Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 12, 2012

Self Chec does a great job at getting people to understand that early detection of so many illnesses is within one's own grasp. The powerful images support the message that we have to face life-threat... more

August 18, 2014

Cancer runs in my husband's family and because of that I want to know everything possible about prevention, for him and our children. My mother developed post menopausal breast cancer that was caught in stage 0 and is not considered inheritable, but I still want to be vigilant. Self Chec reminds me of how important prevention and awareness are--not just about cancer, but also the leading threats to health, diabetes, heart disease and more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep adding to the information about the benefits of a healthy lifestyle for all disease prevention and longevity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2012

Self Chec does a great job at getting people to understand that early detection of so many illnesses is within one's own grasp. The powerful images support the message that we have to face life-threatening diseases head on, no matter how uncomfortable that is, that we need to look at our own bodies and fight for ourselves. Bravo to Joan Peckolick for creating this non-profit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

Self chec is my best "Buddy" system. Timely reminders help me to stay up to date with skin checks for recurrences of suspicious lesions. It's a non-threatening and creative way to remind myself and lo... more

August 18, 2014

As a cancer survivor who required skin checks every few months, but wanted to put the "intruder" out of my mind and pretend everything was normal, the Self chec reminders were life savers. Presented in a non-threatening way, their messages, reminders and vision lent support and motivated me to take better care of myself, not only for me, but for my loved ones. Ellen Ziegler

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them access to more people to help

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2012

Self chec is my best "Buddy" system. Timely reminders help me to stay up to date with skin checks for recurrences of suspicious lesions. It's a non-threatening and creative way to remind myself and loved ones to practice prevention for all forms of cancer. I greatly appreciate the care and expertise that goes into the information provided by the self chec organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

I'm writing this very heartfelt message on behalf of Self chec because my father's death had a lot to do with the creation of this very important non-profit organization. Joan Peckolick, the founder o... more

August 17, 2014

Self chec’s messages about early detection and prevention of chronic diseases is so important in saving lives. Hopefully sooner than later they will have the support they need to get to everyone who has the potential to being diagnosed with a chronic disease and their dream of saving 1 million lives each year will come true.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2012

I'm writing this very heartfelt message on behalf of Self chec because my father's death had a lot to do with the creation of this very important non-profit organization. Joan Peckolick, the founder of Self chec, is my mom. She began the organization 13 years ago having lived through my father's dying of cancer at a very young age. My Father was only 36 when he died and I was only 12. Because he didn't take care of himself, I have had to live with the knowledge that he might still be around if he didn't ignore the initial symptoms and take precaution by seeing a doctor until it was too late. That is what Self chec is all about. Teaching people to take better care of themselves by doing regular self-checks for cancer and other chronic diseases that are often preventable, treatable and possibly curable if caught early enough. Self chec created this wonderful website which can show you how to check, when to check and how often to check, with clear information and illustrations. Self chec also has an online caring card shoppe, which allows people, one-to-one, to send a personal message to friends, relatives and business associates; those they love and care about, to learn what they need to know about staying healthy. My mother has put this all together through volunteer and pro bono efforts of many caring people and I know that in order for her to go forward and save many more lives, she will need the funding that has not been available up until now, for prevention and wellness

Any company or foundation that can help Self chec raise awareness or help with funding for ongoing projects is not only welcomed, but really necessary to keep the message in front of the public. Thank you all for your understanding and, in advance, for your support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

Self Chec is an amazing organization that informs us how to take care of our selves and reminds us when to take care of our selves. This worthy non-profit organization teaches people to take better care of themselves by doing regular self-checks for cancer and other chronic diseases.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Self Chec is amazing company that everyone should know about. It educates people on the prevention cancers and other chronic diseases.

I am really grateful to Joan, working hard everyday to help us be educated and save life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 25, 2012

Self chec is an extraordinary non-profit organization. Unlike any other. Why? First, because it is focused on prevention and wellness care. Not just treatment of sickness alone. Prevention is the firs... more

July 21, 2014

Selfchec is a non-profit who's time has come. It's message about prevention and early detection for chronic diseases is a must for people of all ages. We can all lead better lives if we go to the Selfchec site and also sign up for free monthly reminders. Don't delay. Do it now and save lives. It may be your own. Mike Drexler.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to add more resources to get the message out to corporations, schools and colleges and all segments of the general public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 25, 2012

Self chec is an extraordinary non-profit organization. Unlike any other. Why? First, because it is focused on prevention and wellness care. Not just treatment of sickness alone. Prevention is the first line of defense for people to stay healthy. While research is important to find cures for certain illnesses, more than one million people continue to die each year from cancer and other chronic diseases, that, if caught early enough through screening and early detection, would save many lives. Right now.

Next, Self chec understands that people often neglect taking better care of themselves because they think they don't have the time or believe it won't happen to them. But it can and it does. Don't we all know someone who died from cancer or heart disease or diabetes that could have been prevented, treated and possibly cured if caught early. The approach that Self chec uses to motivate people is a one-to-one personal communication. A caring card shop on the Website allows people to send a loving message to their friends, relatives and others they care about to tell them to take better care of themselves, because "your life is important to me". An emotional connection that works.

Finally, Self chec's method to help people be more self-empowered is to send them a monthly email reminder that notifies them each month to check their bodies and get a medical check up if they detect something suspicious. Self chec is working with many organizations to create greater awareness of prevention and early detection screenings. And developing new ideas for informing and engaging people of all ages, races and economic groups to act on staying healthy. Please join us. Your life and those you care about depends on it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

I open my monthly Self Chec reminder and remember to check my body for any changes that may indicate some early, avoidable health problem. It is a brilliant site, beautifully designed to encourage pe... more

July 21, 2014

I have known Joan Peckolick (the founder of Self Chec) since we were both young teens. She has never wavered in her commitment to help people in her kind and caring way. She should be admired for her perseverance and her creativity used to create this very helpful site. It reminds people to take care of themselves and those that they care about. So many illnesses could be prevented or cured if found and treated early. I have personal experience with this in my family. Being proactive and "Self Chec-ing" has made all the difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2012

I open my monthly Self Chec reminder and remember to check my body for any changes that may indicate some early, avoidable health problem. It is a brilliant site, beautifully designed to encourage people to check themselves and remind those they care about to do the same. I recommend it highly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

Self Chec is an amazing company devoted to making sure people are proactive in checking their bodies for Cancer.

By emailing a simple message, people are reminded to be aware of themselves and to not be afraid or embarrassed to "touch themselves" to save a life!

The founder's
passion and love for this cause is so touching and powerful that it really encourages me to reach out to my loved ones to keep them happy and healthy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2012

At first it was hard to overcome the natural act of avoidance. Thank you Self Chec for making it easy and being a constant reminder of how we can truly live our lives to the fullest, which as we all ... more

July 21, 2014

I didn't realize how "I" could make a difference in my own healthcare. That's the "Self" in Self Chec. Too often we wait for doctors to catch problems, but Self Chec has convinced me that I am an equal partner in my own health future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Joan

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2012

At first it was hard to overcome the natural act of avoidance. Thank you Self Chec for making it easy and being a constant reminder of how we can truly live our lives to the fullest, which as we all know is making it the healthiest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

The organization fills an important role in educating people about how to do self-checks. The people who work for the organization are very nice and willing to allow the volunteers to contribute.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Opportunities keep changing. Please contact our director at joan@selfchec.org Volunteer