Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I am a retired School Psychologist and Licensed Clinical Psychologist who worked in the Portland Public Schools for over 25 years. I first met Tony Hopson when he was a high school counselor and respected the work he did with the students. When he created Self-Enhancement, I was very pleased and excited about the possibilities. I became a donor and a fan of the work. When I was completing my doctoral dissertation on the topic of "Girls in Gangs" I was able to make arrangements to evaluate and interview a number of young women attending the Self-Enhancement summer program. The information I was able to gather made a significant contribution to the field of research about adolescent women. In addition, I was happy to learn that the Self-Enhancement program was working as a great deterrent to future gang involvement and other-at-risk behaviors. I especially value the mentoring and community support that is provided to the young people of Portland by Self-Enhancement. The youth who have benefited from this wonderful resource continue to give back to the community and to the young people following in their footsteps. I believe that Self-Enhancement is a perfect example of what happens when a great idea arises from within a community and is given support and nourishment to become a well-respected institution that meets a huge need. Dr. Sandy Ramirez

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I grew up in SEI, worked at SEI out of college, and even sent my children to SEI. I'm a SEI Lifer! I believe in their mission and believe they have a strong model to serve their community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I've had several opportunities to see the young participants from SEI programs in a number of events and activities. They have never failed to represent the program with distinction. SEI is a real gem in the Portland youth service and leadership development community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

SEI has been a life saver in our building! The coordinators are very responsive to the students and staff needs. They've been a great partner to work with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

I am a retired music professor from Portland Sate University. For the last 10 years before my retirement, ( 1993-2003), I directed a one-week music camp "Let Music Be the Food of Peace" at PSU for 30 children (ages 8-10) from SEi. This was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The people at SEI were wonderful to work with and the staff members were always present for me. They were enthusiastic, helpful, communicative and supportive. And not to mention the best part - the children. Such a joy to be with respectful, creative, and definitely "individual" kids. I learned a great deal from them! The camp alwaysended with a concert performed by the children and their college student mentors showing what they had all learned throughout the week. At the final concert in 2003, there was standing room only! The relationships made during that time continue to live on. For example, the piano scholarship winner from the 2003 camp, who is now a Junior at OSU will be visiting with me next week. Thank you SEI for all that you do for our community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I have had the opportunity to experience the transformative nature of the Self Enhancement, Inc., philosophy over many years from different perspectives. First, as a middle school principal my school was one of the first schools to become involved with SEI in the early years. What was different from the very beginning was an approach that was not about delivering services to "clients," but a clear focus on establishing a personal commitment to individual students coupled with presenting them with a code of beliefs and values that were lived daily by the entire organization. It created a culture of achievement and communicated to students that expectations were high, but personal commitment to their success was steadfast. From the beginning SEI created a unique culture that has continued throughout its organizational life. Later, in my role as a central office administrator, I had the opportunity to witness the role of SEI as community partner and advocate. SEI had established itself as a voice for the needs of the community, especially students, and came from a position of strength by being open about results achieved, sharing services and resources as a community partner and creating a solid, efficient and effective organizational presence that literally changed the neighborhood. In my more recent roles of state level administrator and of university faculty member, I continue to see the role of SEI advocating for change but stepping up to be a part of the solution. In the most recent round of state school reform initiatives, SEI correctly identified the lack of opportunity for communities of color to participate in public input sessions because opportunities for such participation had not been developed by state policy makers. SEI stepped in to, not only, advocate for the opportunity to provide input, but also, to put their facilities and direct support on the line for this opportunity to happen. These efforts provided significant and important changes to new state school governance and accountability measures to require more use of disaggregatred data in school performance measures. SEI has a long, positive record of success with students, serving the community and influencing key policy questions. It is an outstanding organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working as a principal in a school where SEI was active; working with SEI as a district administrator and in working with SEI in policy development activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the number of schools and students receiving services, but only in so far as program integrity can be maintained. I would also want to find ways to share more information on effective strategies developed at SEI.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The SEI philosophy is probably the most unique. There is a code of conduct and a believe system that students demonstrate. As a result of this, SEI students demonstrate poise in conversations with others, demonstrate a positive attitude toward themselves and others, express a sense of optimism about the future, demonstrate superior interpersonal skills and a commitment to excellence. This culture of excellence is one of SEI's most unique features.

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

Self Enhancement, Inc. continues to provide life changing services for youth and their families in the community of Portland Oregon as well as Miami Florida!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support SEI staff with events, after-school programs, coaching support, tutorial and mentoring for students 8-18 years of age. Volunteer