Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with TSE for about 10 years as a puppy raiser. I've always been impressed with the entire organization. From executives, to trainers, kennels staff, and puppy coordinators...every one has always been professional and hard working. They could not possibly take better care of the dogs/puppies, and their breeding program is fantastic! The more involved I get, the more amazed I am at how well run it is. I've been involved with other larger non-profits, and money seems to get wasted...not at TSE. They seem to watch every penny to ensure that the money is going where it belongs....back to the students and dogs. Thank you Seeing Eye!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I am happy to see that there are some success stories from The Seeing Eye. With the enormous amount of money they receive in donations and spend on their organization they should be over-the-top fantastic. Unfortunately I cannot say that my experience with them has been positive. They provided a dog to a woman I work with - a woman who has no business having a dog. She has some emotional instability and makes poor and inappropriate decisions. She is abusive and negligent to the poor dog and when I reported this to The Seeing Eye they sent someone to assess the situation. He stated to me that the dog is hers and she can treat him any way that she wants to including whipping, beating and kicking him (I've witnessed all three). He told me that if she says she's giving the dog food and water that is good enough for him after I told him that she lies to me and says she just gave him fresh water when I'm standing there looking at a dry as a bone dirty bowl. They did not do any adequate assessment to even determine her need for a dog as she doesn't go anywhere but work and church and she has private transportation that takes her from door to door , she does not use the dog while she's at work. Since she returned with the new puppy she claims to have all kinds of foot ailments, different ones every week, as excuses to not walk him. But the rep from The Seeing Eye stated that a two year old lab doesn't need any exercise. What, really????!!! In what world does he live in? They have proven to me that they have lots of money, from donations, to spend on breeding programs, training the dogs and covering all the costs for the new owners to travel to the facility and be lavishly cared for during the three week training period. They also proved that they think of these dogs more as inanimate objects rather than living creatures. I want to believe that what I've experienced is an exception, but they've done NOTHING to correct it and do not plan to. I would have to give them negative stars.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at The Seeing Eye since 2007, and it has been a wonderful experience. I have been able to witness first-hand the difference this organization has made in the lives of blind and visually-impaired individuals from around the country. I consider it an honor to be able to work with an organization of this caliber.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My decision to support The Seeing Eye was made after I saw a dog guiding someone through Manhattan. I watched in amazement as they navigated the crowds, avoided obstacles on the sidewalk and crossed the street with ease. The confidence that I saw in both the dog and the person was absolutely incredible! Impressed does not even begin to describe my feelings for this amazing organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 1, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

The Seeing Eye is an incredible organization. They have restored independence for thousands of blind people through their incredible dogs. My problem with the organization? Given that it posts higher expenses than revenues annually, why does their president earn nearly $300k annually + benefits? Doesn't seem reasonable that a relatively small organization president is truly worth 75% of what the President of the United States earns! It makes me wonder if the board is engaged enough to be overseeing such important issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seriously address president and director salaries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers