Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

The organization fills an important role in educating people about how to do self-checks. The people who work for the organization are very nice and willing to allow the volunteers to contribute.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

What sets SELF CHEC apart is the power it gives each of us as individuals to take responsibility for our health and well being.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more buzz because knowledge is power.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

Self Chec is absolutely amazing because of its simplicity. It shows the desire of its founders to make an impact in the world. By providing reminders and helping people prevent cancer, I am sure that they have saved millions of lives. Joan is absolutely wonderful and I am proud to work with her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

This is among the most outstanding non-profit organizations because the focus is on prevention of cancer and other chronic diseases and is saving many lives. Their approach is a personal one to one communication and their website illustrates how to check, when to check and how often to check to stay healthy. Their caring card shoppe is also unique for conveying a prevention message to friends, relatives and others we care about. Don't miss it. Everyone should go to the site www.selfchec.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2012

more

August 25, 2012

Self chec is an extraordinary non-profit organization. Unlike any other. Why? First, because it is focused on prevention and wellness care. Not just treatment of sickness alone. Prevention is the first line of defense for people to stay healthy. While research is important to find cures for certain illnesses, more than one million people continue to die each year from cancer and other chronic diseases, that, if caught early enough through screening and early detection, would save many lives. Right now.

Next, Self chec understands that people often neglect taking better care of themselves because they think they don't have the time or believe it won't happen to them. But it can and it does. Don't we all know someone who died from cancer or heart disease or diabetes that could have been prevented, treated and possibly cured if caught early. The approach that Self chec uses to motivate people is a one-to-one personal communication. A caring card shop on the Website allows people to send a loving message to their friends, relatives and others they care about to tell them to take better care of themselves, because "your life is important to me". An emotional connection that works.

Finally, Self chec's method to help people be more self-empowered is to send them a monthly email reminder that notifies them each month to check their bodies and get a medical check up if they detect something suspicious. Self chec is working with many organizations to create greater awareness of prevention and early detection screenings. And developing new ideas for informing and engaging people of all ages, races and economic groups to act on staying healthy. Please join us. Your life and those you care about depends on it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

Self-Chec was a wonderful guest on our college campus, twice! Joan actively got students interested in Self-Chec's interactive website and e-Health reminders. She also provided our students with a wealth of information and resources regarding preventative health measures, which will hopefully be utilized by them for years to come. Self-Chec is always full of energy and enthusiasm for the cause and a pleasure to work with!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

I'm writing this very heartfelt message on behalf of Self chec because my father's death had a lot to do with the creation of this very important non-profit organization. Joan Peckolick, the founder of Self chec, is my mom. She began the organization 13 years ago having lived through my father's dying of cancer at a very young age. My Father was only 36 when he died and I was only 12. Because he didn't take care of himself, I have had to live with the knowledge that he might still be around if he didn't ignore the initial symptoms and take precaution by seeing a doctor until it was too late. That is what Self chec is all about. Teaching people to take better care of themselves by doing regular self-checks for cancer and other chronic diseases that are often preventable, treatable and possibly curable if caught early enough. Self chec created this wonderful website which can show you how to check, when to check and how often to check, with clear information and illustrations. Self chec also has an online caring card shoppe, which allows people, one-to-one, to send a personal message to friends, relatives and business associates; those they love and care about, to learn what they need to know about staying healthy. My mother has put this all together through volunteer and pro bono efforts of many caring people and I know that in order for her to go forward and save many more lives, she will need the funding that has not been available up until now, for prevention and wellness

Any company or foundation that can help Self chec raise awareness or help with funding for ongoing projects is not only welcomed, but really necessary to keep the message in front of the public. Thank you all for your understanding and, in advance, for your support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2012

more

August 12, 2012

Self Chec does a great job at getting people to understand that early detection of so many illnesses is within one's own grasp. The powerful images support the message that we have to face life-threatening diseases head on, no matter how uncomfortable that is, that we need to look at our own bodies and fight for ourselves. Bravo to Joan Peckolick for creating this non-profit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

You can have the best cause in the world and prevention/early detection of cancer and other chronic diseases certainly ranks among them. It is also evident that a cause without a passionate advocate has no impact. I had the great fortune of meeting Joan Peckolick, Director & Founder of Self chec, some years ago. Joan’s passion, enthusiasm, energy and selflessness inspired me to become involved as an advocate for Self chec. Self chec is truly Universal Health Care at its best and most importantly, it’s FREE.

If you love anyone, including yourself, you owe it to yourself to check out Self chec!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

Self chec provides an invaluable service by "nudging" us to take better care of ourselves and to get preventative health screenings. Given the busyness of our everyday lives, it is very easy to postpone taking care of our health and to become the Self chec logo of the ostrich with our head in the sand. Having lost loved ones to cancer, I know how important it is to be proactive when it comes to health, and Self chec's reminders help me to keep this top of mind. Self chec also prods us to remind our loved ones about the importance of health screenings. Thank you Self chec!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Opportunities keep changing. Please contact our director at joan@selfchec.org Volunteer