Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Hi ! My family is made up of one Bi-racial daughter & a single white mother family. SEI has been in my family life seence my daughter's 1 grade end, (2002) seen the start of summer progrom. Over the years Millie has got help in their after school program. In the after school program they help kids with their homework & they feed the after noon meal/ snack. They give them mentors & give them wonderful activities after school. In the summer they run summer school/actives. The kids in the summer get to do fun actives, they put kids on teams with tee-shirts, when the kids line up you see a rainbow of kids each color of the rainbow is a team. The kids learn to work as a team member & that kids from different schools can be friends & not rival gang members. The SEI try's to teach the SEI Standards are founded upon the principles of Integrity & Respect of each other & are self.

As a parent I have taken parenting classes & a parent support group. I have taken the domestic violence course & I have been given the opportunity to learn new healthy life skills. I have been able to learn The SEI Preamble & The SEI Standards also. Plus Learn the right way to be a Phenomenal Women & mother, independent women in to day world. By having a positive women role model from the older women (Primcella Smith & Ellon Manly & Mrs Wells & Charlotte Mitchell-Reese) in the SEI programs. SEI is like having a village raising are children.

As a family we have gotten water services and energy assistance to pay are family electric bill. We have been able to get holiday assistance such as food boxes and gifts for the holiday's. My daughter went to SEI Academy for her middle school Grades 6th, 7th, & 8th. Even through family separations SEI has been a rock hard foundation for support for our family.

Even though we have had a few set backs with each other, as a single parent home. We still have had SEI family supporting both our needs as a whole family. Make a safe place for my daughter while she & I to work throw are independent needs. As a family we have had to put are problems a side to help other family's from the SEI families village ( we choose as a family to go to funerals ). As she going throw the teenage years, she has been living in a 3 party home. My hope that she will grow up to be the most Phenomenal Women she deserve to be with help from The SEI Program. Thank You!! All

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Me encanta esta organización. Han hecho mucho para mi familia y le señorita Mendoza siempre hace todo lo possible para ayudar y sacar adelenate a mi familia. Sin la ayuda de SEI mi familia y yo estuviéramos en una situación muy grave. Me han ayudado con la renta, con la dispensa, y con mi bill de la luz. Yo no me olvido de todo lo que han hecho por mi y estoy muy agradecida.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was unemployed and Margot Woods was there for me and my three kids. She was really helpful with resources and fnding for my re nt. She was very encouraging in finding a job and letting me know she was willing to help. I truly felt she cared!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am a single mother who can honestly say SEI has treated me like family. Since joining the PCDS program for my son my parent educator has done everything in her power to help my family make ends meet and improve out overall life. I am forever grateful for all you do Maria. And a huge thank you to SEI, we need more organizations like this one!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was underemployed, working part time, for minimum wage, with no chance for advancement, no raises, no benefits. SEI helped me in many practical ways to help me gain the education I needed to be more marketable in my profession. I was very impressed by the program, and my case worker, Margot Woods, whom I will always think of as a compassionate friend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I was homeless, in between jobs and extremely depressed. I was referred to SEI through a family counselor myself and family were working with. I had an appointment with SEI and felt immediate hope! Over the next few weeks myself and kids were placed into transitional housing through PCRI. SEI agreed to pay my rent for several months. I was able to get back on my feet with a full time job and on my way to regaining my once successful life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

SEI is an amazing organization that I truly loved being apart of as an intern. Volunteering my time with the Community and Family Programs section was an experience I couldn't have gained anywhere else. The staff are very welcoming and are always working hard to get their clients and families the best help possible. They offer multiple services for people all over the community and wish them nothing but the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I came to Margot for help with rental assistance. She was able to help me that month, and really made me feel so grateful. A few weeks later she contacted me with a new program where the agency she worked with would help me with 6 months of partial payment for rental assistance. It made me feel like someone actually cared. I know she had me on her mind, and that when this opportunity came up she offered it to me. I can say with 100% centainty, that if I had not had that asistance, my 16 year old son and I would have been homeless. I was waiting to hear from disability and had $440 of income a month with $860 rent due. Margot was there to encourage me mentally and to let me know there was someone out there who did care about me and my son's well being. I have a growth on my brain that was causing severe headaches and depresion at the time. I can not thank Margot enough for the help her and her agency has given me. Thank you Margot for being a friend that I needed, sometimes a shoulder to cry on, and for reaching out to me and offering me the assistance you did. I will NEVER forget that. God Bless you all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My life. I would've been homeless and sick on the streets with my son if I hadn't recieve the help I did.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them recieve more funding so they could do what they did for me to more people and more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

It was on a list that was given to my by DHS.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Margot encouraged me to not give up and to strive to be a better person and not to be depressed. She was a friend to me and I will never forget how I was treated so well. It literally has changed my life.

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Im extremely grateful for the assistance i recieved today, wonderful staff!! Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

The experience I have here at SEI is over the top. The work they do here for the community is amazing. Thank you SEI for all your help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Support SEI staff with events, after-school programs, coaching support, tutorial and mentoring for students 8-18 years of age. Volunteer