.F has unique vision and mission, which will touch every single human being in one way or other. Can we live by bread alone? No. It encourages music which is authentic. A great Vina maestro Jayanthi Kumaresh, under the guidance of Swami V has studied Sama Veda and recorded a CD. It is available on the website www. swamahiman .org
S.E.L.F has organized many authentic dance forms for public to view.
The organization has been collecting rare photographs. Some of these are available for purchase on the website.
Swami V is writing a book, Mountain Path by the River of Knowing. This book has rare photographs of Himalaya and the holy river, Ganga. It will be published soon.
Personally I did KriyaYoga Meditation for a few years. Recently I got initiated in KriyaMantra. It is a very beautiful Sadhana. My life has changed since I first spoke and first met Swami V for the better.
Thank you.
Respectfully,
Geeta Jayaram

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. I would try to cultivate more sincere volunteers and facilitate Swami's service to the world. What Swami is doing is to make beautiful eternal truths from Vedas and other Sanskrit scriptures known to every human being. Vedas are great treasures. The knowledge in them is inexhaustible, and it belongs to every human being. Vedas belong to the world. Every one has a right to this treasure. But it is in old Sanskrit. Swami can translate it into simple and profound English.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

I happened to attend a Fellowship meeting in LA quite by accident in 2013, and have since been deeply affected by the quality and content and the overall tonal purity of the SELF platform from all my subsequent interactions with Swamiji and the SELF organization. In the many years that I have inquired into the ancient spiritual knowledge of India, both while in India and abroad, I had often left feeling that I had not touched the “real” thing. In contrast, my first encounter with Swami Vidyadishananda felt as if I had finally made contact with the actual living spirit of the Rishis and Sages who wrote the Vedas and the Upanishads. Here is an authentic voice who gives any sincere seeker a real understanding and even possibly some insight into the ancient Vedic knowledge with a clarity, lightness and joyfulness that is transformational. The discourses are profound, authentic, insightful, universal and deeply meditative yet amazingly clear and simple as well, and only require some openness and basic sincerity and humility from a listener. It is amazing to behold how such profound and subtle spiritual concepts/teachings can be presented so succinctly and in so universally appealing a manner without compromising their depth and profundity. One can only hope that these remarkable discourses will be preserved carefully so that future generations can also share in these examples of true satsangh.

The SELF organization is also characterized by a transparency that is perhaps rare amongst spiritually oriented organizations of any kind. In a sense, the organization seeks to be a living example of a mindful and principled Vedic institution that is worthy of the sacred Vedic knowledge it seeks to disseminate and preserve for all humanity. The integrity of the core staff is palpable and one hopes that they will continue to build momentum in their efforts to share this authentic Vedic knowledge amidst the noise that also pervades the spiritual information landscape in the 21st century.

At a personal level I have found that my interaction with Swamiji has triggered subtle changes in lifestyle, diet and mindfulness as a social being without any direct admonitions from him. The purity and integrity of his words and actions have a gentle power of their own that can only be witnessed and is hard to describe.

The mission of the SELF organization I think is an important one, for not only preserving the ancient Vedic heritage, but also providing practical guidance to modern man to live mindfully in a sustainable manner for the general benefit of the overall human condition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been part of the organization since 2006. I sincerely support their vision and mission wholeheartedly. The mission inspires individuals to become better souls by studying the knowledge from the ancient Indian texts such as the Vedas. Knowledge of the scriptures along with daily yoga and meditation practices are taught by a highly realized Himalayan monk Swami Vidyadhishananda Giri. His teachings are very authentic and all those who are blessed to come across his path are inpired by his knowledge and wisdom forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Self Enquiry Life Fellowship has been a cornerstone in my life since inception in 2006 and my discipleship with His Holiness Swami Vidyadhishananda Giri has majestically altered the trajectory once set for my young and budding life.

My exposure to the impeccable platform that is this
organization has sharpened my mind, elevated my thoughts, and inspired my actions to be: mindful; efficient; and loving. Through immaculate guidance, SELF provides seekers access to a boundless time-honored tradition which allows us to understand esoteric Sanskrit wisdom and learn to serve the world in a holistic and mindful manner. This organization is the epitome of professionalism and is uniquely but effectively taking on tasks through a vast range of avenues most nonprofit organizations would deem impossible. Never have I witnessed before an organization that so meticulously utilizes resources, facilitates acquisitions of knowledge, and disseminates the highest quality offerings for future generations.

Being an initiate and volunteer I am constantly inspired by the strides taken by Self Enquiry Life Fellowship and consistently in awe of the inspiration in long-standing devotees and especially in the increasing amount of exuberant new-comers. Words in no possible way can describe how fortunate and thankful I am to have grown up in the presence of Swami Vidyadhishananda Giri and to have been given the opportunity to serve Self Enquiry Life Fellowship for as long as I have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 13, 2014

more

January 13, 2014

I have been with the organization since it started,and based on the discipline
of the organization,I see a great star rising on horizon.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with this organization has been life-altering, to the point that every moment of my life now revolves around the teachings of Sri Swami Vidyadhishananda Giri. My partner and I met Him under very unique and interesting circumstances and never expected to become volunteers/initiates within just a few short months. His divine teachings and his knowledge of the Vedas, Sanskrit, history, yoga/meditation, Ayurveda, healthy food/nutrition, classical music/dance and various other things that are so important to our existence in the modern ages, have left me yearning for the ultimate taste of knowledge and Truth. I truly feel honored and blessed to have Swami in my life and for learning how to become a much more active and worthy participant in my own community and with Swamahiman.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 12, 2014

more

January 12, 2014

I am very much impressed with professionalism of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers