Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.95
| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review
June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

The summer program provides and postive safe place to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

I am a retired music professor from Portland Sate University. For the last 10 years before my retirement, ( 1993-2003), I directed a one-week music camp "Let Music Be the Food of Peace" at PSU for 30 children (ages 8-10) from SEi. This was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The people at SEI were wonderful to work with and the staff members were always present for me. They were enthusiastic, helpful, communicative and supportive. And not to mention the best part - the children. Such a joy to be with respectful, creative, and definitely "individual" kids. I learned a great deal from them! The camp alwaysended with a concert performed by the children and their college student mentors showing what they had all learned throughout the week. At the final concert in 2003, there was standing room only! The relationships made during that time continue to live on. For example, the piano scholarship winner from the 2003 camp, who is now a Junior at OSU will be visiting with me next week. Thank you SEI for all that you do for our community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

This charity is one of three local charities we have made a commitment to. Have been involved for fifteen years as have enjoyed their success story and can visually see the commitment and difference it has made to the community! We give a large amount each year and feel comfortable that the funds are being used properly and the children of the community and the community are directly being served. Wish more non-profits were run this way. Director and staff are local, committed and driven!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I have had the opportunity to experience the transformative nature of the Self Enhancement, Inc., philosophy over many years from different perspectives. First, as a middle school principal my school was one of the first schools to become involved with SEI in the early years. What was different from the very beginning was an approach that was not about delivering services to "clients," but a clear focus on establishing a personal commitment to individual students coupled with presenting them with a code of beliefs and values that were lived daily by the entire organization. It created a culture of achievement and communicated to students that expectations were high, but personal commitment to their success was steadfast. From the beginning SEI created a unique culture that has continued throughout its organizational life. Later, in my role as a central office administrator, I had the opportunity to witness the role of SEI as community partner and advocate. SEI had established itself as a voice for the needs of the community, especially students, and came from a position of strength by being open about results achieved, sharing services and resources as a community partner and creating a solid, efficient and effective organizational presence that literally changed the neighborhood. In my more recent roles of state level administrator and of university faculty member, I continue to see the role of SEI advocating for change but stepping up to be a part of the solution. In the most recent round of state school reform initiatives, SEI correctly identified the lack of opportunity for communities of color to participate in public input sessions because opportunities for such participation had not been developed by state policy makers. SEI stepped in to, not only, advocate for the opportunity to provide input, but also, to put their facilities and direct support on the line for this opportunity to happen. These efforts provided significant and important changes to new state school governance and accountability measures to require more use of disaggregatred data in school performance measures. SEI has a long, positive record of success with students, serving the community and influencing key policy questions. It is an outstanding organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working as a principal in a school where SEI was active; working with SEI as a district administrator and in working with SEI in policy development activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the number of schools and students receiving services, but only in so far as program integrity can be maintained. I would also want to find ways to share more information on effective strategies developed at SEI.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The SEI philosophy is probably the most unique. There is a code of conduct and a believe system that students demonstrate. As a result of this, SEI students demonstrate poise in conversations with others, demonstrate a positive attitude toward themselves and others, express a sense of optimism about the future, demonstrate superior interpersonal skills and a commitment to excellence. This culture of excellence is one of SEI's most unique features.

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I have a child that is in SEI. I had to go into the hospital for emergency surgery and i had only received 60 percen tof my earnings from my job at this time I needed help with my rent SEI stepped in and helped me out. This organization is so amazing, not only do they help the childern in the community but they help their families. I am so blessed to have this organization in my corner, not just for a mentor for my child , but as a liasion to the childern in the community. it takes a village to raise a child and that is what SEI is doing helping the community raise our childern of the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

SEI, Inc makes a real difference in the lives of young Americans. These are children that otherwise may be left behind. The kids learn to be valuable members of society and will pass that on to other children. I am happy that I have learned to about what an impact that they are making and will continue to support the program for years to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

Self Enhancement, Inc. continues to provide life changing services for youth and their families in the community of Portland Oregon as well as Miami Florida!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

Time and time again I have seen how SEI contributes positively to the lives of children and their families by providing support, guidance, enrichment and a place to call home. I particularly like that those who have benefited from SEI return to share their stories and support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

SEI is an invaluable member of our Portland community. They change young people lives in the services and mentors they provide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

We worked with SEI for a service project, bringing out PCC volunteers to serve alongside the SEI Academy students. It was a wonderful experience working with Jackie Meyer and the enthusiastic students to beautify the center grounds. It was clear that the students were well supported by SEI, and it was wonderful for our own students and staff to work alongside them to benefit the neighborhood. SEI is also pivotal in the Middle College program at Jefferson, which has a strong connection to PCC as the students receive college credit for high school courses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support SEI staff with events, after-school programs, coaching support, tutorial and mentoring for students 8-18 years of age. Volunteer