Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Most health sites are for people struggling with a disease, and so much of the information is to eat healthy and exercise. Those are things people need to know about at as early an age as possible--and that's the beauty of Self chec--its focus is on prevention. Of course living the good life isn't enough to ward off every health problem. It also details the screenings that can help find illnesses early, not just MD tests but ones I can do at home. I've shared the site with friends and family. It should be mandatory for everyone who wants to stay healthy and life a long life--before you need sites about illnesses.

I really like the language and the visuals--it takes a lot of the embarrassment out of asking, how do I do this? It's all there
August 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

Self chec is my best "Buddy" system. Timely reminders help me to stay up to date with skin checks for recurrences of suspicious lesions. It's a non-threatening and creative way to remind myself and lo... more

August 18, 2014

As a cancer survivor who required skin checks every few months, but wanted to put the "intruder" out of my mind and pretend everything was normal, the Self chec reminders were life savers. Presented in a non-threatening way, their messages, reminders and vision lent support and motivated me to take better care of myself, not only for me, but for my loved ones. Ellen Ziegler

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them access to more people to help

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2012

Self chec is my best "Buddy" system. Timely reminders help me to stay up to date with skin checks for recurrences of suspicious lesions. It's a non-threatening and creative way to remind myself and loved ones to practice prevention for all forms of cancer. I greatly appreciate the care and expertise that goes into the information provided by the self chec organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

I'm writing this very heartfelt message on behalf of Self chec because my father's death had a lot to do with the creation of this very important non-profit organization. Joan Peckolick, the founder o... more

August 17, 2014

Self chec’s messages about early detection and prevention of chronic diseases is so important in saving lives. Hopefully sooner than later they will have the support they need to get to everyone who has the potential to being diagnosed with a chronic disease and their dream of saving 1 million lives each year will come true.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2012

I'm writing this very heartfelt message on behalf of Self chec because my father's death had a lot to do with the creation of this very important non-profit organization. Joan Peckolick, the founder of Self chec, is my mom. She began the organization 13 years ago having lived through my father's dying of cancer at a very young age. My Father was only 36 when he died and I was only 12. Because he didn't take care of himself, I have had to live with the knowledge that he might still be around if he didn't ignore the initial symptoms and take precaution by seeing a doctor until it was too late. That is what Self chec is all about. Teaching people to take better care of themselves by doing regular self-checks for cancer and other chronic diseases that are often preventable, treatable and possibly curable if caught early enough. Self chec created this wonderful website which can show you how to check, when to check and how often to check, with clear information and illustrations. Self chec also has an online caring card shoppe, which allows people, one-to-one, to send a personal message to friends, relatives and business associates; those they love and care about, to learn what they need to know about staying healthy. My mother has put this all together through volunteer and pro bono efforts of many caring people and I know that in order for her to go forward and save many more lives, she will need the funding that has not been available up until now, for prevention and wellness

Any company or foundation that can help Self chec raise awareness or help with funding for ongoing projects is not only welcomed, but really necessary to keep the message in front of the public. Thank you all for your understanding and, in advance, for your support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Opportunities keep changing. Please contact our director at joan@selfchec.org Volunteer